Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
327
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 May 2013
Deep rolling vocals from Mr Laurie, growling vocal from Taj Mahal; bell like high notes from the ladies. Real blues for the boys and girls who like the blues not the plethora of crap that we get in the pop charts. This is how the blues is played. Sit back and listen and enjoy. There is only one weak track on here....You work it out yourself as your tastes will be different to mine. Listen to the macabre send me to the electric chair and enjoy something almost so authentic that you could be wandering around the Mississippi delta in a pair of old shoes.
For an actor this is superb music. Hugh clearly loves what he does and with this album it shows.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
Slower and even more bluesy than the first album. Wasn't sure about it at first, but seeing and hearing some of the tracks live has made it much easier to listen to as you can picture the live show as you listen. The band is tremendous and Laurie is clearly having the time of his life playing with them. Also 2 fabulous 'unknown' singers with voices that put most of the current crop of 'stars' to shame.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
I didn't think it was as good as the first album, but definitely worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Given as a gift to girlfriend Dad, said he enjoys it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Bought as Birthday present - recipient loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
not as good as let them talk apart from CHANGES
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Such great tracks played by such a wonderful group of musicians all clearly enjoying what they do. Hugh Laurie is just so talented and easily holds his own. Not keen on only one track out of all of the others. Every bit as good as his first album, maybe even better but definitely worth adding to your collection.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Love this music - went to see the band at the Hammersmith Apollo and the live performance was just as good as the cd. Very impressive!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
What a talented guy! I didn't think he could make a better recording than his last one but he could! He has fascinated us since se saw his first foray I to this environment on TV. A must buy for everyone's college action.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Everybody likes the very personable Hugh Laurie, who has entertained us from Fry and Laurie to Blackadder, Jeeves and Wooster via Peter's Friends and Stuart Little and finally mega-stardom with House. This album carries on from his previous one `Let them talk' with more classy jazzy blues, with Laurie holding his own with his talented American musicians but taking slightly more of a back seat by leaving some of the vocals to others. Taj Mahal sings on Little Brother Montgomery's `Vicksburg Blues', while Jean McClain sings on the opener `St. Louis Blues', as well as `Send me to the 'lectric chair' and Jelly Roll Morton's `I Hate A Man Like You'. Guatemalan singer Gaby Moreno handles Joe McCoy's `The Weed Smoker`s Dream' (Why Don't You Do Right?) as well as dueting with Laurie on the sexy bilingual tango `Kiss of fire' and both women rip it up on a fabulous rollicking version of the title track, Sister Rosetta Tharpe's `Didn't it rain'. (Jean McClain deserves to get her own recording contract after her contributions here.) My favourite track featuring Hugh was his laid-back, very personal take on the old blues standard 'Careless love'.

I've seen less than kind reviews of this record, which I find hard to understand - it is well-played by Laurie and his all-star Copper Bottom Band (although I thought that guitarists Kevin Breit and Greg Leisz were under-used), well-produced by Joe Henry and there is lots of variety both in the material and the different singers. I thought there was a good mix of older and more modern songs - the album closes with Alan Price's `Changes' and also include's Dr. John's 'Wild Honey'. There is also a nice mixture of well-known and more obscure songs, from the show-business `One for my baby' usually associated with Frank Sinatra to Jack Dupree's druggy down and out `Junkers Blues'. If you liked the multi-million-selling `Let them talk' then I'm sure you'll also like this, which is more of the same really - with Hugh's love of the music again shining through.
11 Comment| 86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse