Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
254
4.9 out of 5 stars
Merlin - The Complete Collection - Series 1-5 [DVD] [2008]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£54.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 June 2015
Great value for money as you receive the entire series plus extras all fitted neatly into a box. As for the program itself, Merlin is full of suspense and interesting sub-plots, with the dynamic between Merlin and Prince Arthur providing much of the humour and funny, memorable moments. It can at times be somewhat cheesy or a bit silly, but this does not make it any less enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Wonderful family TV. Enjoyed by all age groups. Each episode a tale in itself so you can pick up an episode at any time and enjoy for 45 minutes. Will space out watching time for months to come. Sometimes in even the best of box sets you can get bored by the same tale but have to keep watching as at the end of each episode it leaves you hanging. Not so with this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
I was hooked on Merlin from the very first episode and never missed an episode. Being absolutely devastated when the series ended I knew I would have to get the boxed set.
When I saw this item I ordered it straight away. It arrived promptly and was very well packaged.
Each season is in it's own DVD case and all five seasons are held in a sturdy and attractive outer box. The quality of the discs is top rate and I have no doubt that this collection will continue to delight me for many years to come.
If you are a Merlin fan then this is an absolute MUST HAVE. Don't Dither Buy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
After 5 years of smile and tear that 'Merlin' had been giving me and all fans from all over the world, I decided to purchase the complete collection as my birthday gift, and I love it very much. If you're Merlin's fan, this is the 'must-have' item!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Well worth the money amazing series and will be watching this over and over again for many years to come. The additional cd's included give you a great incite into the actual real life characters of the actors. Very Highly recommended.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2016
This was a great series on TV about magic which is taboo and the struggle for power. It has great characters in and twists along the way as Merlin protects Arthur unknown using his magic which he must keep hidden to survive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2016
Love it. I love it. This is the best tv series ever. I swear, I love everything about it: soundtracks, characters, actors... Oh yes... This is the best cast ever. They aren't just actors... They are so funny, and Katie (that is funny as well) is so sweet and beautiful (AND MORGANA IS A FANTASTIC CHARACTER). I love Eoin Macken and Alex Vlahos too. I mean, they all are just incredible. The evolution of the characters is amazing, like the relationship between them. I love fantasy creatures too, especially Kilgharrah :3 I think that anyone who likes fantasy, must watch this. It will make you happy :)
...Well, happy 'till the episode before the last one. Because watching the last one, you'll cry all your tears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
I love the episodes the story line and the fact that all my family members enjoy it. can hardly go to sleep on time because you want to see what's next. its simply great
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
this series was a tale as old as time but told with a different slant where the focs was on Merlin & not as the others where the focus was on Arthur or Lancelot & Guinevere it was well told
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
Merlin was designed, allegedly, as a way of keeping the Doctor Who crew busy between series. But it became a lot more than that. The first series does indeed look like an afterthought, with indifferent scripts, cautious plotlines and occasionally inept special effects. But having become a hit, series 2 was pretty good, with much more character development and clearly, a higher budget. Seasons 3 and 4 are, with the characterisation settled and the series secure, absolute gems. They deserve to be considered classics of BBC TV. Series 5 unfortunately loses its way a bit towards the end, as the series ended earlier than had been expected. The finale, as a result, feels rather rushed, and part two in particular seems to have at best a confused plot.

The main strength of the show is its casting. Colin Morgan is outstanding as Merlin, playing a multi-faceted character with skill, determination and an impeccable English accent. His scenes as an old man are quite brilliantly conceived, and played with a warmth and humour that other BBC series unfortunately seem to have lost, most amusingly when he insults Arthur by calling him 'toadface'. Yet in many ways even he is upstaged by Angel Coulby as Guinevere/Gwenhwyfar, who plays the beggar maid to princess to absolute perfection and never once gives less than a glorious performance. Bradley James and Katie McGrath may never win Oscars, but they are both well-matched to their roles and clearly enjoy themselves. Richard Wilson and Anthony Head do as brilliantly as they ever do, while Emilia Fox and Nathaniel Parker provide strong support at various times, as do Rupert Young and Eoin Macken.

After the first series, the camerawork and special effects are also very good, and locations are skilfully chosen and blended into the show. Although everyone knows the fairy tale Camelot is a castle in France, Rhaglen appears in many different guises and provides a suitably sinister ruinous backdrop. Castell Coch and I think Ewloe also hop up from time to time, as locations in Wales were used to excellent effect to create atmosphere and drama. A great deal of thought evidently went into the costumes and the outdoor scenes, and the result is a fabulous feast for the eyes.

But it's also fair to note that apart from the execution, the whole idea of the series itself is a very good one. This is Camelot re-imagined for the modern age, with social tension, egalitarianism and religious persecution to the fore: magic, 'the old religion', is persecuted by Uther (and then Arthur) and its practitioners have to stay very quiet about their abilities (I sometimes wonder if there is a different, subtle social comment in that). The kingdom resolves around the attempt by Arthur to rule fairly, justly and for the good of the common people - a very New Labour idea of the benevolent elite. In many ways, it does to Malory's work what Malory himself did to his French sources, and what they themselves had done to the original legends of Arthur in the Mabinogion. Of all efforts to do this in the last two hundred years, perhaps only T. H. White's The Once and Future King (to which the series clearly owes a lot) has come as close to making a superb, modern fantasy out of these wonderful ancient fables.

It is therefore rather disappointing that the extras, while OK, are not much better than run of the mill. The excellent documentary The Real Merlin and Arthur was something I hoped to find here, but it is sadly missing. The deleted scenes are in some cases rather overwhelming in number and type. The 'making of' goes into a lot of technical detail, but more on the imagery and conception of the series, the characters and why they were reinvented in this way would have been welcome. The bloopers are, well, bloopers - funny, but not really much to write home about. The imagination clearly went into the series, rather than the presentation of it. There is also a wholly needless relic of the BBC's unwise decision to release the series half a series at a time, as the early series have two discs for extras (one would have been ample).

So don't buy it for the extras - buy it for the series. The price makes it good value for money and will provide many hours of entertainment much of which is of top quality. Don't tell anyone, but it's a whole lot better than Doctor Who.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)