Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 16 October 2016
I first watched this wonderful series as a child and have absolutely loved it ever since. Such an endearing, beautiful story brought to life with outstanding actors, no one has ever played Anne better than Megan Follows.
I have watched this series many times over the years and love it more every time. And now my daughters have watched it and fallen in love with it.
Please don't be put off by Dutch subtitles, they're easily removed with your remote control, in fact nothing came up on the screen when I watched it. The menu at the beginning is in Dutch but it's not a problem. This is excellent for the money and much cheaper than other box sets on here. I would highly recommend this did.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2017
I remember watching this when it was first broadcast, waited years to get a copy on DVD and now am re-watching it for about the fourth time. Absolute sentimental rubbish, a one woman Little Women on steroids and I absolutely love it. No matter how often I watch it there are still scenes that can reduce a grumpy old s*d like me to tears. If had to be one character in the whole story it would have to be Matthew, even if it means being written out at the end of the second episode. I never saw The Continuing Story until we got the DVD set. Although it doesn't sit totally comfortably with the original series, doesn't quite flow the same, I nevertheless enjoy it.

I had some trepidation in ordering the Dutch copy, but was totally relieved to find it had the original soundtrack intact. Only the onscreen menus are in Dutch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2015
I'm so glad I bought this, it's been on my wish list for some time now, I've just been waiting for a box set which is reasonably priced to arrive on the market.

This is a Dutch import, for Region 2 DVD players and as a UK buyer works perfectly well on my DVD/Blue Ray Player. There are 5 discs that make up the set:

Disc 1 - Anne of Green Gables
Disc 2&3 - Anne of Green Gables the Sequel
Disc 4 - The Continuing Story
Disc 5 - Bonus Features

The Bonus Features consist of 3 documentaries on Lucy Maud Montgomery's Island, Kevin Sullivan and Behind The War.

The subtitles can be turned on or off. The discs play in English, although the menu is partly in Dutch and partly in English. The blurb on the back of the DVD box is in Dutch.

The vivid colours of the scenery can still be enjoyed on this digitally remastered version and I must say that I enjoyed The Continuing Story better, having watched it second time around.

This has got to be a must have for any fan of Anne of Green Gables who hasn't already got this Classic Story in their collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2017
We love this DVD set of the Anne of Green Gables story. We feel the characters really portray those in the book well. It is beautifully filmed and captures the story, era really well. It is easy to change to English on the menu. We have bought a second set for my daughter who loved the Anne of Green Gables story when she was young.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2015
I think this wonderful adaptation has been well reviewed already so I'll limit my comments to the DVD packaging. I had managed to miss the fact this was an import and comes with Dutch packaging and scene selection; however, it's no problem to watch in English as the Dutch subtitling isn't automatic, so it launches straight into the original version without the subtitles. I adored this classic as a child so bought the DVDs for myself but have just bought again as a present for my 10-year-old niece. Although it says 'box set', we're not talking several disks in individual cases presented in a cardboard slipcase, but rather all disks overlapping on both internal sides of a regular DVD case, so it won't take up lots of space in the drawer under your TV.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2017
I have bought this as a Christmas gift so haven't viewed these particular DVDs. However it looks identical packaging to a set bought for me a while ago and this is just lovely. 'Anne of Green Gables' and 'The Sequel' have both been viewed and enjoyed many times. .Beautifully filmed and acted. 'The Continuing Story' is poor in comparison. .,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2014
What can I say? Every single mother and daughter should watch this series (if you're into books and want your daughter to be too). This series is utterly magical. It transports you to Prince Edward Island and to a time and place better than this one. The production of this series is other-worldly. The acting is amazing, the costumes to die for, the setting just perfect. You will be taken to a place where you won't want to come back from. Dangerous viewing!
If you love books and all the sweet things in life without the horror treat yourself to this series and just indulge.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2011
I couldn't wait for this to arrive i wish i had ordered it years ago. It arrived on time but i had to wait till the following day to try out the first dvd of the set of three. Anne of Green Gables. I was clapping my hands with excitement waiting for the film to start. The last time i had watched this film i was a teenager i am now 37 years old and it still made me feel just the same as when i watched it all them years ago. I loved it!! I Haven't got around to watching the two other dvds that come in the set as i didn't want to watch them all at once i want to savour the experience. Im sure they will be just as good quality and pleasure to watch. I now myself am the proud mother of a 16 year old beautiful daughter with gorgeous red hair. We watched it together my daughters first viewing and we very much enjoyed it. It was so nice to share the lovely film of Anne of Green Gables with my daughter and was glad that she loved the film as much as me. My daughter having red hair understood some of what Anne went through. My daughter gets some friendly name calling about her hair but there are also some nasty people in this world that say the most awful things and truly mean it about red/ginger haired people. The people that truly mean the hateful thngs they say about red heads are horrible and stupid. Red/ginger hair is beautiful. Anyway i would like to finish off by saying do not hesitate in ordering this dvd set of three Anne of Green Gables films. BRILLIANT love it so much. I so so hope if you do order this that you get as much pleasure out of watching it as i have so far. Still two more films to go, i can't wait :))) Mandy from Hertfordshire England xxxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2016
Colour reproduction etc. as one would expect given its age. Timeless story highly recommended to anyone who doesn't know it. As others have said only the first two worth watching and, even those, deviate somewhat from the book particularly the Avonlea bit which does become annoying. Yes, the writing on the outside is indeed all in Dutch - it comes from Holland as it clearly states. I had no problem with sub-titles, there weren't any but I believe they are an option.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2017
A expected from the seller's description,the dvd's were English soundtrack but the packaging was in Dutch. This is not a problem and should not stop you from buying. These are digitally remastered from the original and are 4:3 ratio. A good buy for any Anne fans like my 37 year-old daughter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)