Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
124
4.7 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:£12.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2016
For a long time, I never played any kind of Sonic racing game. Mario Kart was enough for me, and I'm not really into car racing games much anyway.

But when I got around to trying this game out, it was sort of mind blowing. If you though Mario Kart was fun, as I did, this game hit you in the face with way more interesting features, modes and fun.

Most tracks will have you first racing in a car, which can be upgraded with certain settings, and then switching to a boat mid-race, and possibly even aircraft.

For me, that this makes it far more interesting than does Mario Kart. Usually, it doesnt take long to get to first place in Mario Kart and when you do, the fun sort of stops. All you pick up are bananas and the odd green shell maybe. I cannot comment on the WiiU game, but from my experiences with Mario Kart Wii, and Double Dash on the GameCube, they both follow that pattern.

I find that in this game, getting into first place is the first challenge. The next one is staying in it. Any kind of screw-up, and you will likely be knocked back a few places. The weapons that come after you are also somewhat irritating, but nothing quite on the scale of Mario Karts Blue Shell. The most annoying one I came across was actually in the Sonic All Stars racing game before this one, which flipped both the screen and the controls upsidedown.

This game is wonderful and fun, and brings the experiece of Mario Kart to other platforms but with significant improvments.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Great game, delivery was very quick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Go one very happy grandson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
arrived damaged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 March 2016
I ordered this because I wanted a game that was similar to Mario karts, but was on xbox 360.

The game is actually very good. It's a standard racing game, with lots of,maps and characters, and weapons to use. The All-star weapon is particularly clever, allowing you to power up each racer with their own individual style of weapon for short time. The other weapons are pretty much standard - rockets, freeze, boost, homing weapon, etc.

It has a steep learning curve - that is the due to the map really, rather than the game play itself. Its quite easy to race around, but even the first map is quite complex. If you compare it to forza or Mario karts, the first maps are basically a slightly interesting oval shape. But the first map in this has alot of stuff going on still, with plenty of secret paths to discover and use. Which is great once you get into it, but it might put you off initially.

Also the multilayer has some minor annoyances. Firstly there is no race map in multilayer. In single mode you get a map of the track and positions of rivals. But in multilayer, there's nothing. So there's no way to tell how far in the lead you are, or how far ahead people are. Which is a bit annoying.

Overall, though, it's a really good game, but just takes time to get more into.

However, the lack of map and information action on multilayer loses it a star, especially since for many people, multilayer is where these types of games need to shine, to ensure longevity.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
I bought this so my daughter (she's 9) and I would have a split screen 360 game we could play together (besides Mario Kart/Bros and Donkey Kong et al on the Wii) and we absolutely love it!!

Fast and fluid (it does suffer from a little from draw distance issues and glitching at times but it doesn't spoil the gameplay), instantly rewarding and very easy to just pick up a controller and have a blast

I personally think this is better than Mario Kart as the 'transformed' element adds extra depth and challenge to the tracks - you get to race on land, water and in the air with vehicles transforming to suit the challenge - on some tracks you drive, water race and fly over the course of the race - it's simple yet inspired

The graphics are crisp and fast (apart from the odd draw distance issue and bit of glitching that is) but hey the 360 is getting on a bit now and the small issues don't detract from the fun

If you're looking for a fun fast split screen racer you'd be hard pushed to find one better - get it, love it, you wont regret it
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
This is a really fun game, good to have a good time with friends and even your girlfriend, i would recomend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Very fun game. I'm awful at killing/shooting games so this was a great alternative to play against my boyfriend. I've even won a few times - and he didn't let me win - he's far too competitive!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
As with the previous game in this series, this is a solid release that keeps you playing and has plenty of variety In the tracks, characters and weapons. Only issue I have, which is down to my skill level, is controlling in flying mode on the harder courses.
As with the previous game there are lots of characters available and these can be opened up by passing the stages.
My advice is dont waste credits on the slot machine function as you dont win all of the time and the prizes ain't that great.
Music and graphics are pretty much as good as you would expect from this studio.
A good game which will get you coming back for more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
Kids absoloutely love it. We can't stop playing it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here