Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 April 2017
Got the nibs but no pen holder
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
does the job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
3 if the finer nibs unusable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
Used this pen as a student in university. It was the sole pen recognised by all the tutors. By the magic of the internet I was able to track it down despite not knowing the name etc. I'm pleased to report that they are every bit as good now as they were then. I had an illustration project to do and this was the perfect tool for the job. Even though this set comes with a variety of bibs there is every chance you will end up settling on a single favourite as I have (they only bothered to sell one nib in the uni art supply shop) and the nines can be easily replaced for under £1. This is my second pen. My first lasted decades and ended up lost or given away after some serious use. Based on this I do not recognise any of the negative comments which refer to plastic or quality. This is a great pen and although it requires practice to get to grips with, the results are very pleasing. In combination with Indian ink the quality of line is unsurpassed by anything I've ever used (pretty much everything I think) and the variance in line width according to pen pressure with some of the nibs is astonishing; from less than a millimetre (i'd estimate .35 to around 6mm). Even if you're not sure, but you can spare a tenner, just buy one for the fun experience because this is a really great dip pen.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2016
Blimey! Things have changed. This is a really shoddy set from the packaging through to the nibs. Cheap holder, very unvaried range of nibs and a pathetic cardboard box to keep the nibs in. The nib pressings look cheap too. Gillette's used to be a great name for dip pens but it looks like they sold their name to rip off merchants.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This is a cheap plastic nib holder with 8 nibs. 3 of the nibs do not work, and one had it's very delicate point crumpled, so could never draw. It says it comes with a nib holder - this comprises of the flimsy cardboard box that you see in the picture. I considered sending the pen back, but couldn't be bothered with the fuss.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
-my pack contained the 170 twice but was missing the 303
-two of the nibs where poorly produced and therefore unusable
-the pack is good to get an overall experience of ink dip pens but if you want to go further you will need a new pen holder as the plastic one in this pack is horrible
- good range of different nibs for someone who needs to try out which nib does what
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
Disappointed as although this was well packed one of the nibs inside the box was bent obviously wasn't checked before being sent out and would not be cost effective to send back as other nibs looked ok.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
A good range of nibs and a very serviceable and workmanlike nib holder by, in my opinion, the best traditional pen maker in the world. One of the oldest and still going strong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)