Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
17
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Collector's Edition|Change
Price:£9.91 - £130.63

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2014
And so Dark Souls 2 has finally arrived but does it fulfil the hype? Thankfully it does - it just depends on how much effort you're willing to put in :-) Although there have been refinements (a slightly more manageable intro for beginners) it still feels like a 'Souls' game and that's the main thing. And what a game!

Ignore the criticisms about the graphics - they're fine and quite pretty in places. The real reason to play a Dark Souls game is the gameplay and feeling of satisfaction in beating that boss and moving further into the captivating world. Combat feels precise once you understand the timing of your chosen class and the roll/dodge manoeuvre will become your best friend very quickly.

I actually managed to hang on for a couple of hours until my first death this time around (I tried to run past a group of Knights to search for a hidden ring and ended up being chased down and mangled by 4 of them!) and witnessed the trophy 'Welcome to Dark Souls' pop up. Fantastic. After a comfortable introduction the real fun had begun :-)

For anybody who is playing a Souls game for the first time - Don't beat yourself up about dying constantly. It happens to all of us. Just keep plugging away and learning from mistakes and within hours you'll realise how much you've learned and how far you've come. In spite of what you may have read, these are not the hardest games ever. They are challenging but they CAN be beaten. I wouldn't call myself a hardcore gamer but I managed to beat Demon's Souls through practise and sheer force of will. Don't give up!

Maybe our paths will meet on the road and redemption is possible for all of us.

Praise the Sun!

Keep calm
And ignore idiot(s).
People who actually play the games
Know best.

Pricey007
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
This game takes what was great in Dark Souls and provides what users wanted the most: a continuous experience, for people who couldn't get enough of it. I, for once, am completely happy with it, and even more happy that it feels as great as the first one. Of course you cannot recreate the feeling of playing Dark Souls for the first time, but the feeling of playing more of the same great game is here at last! Good value for money for this package.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Dark Souls series is my favourite games and this was amazing, I would say that now especially after all the dlc and current event changes. The game play is hard, the bosses fun, music is not up to scratch but when I found a song, I didn't simply like it I loved it. I would say probably getting it on the PS4 is the best move as of the changes on the PS4 version is immense and will make the game play all the more challenging. PREPARE TO DIE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Excellent game, challenging boss fights, tough enemy mobs, beautiful music and graphics, great replay value and amazing game play.
One problem that didn't effect me much but could be annoying to others is the backtracking throughout the game from dieing from either a challenging boss or many enemy choices that you shall encounter on your journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Dark Souls II - Collector's Edition (PS3)
Thank YOU ( Namco Bandai ) for this awesome Collector's Edition .

<3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
I absolutely loved this thank you so much for this collectors edition of dark souls 2 the action figure looks great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
I would like the cloth map to be more sturdy and better quality, otherwise no complaints. The game itself is great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Great game hard but great.
Amazing boxet with a lot of stiff included. Also is great time spemding playing it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Haven't actually played the game yet, but after playing the beta it is very obvious that the game-play resembles that of Demon's Souls instead Dark Souls, the faster and more fluid combat as well as more realistic animations that look a lot better. This installment includes a lot of new features that are designed to add more difficulty to the game (only one Estus flask at the beginning, reduced durability on weapons, stat requirements needed for elemental or overpowered weapons and armor, hollow invasion, etc.) which may annoy and frustrate some players but for some of the more masochistic gamers they may welcome these additions. The graphics are improved, the textures look sharper although I don't know how the frame rate will hold up (hopefully not as atrociously bad as Blighttown on PS3 Dark Souls).

The CE is probably a contender for one of the nicest and best editions ever produced, with a lot of value for money (especially with the addition of the weapons pack DLC announced a while ago), particularly for those who got in early when the price was cheaper. The statue is nicely made and the quality is excellent, much bigger than it actually looks on the promotional image and much more detailed too. Steel-book is nice, and I prefer it too the main box-art anyway so it's a worthwhile addition. Hopefully the soundtrack will be as memorable and epic as the first two games.
And for those who were lucky enough to get the Amazon bonus, the art card is the icing on the cake. Solid and thicker than I thought it would be, it probably isn't worth a separate purchase on eBay (considering the extremely inflated prices), unless you are a collector. It will most likely be left in the box or perhaps put on display, but the statue has more appeal if you intend to buy this edition for display purposes. Still, in my opinion its the best pre-order bonus out of all of them, TheHut and Zavvi's being the second choice unless you like the shirt from GAME or Club Namco or the ShopTo iphone cover.

All in all, a great edition for what I hope to be a great game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
this game is kicking my ass again satisfying combat awsome online and the collectors edition is great the satue is nice
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here