Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
34
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2014
This is not a book, it's a short pamphlet. It's well written and provides interesting facts about the follow-up rescue mission. However, it's so short that it might better have been included as an epilogue in Marcus' book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
I should have read other reviews a bit more carefully. Some mention it being a pamphlet rather than a book. I'd go a step further and say it's an online article...there isn't enough content there to justify paying anything for it. Whilst it's sold at a low price I really feel rather aggrieved to have paid anything for this.

Books aren't about value for money, granted, but there really is so little substance to this 'book' that it's noteworthy. It mentions some minor events that don't significantly add to the Luttrell's account - even if you have in interest in his story you won't be missing anything if you avoid this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
I was pleased to read that the author stated from the off that he didn't want to comment on the Marcus Luttrell account of events and only referred to them solely to tie up what he knew about the rescue ops that were going on simultaneously. He was 'gentle' when identifying the problems in trying to coordinate the search/rescue attempts when dealing with very strong willed, determined, very capable and very individually minded teams of people, who very possibly, were allowing unit pride/ego to initially limit communication/cooperation. Why I like to read these written accounts of extreme activities is because it often shows why these men (and on certain operations, women) are indeed special and how through times verging on near panic and chaos, that true person does emerge and that the final 'push through the wall' does, brings with it success of sorts. This book seemed to be written with a view to inform the non military without confusing the reader on what was an already confusing situation and I felt it worked brilliantly. No blame, it felt like a debriefing where everyone will do better next time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
I read this after reading LONE SURVIVOR by Marcus Luttrell, and although its not a first hand account with any great in depth knowledge on specifics..it does clear up a perspective of what was happening during and after Marcus Luttrell and the rest of the 4 man SEAL team's experience.
For the price its worth it to fill in the missing gaps.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
As promised, it sheds light on the magnitude of the rescue operation launched to bring the fallen home. Fact based and as others have mentioned, feels like an after action report, which points out lessons that could be learnt from for future operations. Especially good to read about the efforts of the Pararescue Jumpers and their supporting aircrew who made it possible to bring them home, I'd highly recommend to anyone to read up on PJ's and what these highly skilled airman can do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
This is a very short, but nevertheless, essential piece if you are interested in the tragedy that befell Operation Red Wings.
The recent film "Lone Survivor" will likely intrigue a whole new level of people that will want to find out more about the details of SEAL Team 10`s mission.

The information in this e-book covers a bit more about the aftermath of the operation and how MarcusLutrell`s teamates bodies were recovered etc.

It`s short but essential for anyone looking for more info on Red Wings. Well worth the low price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
This book gives the basic info on what happens after operation red wings goes badly wrong .it's a very short book and only goes into limited detail all in all its a hour of my life I won't get back .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
A very good account of the rescue mission behind lone survivor and all that goes on behind the scenes, it leaves questions not answered, but least we forget the only person who could ever have answered them has done so to the best of his ability, we shouldn't try to discredit the armed forces in anyway...........
Ask yourself would you do it? more to the point could you ....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
I was intrigued to read official accounts of the Operation Red Wings mission, having seen the Lone Survivor movie. This was a short analysis of official reports, with some explanation into the situation. It stands well next to Luttrell's book to add depth to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
I thought the book was to short and although I read lone survivor it was a good a read as the search and rescue was nearly if not on par with the mission they still risked their own lives irrelevant of what happened to themselves so they wouldn't leave their brothers in arms out so they could repatriate them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)