Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
373
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2013
I was rather disappointed with the last 2 Maastricht DVDs but this one is superb. Besides the usual familiar numbers in these concerts, there are several special guests who each give a wonderful performance: Jermaine Jackson, Trini Lopez, André van Duin, Carlos Buono(who plays a bandoneon, a type of concertina), Romano Diederen (a 12year-old trumpeter who nearly steals the show), and the Jostiband(made up entirely of mentally handicapped people).It was also great to see my 3 favourite female soloists back together, namely Carla, Carmen and Mirusia. When they sang Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah" accompanied by the Jostiband, it was one of the most moving things I have ever seen. Altogether, a wonderful concert, the JSO and chorus were on top form. It is up there with André Rieu's best and is longer than usual at just over 2½ hrs.( Tip: turn on subtitles. They will not appear on the screen most of the time as André speaks English during the concert but they will give you the words of the 2 Dutch songs by André van Duin.)
33 comments| 126 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
What a concert. This has to be the best, very best of all times, so far. I see from the credits at the end of the programme that this concert was from an idea of Marjorie, Andre's wife. If this is so, please let us have more.
Being at the 2013 concert, I was only able to see the first 40 minutes of the show as my wife was taken ill, so the following 2 hours were spent in Maastrict hospital.
Having now been able to watch the DVD, it has more than made up for the disappointment on the night.
There is just one word to describe this DVD and that is "BRILLIANT", and was a bargain at the Amazon price of £12 99
An ideal present for anyone who enjoys Andre's music, and 155 minutes of unterupted
entertainment at its best.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Very good value for money with music for any tastes and lasting 2.5 hours.It was nice to hear the pipe bands and some of the music from the recent coronation concert.The nicest part for me though were his 3 soloists singing Hallelujah.Carmen's voice was perfect for it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
For those of us who were at the Concerts, we will, as with every concert, be disappointed by the fact that there will inevitably be over an hour of the show cut from the DVD as with previous years. Its simply impossible to put into one DVD the over three hours of fun and frohlich everyone enjoyed, and of course the Director/Editor will invariable have his way with moving the running order out of sequence as usual, making you have that 'double take' moment when you were expecting something else completely different next up..

Everyone will have their own special moments, but whatever your favourites were, whether its that one fabulous night with Jermaine Jackson, and Trinny Lopez or any of the other guest nights, you can be sure that this will still be a 5 star performance and a great way to remember the evening by as always !
22 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
This DVD is a vast improvement on the last couple of Andre Rieu Maastricht concert releases (although I have enjoyed them all).
Firstly this one concentrates more on showing the orchestra than the audience (although some audience members are returned to repeatedly during a song, never to be seen again). However, as ever, it seems that most of those that are shown are the ones that are enjoying the show from the restaurants and cafe's outside the concert area, rather than the paying audience inside it!
Secondly, there is a lot of new material to hear. It's one thing to go to a concert to hear the tunes you enjoy, but another for the same ones to keep appearing on the DVD releases.
The `friends` on this show are generally very welcome, too, even if it means less time for the regular soloists to have their time in the spotlight.
The only `low` point of the show (for me) is a disappointing performance from Trini Lopez - who then caps it off by referring to his host as Andre Roo !
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
I love all his music, he is so popular, humourous and talented, also quite unique with his orchestra and costumes.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Andre Rieu and his orchestra make classical music beautiful and presents it as it should be presented. Andre communicates with his audience and faces them while playing. He and his orchestra look as if they are enjoying it. Unsurprisingly, the audience also enjoy it and are emotionally involved and turn out in large numbers to share it. No wonder some of the classical gurus are angry and envious at his success. Music is to be enjoyed and to touch the heart and heal it. Andre does this and its available for the cost of a prescription and more quickly than a doctors appointment. A favourable clinical outcome is more or less guaranteed. Thank you so much.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I can't praise Andre any more than I have already done in the previous reviews. Wonderful show and giving the handicapped orchestra the opportunity to play with the Johann Strauss Orchestra was a wonderful gesture (if that is the right word). They certainly enjoyed themselves.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
THIS IS, IN PART, A CELEBRATION OF LAST YEAR'S (2013) DUTCH CORONATION AND A SHOW OF NATIONAL PRIDE. THERE IS A FAREWELL TO QUEEN BEATRIX AND A WELLCOME TO THE NEW ROYAL COUPLE. THIS CONCERT BRINGS WITH IT TEARS, SMILES AND FUN. IT IS TWO AND A HALF HOURS OF ENJOYMENT AND INCLUDES SEVERAL GUEST PERFORMERS AND A LARGE NUMBER OF MUSICAL ITEMS (33 TRACKS). IT IS ONE OF THE VERY BEST CONCERTS, YOU MUST ADD IT TO YOUR COLLECTION. IT IS A MUST-HAVE D.V.D. AND I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU BUY IT.

