Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2016
this book helped tremendously in selecting a replacement system.I had gone all in for the M43 system a few years ago but found the quality of the final images not having enough resolution , sharpness I needed and the noise levels were an issue even at base ISO, anyway having realised I needed to go back to either APSC or go for FF to get the clarity and sharpness of images, I researched the various systems/ manufacturers including mirrorless and eventually bought a copy of this book having reviewed some of the Northrups you tube videos.Well, I found the content without bias, generally very informative and reading between the lines ( and reading the text several times)selected my new system ( I also used DXOmark in conjunction with this book) - the guide is well put together, gives comment and advise on all systems in an easy to read and understand form with pros and cons of each system - highlights best lenses ( value and performance)for each system in a non bias way,
All in all this book reaffirmed what I had already known but denied myself, so it certainly helped, thanks, and I would recommend this book -in the end I have now changed to a FF DSLR for portraits/landscapes/general photography with 24-70, 70-200 both f2.8( third party lenses) and an APSC
body for wildlife and sports - for me this is what I really needed, however, for others the requirements will no doubt be different - horses for courses as they say - but this book may well help you decide
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
This book will save you many hours of research (and perhaps a great deal of money!) into the many different types of modern digital photography equipment. It is comprehensive, very well written, informative, and frequently updated with new content by the author. Not only is the book of great value by itself, it also gives one access to a support website with additional material, updates, examples, forums, and interactive advice on a wide range of topics. The author and his associates are extremely helpful and obliging in their support for new and experiences photographers alike.
I recommend this book very, very highly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
A great little read for the price, I also bought his book stunning digital photography and it is excellent very happy with the way they explain everything, and there are loads of videos in the stunning dightal photography book as well, Tony and Chelsea have done a great job, well done from me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
This is a really great book for a beginner like me. I bought both of Tony Northrups book and started with this, then moved onto the next. It really helped me decide as a beginner what type of camera I wanted to buy, what things to consider and what was actually available. The book also includes recommendations in the various chapters based on what type of budget you have.

Its a really good book. I had the Kindle edition and would recommend without reservation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Congratulations to Tony Northrup for producing an excellent buyers guide to choosing the latest camera equipment. Not only do you get the written word but 16 hours of video in which Tony explains in an easy to understand way the benefits of todays sometimes complex camera equipment. Before you consider buying any camera equipment buy this book, it will be invaluable to you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2016
Be aware that if you order the paper book in Europe the inner pages are printed in black and white, not colour. At the beginning, page ii says "Printed and bound in the United States of America" and the last page says "Printed in Poland by Amazon Fulfillment".

Also the print quality is very poor.

I contacted Amazon but they were useless.

There also appear to be many confusing errors in the book, eg page 47 "APS-C (1.6X for most, 1X for Canon)", should that be 1.5X for Canon and 1.6X for most or 1.6X for Canon and 1.5X for most???.

If you really want to buy this book, don't buy it from Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Im very much looking into changing careers to photography,ive looked at so many courses.
This book will provide you with all the knowledge you need,naturally if you feel being in a class with like minded people helps thats great.
But the amount of skills your learn from this book/videos will help you no ends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2016
Excellent book. It's informative, precise, well written and contains detailed explanations about all you need to know before dipping into the wonderful world of amateur photography. I'm about to buy the new Fujifilm X-T2 so it would be nice to see the Fujifilm buying section brought up to date to include this model.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2016
This guide is just perfect for everybody who is into photography - newbies and a bit more advanced users. If you need a quick answer - you'll get it. If you need more details - you will get them too. It is very easy to find there everything you need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
Very useful reference book for pointing you towards the main characteristics you should consider in purchasing photography gear. Also specific recommendations related to budget, I already have his Stunning Digital Photography book which is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse