Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2012
Review of the series (followed by a review of this book):
This series of books is based around the adventures of two men - Macro and Cato. Macro is a soldier through and through; he has spent his life in the army and is a centurion when we first meet him in the first book. In that book we also meet Cato who joins the legion as a new recruit, although he seems an unlikely candidate for a soldier. The series goes on to relate their many adventures and the relationship between them. Most of the stories are based - sometimes loosely - on real events and people, with a healthy dose of artistic license.
As far as I can tell the historical detail and facts are accurate, and the writing is generally engaging. There are criticisms in other reviews about the authors use of 'modern' slang; I know what they mean, but would we identify with 'roman' slang? For me, it is not a problem, I am not a fan of trying to invent historical language, it is too easy to fall into the 'ye olde shoppe' trap!
Overall, the series is very readable, and rolls along at a good pace. Like some other historical series, it doesn't do to try and fit the events into a timeline, as it soon becomes clear that the two men could not have done everything they do in one lifetime, but that doesn't detract from a fun series. Two niggles:the formatting annoys me in that the gaps between paragraphs are too long, particularly where there are long conversations, and they are a little over-priced.
Review of this book:
The story carries on directly from the previous volume; Macro and Cato are still in Briton, consolidating Rome's hold on the island. The story centres around efforts to rescue the family of the Roman commander from the Druids. It is well paced and an entertaining read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
These are books you just can't put down the characters are completely believable the stories are credible and are backed by an excellent historical knowledge of the Romans in Britain at the time of the emperor Claudius.
Entertaining and educational what more could you want from a book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
OK, this is not fact, it is a fiction, but a really good one. I am determined to read all the Scarrow books about Macro and Cato in order and one after another. So am now on number 4.
I wish i had discovered them earlier, then holidays past would have been even more enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
As usual a brilliant book, and wonderful author, DAVE BOWEN.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
The usual high standards are evident.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Excelent tension.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
After reading Book 3 these two Romans already feel like old friends. No doubt this will continue to expand in the coming books. I'm intrigued by the details of life in the legions which I know are factual, so I'm learning as I go. Great storytelling as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Possible Spoilers

This is the third book in the Eagle Series by Simon Scarrow. It is 44AD and a Roman army has finally taken ‘Camulodunum’. This book starts off from where the last book finished. It is winter, so the campaign year has stopped until spring. General Plautius's wife and children are shipwrecked in a storm and are captured by the Druids. As you can guess by now, the druids are the bad guys this book.

A book that can be split into two parts, the first is the winter part of the campaign, there is the odd skirmish and plenty of drinking. It is here that we meet up with a young lady called Boudica, from the Iceni tribe. She has a liaison with Macro and is a major part of the narrative. Considering this is a young Boudica that we meet, so I guess we will hearing from her again in future books. The second half of the story sees Macro and Cato, along with Boudica and her cousin in a rescue attempt of the Plautus's family. There are less mass battles here, but some good skirmishes with all the viscera that this entails.

Simon Scarrow's’ plot devices hides’ fresh suspense round every corner; his characters are well-rounded and are enjoyable to follow through the narrative. There are fresh faces, in the form of Boudica and Prasutagus who are likeable, alongside some of the more familiar comrades. For example Vespasian, with his softer qualities but stern exterior is a particular well done. Scarrow gives even the most minor of characters a full bodied personality. Once again there is attention to detail without the need to get bogged down in technical terms.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)