TRACK LIST:
1. SEVENTY-SIX TROMBONES
2. CORONATION WALTZ
3. WILHELMUS (NATIONAL ANTHEM)
4. TIME TO SAY GOODBYE (CON TE PARTIRO)
5. AMSTERDAM MEDLEY
6. DON'T CRY FOR ME ARGENTINA
7. SECOND WALTZ
8. HET DORP
9. YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE
10. MORGENS UM SIEBEN
11. DIE RANCHERFEST - POLKA
12. ADIOS NONINO
13. LIBERTANGO
14. MA MA MAASTRICHT
15. I'M OFF TO CHEZ MAXIM
16. LIPS ARE SEALED
17. SMILE
18. THE BEAUTIFUL BLUE DANUBE
19. AMIGOS PARA SIEMPRE
20. RADETZKY MARCH
21. LIBIAMO
22. IF I HAD A HAMMER
23. LA BAMBA
24. MAASTRICHT ANTHEM
25. MAASTRICHT, CITY OF JOLLY SINGERS
26. WHEN THE RAIN BEGINS TO FALL
27. AMAZING GRACE
28. AVIATORS MARCH
29. STRAUSS & CO.
30. HALLELUJAH
31. LIMBURG ANTHEM
32. ADIEU, LITTLE CAPTAIN OF MY HEART
33. MARINA
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
Technically, this is, without doubt, the best Andre Rieu album ever.
I do not say that lightly. I have 35 of his Blu-ray or DVD albums. In addition, I have a large collection of his CD's, starting from his saloon orchestra days. In the past, many of his albums while enjoyable, have been full of sound faults. One DVD even has two different recording standards, within the same audio track, changing from one standard to another at the concert intermission. DVDs are made with too high a sound pressure level, and run out of head room. On my audio restoration equipment, one can see the clipping and compression. Regretfully this has been a common fault on many of his DVDs in the past. I have also found DVDs that have been made with too low a bit rate, for the audio, causing sound degrading and crackle, in Forte passages.
Not enough post production care is taken before releasing an Album, for example. On the Brazil Blu-ray disc, there is very irritating low-frequency thumps, throughout the entire programme. This annoying sound was most likely due to a faulty microphone stand, which is rocking back and forth, or is being kicked. (This is easily removed in a recording studio. I do it regularly) Not recording instrument's sound; this was most apparent in "Rieu Royal" where the pipe band is playing at the end of the Blu-ray disc, the drum major is striking the drum but there are only the pipes sounds, with no bass drum. The sound on this otherwise fantastic album, sound like a low-frequency cut filter, has been used throughout the entire album.

With "Rieu and Friends" Blu-ray disc, the Video and DTS master audio is perfect. The video quality is the best yet. It is so good, on my Panasonic 65inch plasma, that it reminds me of video, shot with 4K cameras. Images are exceptionally clear, and sharp. So good, that the time can easily be read on many of the concert goer's wrist watches. The sound quality has been recorded very closely to DTS master audio standard, in my opinion. It truly is superb, rich in sound and tonal quality. All instruments can be easily heard on our full frequency, surround-sound system. The bite of the brass instruments is authentic, and fantastic. The electronic organ can be felt in all its low-frequency glory. It was used for magnificent effect during the playing of "You'll Never Walk Alone." The attack or rise time when the mallet is forcefully hit against the kettle drums can easily be heard and felt. Likewise, with the big bass drum, when that is struck. It is so well recorded, that I could feel the sound pressure wave in my chest from our top of the line "Rel" sub-woofer. The pipe band, drum major can easily be heard on this disc. Fantastic recording all round. I highly recommend this exceptionally good Blu-ray disc.
44 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)