Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 3 October 2017
Stupendous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2013
Received this via Amazon from Big Big Train headquarters and it arrived within 48 hours. It was a big package and it bounced off the 'Welcome' mat with a low thud. Most Cds I receive, I skim the contents within a few minutes, but 'Full Power' is a labour of love and they really have gone to town. There are notes in here about everybody and everything. The producer has 2 pages. Each song merits at least 2 pages with explanations and photographs. I sat in my little room for most of the morning listening to each tune and digesting the inspiration, it reminded me very much of a long soak in the bath.

Each song is understood and becomes an experience. There is a common linked piece of piano music that gives the 2 hours a kind of flow. 'They are trying to sound like early Genesis,' I mentioned to several friends but none of us could actually pinpoint an actual steal. I can definitely hear the end theme from 'Stagnation' at one point in CD1 but it's the arrangements that points towards the early 1970s.

If you love 'Selling England' or 'The lamb...' then this is that idea transformed into the year 2013. I can't stop playing the CDs. Must have listened to them five times now. The last song, 'Curator of Butterflies' is the most moving experience of my 2013 life.

Favourite songs are 'A boy in darkness', 'Worked Out' and 'East Coast Racer' but 'Curator of Butterflies' is as elegant as a swan.

I may have to get the train down to Winchester and hang around the High Street for a few days. There definitely is no inspiration where I am at the moment in Grimsby!
22 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2017
perfekt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2014
Forget comparisons with the prog of old. These are usually not helpful anyway. This is not a copy of anyone, but using the ground that the prog giants of old have broken, BBT bring a fresh and original sound that is inventive, beautiful, complex and life affirming. The story telling is amazing and the use brass, vocal harmonies and strings fused with sublime electric guitar satisfyingly progressive keys is an experience that needs to be heard. This is an album to sit down and listen to, in its entirety if time allows. The bright "Make some noise" is a fun start to the album but "The First Rebreather" better sets the mood for 2 CDs of passion, power and reflection. When BBT start playing live again they will go down in history as a band that upped the bar for all other progressive rock bands, and I will be there cheering in the front row!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2017
This is a superb amalgamation of the 2 English Electric albums but don't be silly enough to buy it here for the crazy money being quoted. Purchase the 2 CDs & 96 page booklet brand new & direct from the band's website for £20!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 June 2014
I already owned (and reviewed) the 2 single albums and so felt a bit miffed when this "compilation" was released with a few bouns tracks which smacked a bit of exploitation. Moreover they changed the order and mixed up tracks from 1 and 2 and interspersed the bonus material. Then chose to kick off the new album with the weakest, though catchy, song Make Some Noise.
Nevertheless what you have here is nothing short of a masterpiece of composition (musical and lyrical), performance and production. Yes you hear the odd Prog influences, notably Genesis, but BBT surpass even the Gabriel line-up in all but humour. In some ways i find the English Electric music to be more conventional in format than the somewhat proggier (and brilliant) Underfall Yard but it is accessible, melodic and multi-layered and features some pieces touched by genius like Judas Unrepentant and Keeper of Abbeys, First Rebreather, Leopards, The Permanent Way. I'm surprised to hear some criticisms of the vocals which i find to be absolutely superb throughout, although admittedly they don't hit they same histrionic levels of Spock's Beard, i don't think that is necessarily a weakness. Perhaps an English reserve but plenty of electric power. Buy the album - fantastic value, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2014
Some nice in depth reviews here so I'll keep mine brief. Excellent music that reminds me a touch of Genesis around A Trick Of the Tail period - yep it's that good. Already had the 2 English Electric albums but had to have this - beautifully packaged. A few highlights:

1) The new track - Make some noise - great vibrant way to start the album
2) The epic - The first rebreather
3) Hedgerow - which, halfway through, suddenly plays one of the greatest bits of string music I've ever heard - if anyone knows of something similar do tell
4) Judas Unrepentant - such a catchy tune - reminds the most of Genesis but done in their unique style.
5) Keeper of abbeys - can't get that tune out of my head!
6) The permanent way - lovely yet somber.

I'm in danger of listing the whole album. Suffice to say it is a magnificent effort from one of today's leading bands.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 September 2013
I gave the two volumes of English Electric issued in 2012 and 2013 five stars, so it will hardly surprise anyone that I give the "complete" English Electric five stars as well. For new listeners trying to sort out what is what, though, Full Power has everything from the first two volumes plus an additional four songs. The running order has been rearranged to take advantage of the new material and, so the band hopes, give a more coherent listening experience.

Coming to the new material first, "Make Some Noise" (now the curtain-raiser for the entire double album) is a boisterous, energetic track unlike anything else on the album. "Seen Better Days" is very much more in line with the characteristic BBT style and segues via a short piano instrumental ("Edgelands") into the previously-issued track "Summoned By Bells". Overall, that three-track sequence works well and provides an effective centrepiece to the first disc. The final new track, "The Lovers", begins as a ballad but abruptly changes up into an upbeat instrumental section with a distinctly "East Coast Racer" vibe. If all you are interested in is the new tracks, they are all included on the separate Make Some Noise e.p.

The packaging for Full Power is a notable step up from the very satisfactory packaging that was issued with volumes 1 & 2. It's now a sturdy digibook (similar to the packaging used for the Porcupine Tree reissues) and, bound into its spine, there is a very full booklet including lyrics, song notes and generous biographical notes on, seemingly, everyone involved. The booklet is illustrated throughout in colour. The result is almost a "legacy edition" presentation of one of the best albums of the last few years.

Anyone coming to Full Power in its current form has an immense amount of music to navigate: the sheer ambition and 'mass' of the album is intimidating. It is nevertheless a wonderful example of prog at its least bombastic and most craftsmanlike.
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2013
I got the first English electric a while ago and was instantly impressed with the songs and musicianship. Anyone that has grown up with old school prog of the genesis, Canterbury type must have this. This is the band that is carrying the torch for this beautiful music. lovely melodies great tunes and the whole thing sounds immaculate.
The new package is outstanding too. A bargain at 13 quid.
There is some very good prog around these days but I have yet to hear a band that really understands this genre as well as this lot
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2014
Once in a while, an album like this comes along which sets a new benchmark. Composed of stirring prog themes, beautiful melodies and brilliant ensemble playing, here we have two and a quarter hours of spirit-lifting music which will keep calling you back for repeated listening. If the backbone of the music channels Genesis, Yes and others from the classic 70s prog period, these songs also have their own distinctive character, with clear folk influences, touches of jazz and a very wide palette of instruments, with flute, strings, brass and banjos all used to great effect. So good are all the tracks that it is unnecessary to pick out highlights, but if you want to hear a great example of BBT's eclectic influences try listening to Hedgerow, which builds from a folk tune, through a brilliant string solo to a beautiful anthem-like finale reminiscent of a Beatles classic (Penny Lane meets All you Need is Love or Hey Jude) For the last few albums, Greg Spawton and Andy Poole have surrounded themselves with top quality players and the promise shown by their earlier albums is now being fully realized. The Underfall Yard was a terrific album, but English Electric Full Power is quite astonishing. Treat yourself!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Folklore
£11.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)