Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£17.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 8 October 2013
Well it's all here, and then some. They probably won't thank me for tagging them with the "indie" label but they truly went their own way and I don't remember them kowtowing to normal industry demands and it's probably why they never had the success they deserved. Albums, EPs, outtakes, demos, BBC and other live recordings pretty much sum up the Beta band's career. I would suspect, as with all such compilations and box sets, that fans will have access to most of this but it is nice to have it all in one easy to access place, and it is brilliant value. For those new to the band though, expect to find a trippy, melodic, jazzy, folky mix of songs, jams and soundscapes that are at once of their time but still sound good today. I always likened them to a latter day Traffic and I suspect that should they be on a stage at Glastonbury nowadays they'd go down a storm. Truly timeless
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
This is great stuff. Six discs containing just about everything they ever did. If you've never heard of them then try and imagine Beck, The Eels, Gomez getting together with Elliot Smith, Aimee Mann and Portishead and writing some decent tunes with a bit of (British) humour thrown in.
If you are familiar with them then you'll know that the first '3 Eps' set was really strong (Disc one here) followed by a slightly disappointing 'proper' album (Disc two) then 2 more really good albums (Disc three - Hot Shots II [my personal favourite] and Disc four - Heroes to Zeroes) This box set is rounded out by some live stuff and B-sides etc. What more could you want? All for under £16!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Having already bought all the studio albums I was still won over by this excellent package. To have the remaining remixes, live tracks and b-sides missing from my collection and for the very reasonable price of £16-ish it was a no brainer.

If you don't already have all the albums this package will help to complete your collection and emphasise just how great The Beta Band were in their prime.

Now if there could be some sort of reunion album to put the cherry on the cake that would be great.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
How on earth can the entire back catalogue (plus extras) of the Beta band be less than a tenner? Seriously, if you have any doubts about buying this, don't, it is great value and you'll wonder why they ever spilt up. Still, on the plus side, Steve Mason is doing very well as a solo artist and his albums are also well worth seeking out. For those that don't know much about the music, check out a few clips online, it's kind of indie meets electronic meets folk. But they did write some very memorable tunes and were a great live band. Long live the Beta band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
By rights I should be mighty cheesed off by this release. I was one of the faithful who lovingly sought out each new release and built up my collection, only to discover this 6cd set contains everything I knew and more besides. If you are unfamiliar with the band, their sound was similar to Syd Barrett but with all the benefits of modern recording technology, they were known to have their 'rock out' moments live but the recordings tend to veer much more towards the mellow. This release really does have just about everything the band have done and considering the price, massive duplication of the majority of tracks is forgiven, 6 cds of leftfield melodic beauty could never be a problem. It's a joy to have the Beta Band's musical universe in one package and very convenient for those late night drives.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
If you are reading this as an introduction to the Beta Band, read no more. Order it now. £8 for all the Beta Band albums plus live and bonus material. Still reading? Why? Press that order button, you are in for a real treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
None remmeber the Beta Band now like it was 10 years ago. They were kings, a reference, a standout point. This collection speaks for itself, it's glorious, perfectly crafted, and it sound like nothing else.

When you are elder, you will tell your grandchilds about this memorable band. Nor a Beta, nor an Alpha, but the infinite Band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
All the albums plus EPs you probably already have but also an interesting selection of demos, sessions, and live. Just reminded me what a loss it is that they're no longer playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Can't go wrong with the Beta Band.....for Fans only as apart from a few extra songs its all their albums packaged into 6 cds..
A1 service...............
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
superb box set of one of best bands of recent times go get!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here