Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I bought all four books in this series. Quite good to start with. Soldiers from the future, zapped back to Rome in the era of Caligula. Modern weaponry, equipment and tactics vs the Roman military. An in probable tale of bloodlines using equipment made by amongst others, Merlin. The tale quickly gets very repetitive. Some good and interesting characters but I think the story could have been done in three as opposed to four books and lost nothing. Good for a cheap read but not something to inspire me to look for other books related to the same storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Finished the book but it was a struggle the almost demonic descent into madness and it's effects on Jacob were annoying and distracting.The Merlin concept is hard enough to accept and semi understand without the downward spiral of auto distruct that the Orb seems to engender.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
a brilliant story well told, as good and exciting as the previous books in the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
these books grip you from the first chapter, you will not be able to put them down, brilliant story line and characters,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Different to the first 2, this book takes a different angle (though logical progression) - but it works. It keeps everything you'd expect and adds even more. Just read the Heiku 'written' by Santino at the preface of the book and you will already know this is the best of the series so far.

The editing is still slightly lacking in terms of spell checker - but it's nice to see how enthusiastic the author is, as the 'worst' moments are the most exciting and edge-of-the-seat as if the author couldn't contain the writing inside.

Well worth a read, but unlike 1 and 2, this is a tough one to read without a background in the rest of the series and is not stand alone - get the others bought and read, then dig in!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
The concept is good, but I've become a bit tired of the main protagonists procrastination and naval delving self examination... also the download is littered with grammar and spelling errors that become distraction...didn't finish it.
Hope this helps
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
I found myself growing impatient with this book as the main characters wandered around looking for each other.
Hunter's descent into madness was mostly bleak, but occasionally funny but the random introduction of British historical and mythological characters seemed a bit contrived.
There's an "alternative explanation" for the demise of the Druids on Ynys Mon but I don't believe that page consuming episode contributed anything to the plot.
Equally, the "Diner" was straight out of Quantum Leap and/or Stargate SG-1 and was far too long.
IMHO, books 3 and 4 should have been ruthlessly edited and condensed into a single book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
I have enjoyed the stories so far but this one did not live up to the previous 2 in the series. Having said that, it still left me wondering how Edward is going to wrap it up. Hero's descent into madness is a bit laboured, as is the 'timey-wimey' stuff. Helena's sub-plot is perhaps a bit indulgent and not relevant. Will get the final instalment if available for an appropriate number of sesterces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Been a fan of the series since reading book one. Although This book has quite a few unexpected twists and turns and a few scenes and actions that I didn't particularly enjoy and were quite dark, I can see it was necessary to set up the finale. The rating I supplied of 4 is more for the series as a whole and not this book in particular and if I had to rate it I'd give it a 3.5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse