Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
I Predict A Graceful Expulsion
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 6 September 2012
Though I don't quite get all the themes, and only 37 minutes long, the album is spellbinding. Can't wait to see Cold Specks at the Union Chapel in October.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2012
I have been waiting for this CD since first seeing her on Jools Holland and then checking her out live in a small pub in Bristol. Cold Specks is a really gifted young artist whose influences obviously come from gospel , folk, soul, and blues, pooling them all together to create an acoustic based sound that is firmly rooted in the 21st Century. I hesitate to compare her with anyone because she has a unique voice, but those that enjoy Joan Armatrading and Tracy Chapman will love this CD. However I must point out that when I saw her in Bristol most of the audiences were under 25 and judging by their positive reaction to her, she is someone that appeals to all ages. Credit must go to her musicians who are also young, creative and totally in tune with the Cold Specks style. If I had to pick stand out tracks I would pick `Holland' and `Lay Me Down' but the truth is that for me the songs on this CD just flow into each other and creates a mellow mood. This is a really good first CD and I hope she enjoys the success that someone with her talent deserves.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
If this is 'Doom Soul' it didn't make me feel 'doomed.' There is a raw, poetic strength in Cold Specks' delivery, her unique, captivating voice and in her lyrically opaque, urgent songs. The youthful angst has a maturity about it, but also a sense of searching in the area of faith and love. Play the anthemic 'Winter Solstice' really loud, and revel in the existential feel of 'Holland.' There is some subtly powerful, restrained, backing from the Porthcawl Male Voice Choir and the London Community Gospel Choir on three of the songs. I look forward to seeing how this artist evolves. A personal favourite - 'Send Your Youth,' where Cold Specks sings 'this February child was made for the Spring.'
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
Gosh, what a gem. For those who missed her performance on Jools Holland last year this release is long overdue. Brimming over with heartfelt songs it's difficult to place this young Canadian who categorizes her music as 'Doom Soul'. I guess a bit of a pensive and slightly melancholic version of Tracy Chapman, she writes straight from the heart. Many stand out track but you could start at Winter Solstice, a worthy contender for song of the year. Amazon's 30 second clips give you a small taste and insight into the hidden treasures of the album and if you are intrigued by what you hear, download immediately, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
this album is very very good.

bought it in hmv sale because it was cheap. (at least some good came of their insolvency). i defy you to listen to a song whose opening lyric is 'the mere sight of naked fear choked every limb,' and not want to press on, through every other beautiful word of it. there's something special about an album you can read, as well as you can listen to. (i said this to a friend, and she recommended an audiobook. pah.) more wonderful lyrics populate this record, and lush soundscapes and gorgeous melodies to boot. you will stop what you are doing when you hear it.

(if i was feeling critical i would say that beautiful as it is, those 'lush soundscapes' or whatever it was i said up there have potential to denigrate into a bit of a dirge. i can see some listeners getting bored towards the second side.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
On reading the reviews, and listening to a couple of clips on youtube, I had to have this album. However, on first listening's (and there have been a few now) I am somewhat disappointed. Lyrically very potent, the album just does not quite do it for me. The songs tend to mellow into each other, without a lot of variation, and it all becomes a bit overwhelming. There are some great tracks (Winter Solstice, Elephant Head and Blank Maps), and the girl can obviously sing, but it just lacks something to make it a truly great album. However I can see how people will fall in love with it, just maybe not for me. Perhaps there is a lot more to come from Cold Specks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
Like Joan Armatrading at the start of her music career but at the same time totally original and delightful. I predict that Cold Specks will have a brilliant career singing graceful songs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
The c.d. is excellent! It came in perfect condition and the music itself is phenomenal! Her voice is fantastic. Definitely recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
I am lost for words . . speechless . . . overwhelmed . . . This feels like the album that's been waiting for me all my life!

Primal . . . yet artistically focussed - new, yet simultaneously old even ancient haunting yet enlightening. I could go on! Just see/hear for yourself!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Bought for my boyfriend. It's one of those albums that really grow on you, He absolutely loves it now and plays it pretty much non-stop. Says the lead singer is a great poet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)