Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
56
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2013
For bands that are really important to me, bands that I have supported for a lifetime, any new album release is a big deal, something to look forward to. To be honest when I first heard the album samples I was not that impressed. However with so many positive reviews I decided to take the plunge. Boy, am I glad I did.

After enduring a torrid time since they last released a studio album, with tragedy, fire, and theft plaguing them it's good to see them picking up the pieces, delivering what could be considered a High point in their carrier. The polemic anger and politically overt undertones are still there but instead of being delivered with angst and trigger happy young men ready to be martyred for their cause, it's delivered with the wisdom of the elders from the tribe. In all NMA music there exists an underlying sense of uneasiness, a sense that it could all kick off at any moment, this offering is no different. It's full of tension live a rubber band that's about to snap.

There's a powerful weaving of tribal drum beats, and the mixing and matching of mythic imagery that seems to regenerate old pagan beliefs letting them slowly permeate into the consciences of the modern world. Not unlike the Cult Dreamtime or early Spear of Destiny. The holistic sound is infused with a joined-up panorama of the elements, of decay and renewal, and of a sense of continuity in change. It like a return to the old ways, it's as if the serpent has awoken from slumber with a powerful resonance. The atmosphere of the music draws the listener in and congers up images of the dead strewn over the battlefield. It may have benefitted from a slightly more powerful and, gritty production which might have ensured that the strength of the music would have broken the surface to get deeper under your skin, never the less do not be distracted the experience takes you on a journey into some dark places and lesser walked paths. The band sounds rejuvenated and purposeful, The sound is vast and empty, as if the whole band were recorded in a vacuum. Even at its most visceral, it manages to lift the listener out of the studio and into the heart of nowhere ...

Propelled by Justin Sullivan's terse vocals and evocative lyrics, New Model Army are still able to wave the banner for the disenfranchised, perhaps this explains why they have outlived their contemporaries, and, through their continued relevance, and remain to have such an impact on our unstable society. The search for truth and contradiction is prevalent throughout. In absence of any real or singular "anthem", this album is unlikely to win new fans, but to the discerning listener, this is arguably one of the finest, creative collections New Model Army has assembled in years.

If you are a fan or just curious just buy it you will not be disappointed.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
If you don't like NMA you have no reason to be here, if you can't appreciate the poetry of this album you have no soul.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Brilliant should have bought it ages ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
I have been following the Army since i was 16, and i'm 38 now....and without doubt, this is their best ever album, in my opinion!!! Beautiful, romantic, tribal, passionate and intelligent. This album sounds more like New Model Army than New Model Army...does that make any sense?!!! It's how i would dream that they would sound. Their last few albums; High, Carnival, Today is a Good Day etc. were great...but parts left me a bit cold. When the Army are angry and loud, it's great always, but this new album holds a more relaxed and a more powerful magic. It is slower and less abrasive, drawing you into a dream like state with the multi-layered drums and Justin Sullivan's rugged but sublime voice. I remember years ago Justin saying that he always wanted songs he wrote to make the hairs on your arm to stand up when you heard them. Every song on this album does just that. Apart from one...I need more time, which i just really don't like. But the rest of the album is PERFECT!!!! Top four albums of NMA:
1. Between Dog and Wolf
2. Thunder and Consolation
3. B sides and Abandoned Tracks
4. Lost Songs
Buy it now, you will love it :-)
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 April 2016
'Between Dog and Wolf' heralded a brand new direction for NMA.

This band, which refuses to be defined by any genre, has shown that it still has something immensely special to offer us - tribal drums, primitive sounds, great lyrics and Justin's passionate vocals combine to make for a staggeringly good album.

'Between Dog and Wolf' is a renaissance; a rebirth for NMA and a shot in the arm for their fans - very clever, very special and above all, extremely enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 April 2016
'Between Dog and Wolf' heralded a brand new direction for NMA.

This band, which refuses to be defined by any genre, has shown that it still has something immensely special to offer us - tribal drums, primitive sounds, great lyrics and Justin's passionate vocals combine to make for a staggeringly good album.

'Between Dog and Wolf' is a renaissance; a rebirth for NMA and a shot in the arm for their fans - very clever, very special and above all, extremely enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 April 2016
'Between Dog and Wolf' heralded a brand new direction for NMA.

This band, which refuses to be defined by any genre, has shown that it still has something immensely special to offer us - tribal drums, primitive sounds, great lyrics and Justin's passionate vocals combine to make for a staggeringly good album.

'Between Dog and Wolf' is a renaissance; a rebirth for NMA and a shot in the arm for their fans - very clever, very special and above all, extremely enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 April 2016
'Between Dog and Wolf' heralded a brand new direction for NMA.

This band, which refuses to be defined by any genre, has shown that it still has something immensely special to offer us - tribal drums, primitive sounds, great lyrics and Justin's passionate vocals combine to make for a staggeringly good album.

'Between Dog and Wolf' is a renaissance; a rebirth for NMA and a shot in the arm for their fans - very clever, very special and above all, extremely enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 April 2016
'Between Dog and Wolf' heralded a brand new direction for NMA.

This band, which refuses to be defined by any genre, has shown that it still has something immensely special to offer us - tribal drums, primitive sounds, great lyrics and Justin's passionate vocals combine to make for a staggeringly good album.

'Between Dog and Wolf' is a renaissance; a rebirth for NMA and a shot in the arm for their fans - very clever, very special and above all, extremely enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I gave this 4 stars, more fool me because if you listen to it a few times it really is a brilliantly accomplished piece of work, the multi layer of sounds (I love the chimes on the title track) and the lyrical content (Justin hasn't lost his bite and vision). This has possibly 2 of the best NMA tracks I've heard in 'March In September" and 'Kinevel' (I get chills just listening to this one), whilst the title track and 'Stormclouds' must rank as high as some of their 'acclaimed' work as well. In fact the whole album just oozes class and is possibly the greatest 'new' album from an old band that I've heard since Killing Jokes 'Absolute Dissent'.

This in the real world would be the best album of the but then we live in an 'X factor' box these days so it will go un noticed by all but the fans and a few that are lucky enough to stumble upon it by word of mouth.

Lets hope the band continue in this vein its great to see them moving forward like this.

And if you get to see them 'live' then do because these songs as well as their back catalogue really will astound you.

5 stars now i've given it more time
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)