Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 30 April 2017
Glad to finally have this album on CD just love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Over recent years music fans have seen their favorite albums repackaged in so many formats that it gets confusing to keep up to date.In many cases these repackaged CDs don't really hit the spot of what the fan is actually wanting especially in most cases they will be bought by the hardcore fan and not the casual listener. The key reason for this is simply that the artist has not got involved and handed over control to the record company- what a mistake and fortunately EBTG did not allow this. This is a band that not only cares about how it's backlist is represented but most importantly the fan. I have been so satisfied with every release- so a huge thank you to Ben & Tracey for simply caring. Your backlist has been in my life for many years and it is a joy for me that these new editions add a new dimension to a really diverse and beautiful list. Lastly all the extras are truly appreciated! So if you are reading this do not hesitate in buying these releases while they are available!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2002
If what counts are the songs this is the best
album E.B.T.G. made so far.Two albums before the
huge success of"missing" and during the acoustic
period of the duo,Tommy LiPuma provided an impre-
ssive line up of musicians and a sophisticated,
but never overproduced, sound that respected and
served the songwriting style of E.B.T.G.
Ben Watt and Tracey Thorn provided a collection
of songs that makes it almost impossible to find
a weak moment.
I've enjoyed all their albums.This one is at
the top of the list!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2003
Tracey Thorn and Ben Watt have been together as a duo fo a long time and are so good they refuse to be put into a category. The music world knows how good they are though and you will to once you listen to Tracey Thorn's lovely and silky vocals on the Ben Watt songs. Diana Krall's long time producer Tommy Lipuma gives this CD exactly the right feel.
Thorn and Watt took a vacation from England to sunny California and this CD has a light and sunny feel all the way through. Even the more serious "Meet Me in the Morning" and "The Language of Life", about a man without the words to communicate with his wife and children are given such a classy pop production it doesn't bog things down. This effort from Everything But the Girl is like a cool wet mist in your face on a hot drive along the coast with the top town.
This is pop music the way it is suppose to sound and one listen of this CD and you'll be looking on Amazon for more.Tracey Thorn has one of the most beautiful voices in the business and Watt writes some incredible songs with equally great arrangements. If your tired of the mundane and long for something in the light jazz and pop area then start with this CD. Good music is still being made and here is absolute proof!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
I'm a massive fan of EBTG and this has always been one of my least favourite CD's. However, these amazing Deluxe editions have been a great buy. The care with which they have been produced has been worth the purchase. I particularly like hearing the difference in the demo's on songs such as Driving and also the live material.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Is the deluxe edition worth splashing out the extra cash for? Is it worth replacing your original edition for? Yes, certainly. Most of the additional tracks, the live versions, home demos and variation mixes are a pleasant luxury. However, the song 'Will the Roof Fall in?' is an essential for all fans. What a beautiful song! How was it excluded from the original 10 tracks? Who knows. But it is never too late to correct a wrong. 'Baby. Would you cry if I told you everything I feel?'
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
Another great album from Ms Thorn and Mr Watts - more great tunes (though I had become used to the club version of "Drivin") and Tracey uses her voice to lift them into another league. Many would be happy if this were their greatest album ever - for EBTG it's just another day at the office..highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Some people 'complain' it's over-produced; I like to think of it being superbly engineered and well-produced, delivering their songs and sound without no irritating 'it could've sounded so much better' moments.
Perfect, laid-back, Sunday morning neo-jazz ... sounding as good now as it did decades ago!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
This is an excellent album. Some of the production is a little dated. A few sax and guitar solos will make you cringe. But the songs are very well written and both Tracey and Ben really pushed themselves in terms of their vocals. The bonus disc contains an unreleased track, some interesting demos and remixes, and a few essential live performances. This is a unique album in the EBTG discography.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
The had a little change in this album....they collaborated with some of the best talent people from the jazz music scene. Love this album so much especially Driving, Imagining America & The Road. I have the original release but i decided to get this 2 CD expanded edition to hear more.... Those bonus tracks sound so fresh to me, i feel good & satisfied :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Temperamental
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)