Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
115
4.8 out of 5 stars
Aventine
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.29


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 September 2015
'Aventine' offers eleven numbers. Agnes Obel has an inimitably haunting voice that is dreamlike and almost pixieish but beautiful. One can't help compare her to Enya, although Agnes has moved this style to the next level. Here we have piano-led compositions, embellished with wise restraint and sparingly used instrumentation, soft percussion and strings that create a soundscape to compliment her vocal performances. The album offers beautifully tempered vocal harmonies that creates a magical experience. It's like listening to music in a woodland setting by moonlight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Excellent sound quality..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
Lovely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
No problem thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Excellent - Very haunting. The music sent shivers down my spine.
The record itself arrived in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
Stunningly beautiful from start to finish, a refreshing smorgasbord of Scandinavian musical landscapes. This album is pure joy and class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 September 2013
I must admit to never having heard of Agnes Obel before until a friend pointed me in her direction at the weekend, warning me to look out for the release of this album. So I downloaded it this morning and have now listened to it 3 times in a row. It is truly a thing of haunting beauty, quite challenging in places but a delightful piece of work. Predominantly all you have is Ms Obel's soulful voice accompanied by Piano and the odd string instrument, the double bass being particularly effective. There are a couple of tracks that are purely solo piano, to my ears in the style of Erik Satie, and this quietly insistent style is also to be found on many of the vocal tracks. I love it, but it may not appeal to all. It IS very understated, there are no uptempo numbers, indeed tracks like "Run Cried The Calling" and "the Curse" are decidedly creepy but on the whole this is a very effective album of mood music and if you "get" it, you will love it as well.
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Much more 'sophisticated' than Philharmonics (in its production) but in my opinion equally compelling. I listen to both albums on a continuous loop in my car - and especially track two of this album is utterly sublime.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
After buy 10" single "The Curse", finally the full album "Aventime" was delivered.
It's a mix of classical and ethereal songs, with very delicate vocals, making the musical experience very special.
The vinyl edition has a very good sound quality, and beautiful insert sleeve with lyrics. Include a CD with full album,
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Agnes always delivers brilliant gentle catchy folk music and this is great stuff to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Familiar
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)