Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
105
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£13.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2016
For a long time, I never played any kind of Sonic racing game. Mario Kart was enough for me, and I'm not really into car racing games much anyway.

But when I got around to trying this game out, it was sort of mind blowing. If you though Mario Kart was fun, as I did, this game hit you in the face with way more interesting features, modes and fun.

Most tracks will have you first racing in a car, which can be upgraded with certain settings, and then switching to a boat mid-race, and possibly even aircraft.

For me, that this makes it far more interesting than does Mario Kart. Usually, it doesnt take long to get to first place in Mario Kart and when you do, the fun sort of stops. All you pick up are bananas and the odd green shell maybe. I cannot comment on the WiiU game, but from my experiences with Mario Kart Wii, and Double Dash on the GameCube, they both follow that pattern.

I find that in this game, getting into first place is the first challenge. The next one is staying in it. Any kind of screw-up, and you will likely be knocked back a few places. The weapons that come after you are also somewhat irritating, but nothing quite on the scale of Mario Karts Blue Shell. The most annoying one I came across was actually in the Sonic All Stars racing game before this one, which flipped both the screen and the controls upsidedown.

This game is wonderful and fun, and brings the experiece of Mario Kart to other platforms but with significant improvments.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 March 2016
I ordered this because I wanted a game that was similar to Mario karts, but was on xbox 360.

The game is actually very good. It's a standard racing game, with lots of,maps and characters, and weapons to use. The All-star weapon is particularly clever, allowing you to power up each racer with their own individual style of weapon for short time. The other weapons are pretty much standard - rockets, freeze, boost, homing weapon, etc.

It has a steep learning curve - that is the due to the map really, rather than the game play itself. Its quite easy to race around, but even the first map is quite complex. If you compare it to forza or Mario karts, the first maps are basically a slightly interesting oval shape. But the first map in this has alot of stuff going on still, with plenty of secret paths to discover and use. Which is great once you get into it, but it might put you off initially.

Also the multilayer has some minor annoyances. Firstly there is no race map in multilayer. In single mode you get a map of the track and positions of rivals. But in multilayer, there's nothing. So there's no way to tell how far in the lead you are, or how far ahead people are. Which is a bit annoying.

Overall, though, it's a really good game, but just takes time to get more into.

However, the lack of map and information action on multilayer loses it a star, especially since for many people, multilayer is where these types of games need to shine, to ensure longevity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
As with the previous game in this series, this is a solid release that keeps you playing and has plenty of variety In the tracks, characters and weapons. Only issue I have, which is down to my skill level, is controlling in flying mode on the harder courses.
As with the previous game there are lots of characters available and these can be opened up by passing the stages.
My advice is dont waste credits on the slot machine function as you dont win all of the time and the prizes ain't that great.
Music and graphics are pretty much as good as you would expect from this studio.
A good game which will get you coming back for more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
I bought this so my daughter (she's 9) and I would have a split screen 360 game we could play together (besides Mario Kart/Bros and Donkey Kong et al on the Wii) and we absolutely love it!!

Fast and fluid (it does suffer from a little from draw distance issues and glitching at times but it doesn't spoil the gameplay), instantly rewarding and very easy to just pick up a controller and have a blast

I personally think this is better than Mario Kart as the 'transformed' element adds extra depth and challenge to the tracks - you get to race on land, water and in the air with vehicles transforming to suit the challenge - on some tracks you drive, water race and fly over the course of the race - it's simple yet inspired

The graphics are crisp and fast (apart from the odd draw distance issue and bit of glitching that is) but hey the 360 is getting on a bit now and the small issues don't detract from the fun

If you're looking for a fun fast split screen racer you'd be hard pushed to find one better - get it, love it, you wont regret it
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Fantastic value for money and arrived fast. Brilliant present for people who remember sonic the first time round and sat playing night after night in our teens. Great stocking filler and my ex husband loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Now available under the classics label - if you missed it the first time get it now!

This is defiantly a hidden gem in the Xbox library. Sega have put together a great racer accessible for all ages and great for party play.

Awesome multiplayer action.
Local play - upto 4 way split screen.
Add more players to the mix with online play.
Level dynamics change as you play forcing your vehicle to adapt to land/sea/air to ensure there's never a dull moment, lots to unlock, various play modes.

Addictive and entertaining, and dare I say it - a Mario kart beater?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
This is a really fun game, good to have a good time with friends and even your girlfriend, i would recomend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Kids were desperate for karting game, not having Nintendo we opted for this one. I played mario kart for years and truly believe they have near matched it with this smooth piece of software.

It's fun, imaginative and very addictive.

Don't hesitate......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Sonic and All Stars Racing Transformed really caught me by surprise, the previous game in the serious was a solid kart racer but nothing too spectacular, so I wasn't expecting the sequel to be as fun a game as it was. The awful title aside, Transformed is a brilliant and challenging racing game, don't let the colourful visuals fool you, this game is tough as nails even on the lower difficulty settings. The gameplay is very well-constructed and it rarely feels like losing a race is due to anything other than error on the part of the player, couple this with some well-designed tracks and some cool kart designs and you get what is possibly the best kart racer that's been released in recent times.

Transformed is a real breath of fresh air because of the challenge it provides, I had a lot of fun pushing myself to beat every challenge on the highest difficulty setting and found that beating a particularly tough challenge was immensely satisfying. The difficulty level might make the game hard to access for the first few hours, but there's reward to be found in committing to the game and learning how it works.

It should however be noted that the PC version of the game has much better DLC support and a more active multiplayer community, but Sonic and All Stars Racing Transformed is a gem that deserves to be played on any platform that it can be played on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
Good game for single player. Though if you are playing split screen there is too much going on to keep up and also the second player cannot gain achievements, unlike the predecessor.

If you are looking for a good split screen I would instead go for the original Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing (also available via Amazon on Xbox 360).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)