Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2013
You might have expected Anoushka Shankar's first release after the loss of her father (Pandit Ravi Shankar) to be a solemn and pensive affair. However, while there's pathos running through some of the tracks (Fathers, Metamorphosis, Unsaid...), there's a generally upbeat and joyous feeling that predominates.
Straying from the fairly purist treatment she gave her last album, Traveller, Shankar and her producer Nitin Sawnhey allow occasional glimpses of electronica into the mix, harking back to her "Rise" album, yet the best tracks shine when she lets her sitar, or her sister, do the talking.
The unusual hang drum gets plenty of the spotlight (you can bet we'll be seeing more of this instrument in the world music of the future).
Anoushka Shankar continues to push the boundaries of her instrument, while constantly aware of the enormous heritage she has been left to defend. Some purists may criticize her audacity, but listen to her virtuoso performance on Monsoon and you know the sitar is safe in her hands.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
For anyone who has followed Anoushka Shankar's career it seems evident that she has improved with each album. Going from higly talented to one of the planet's greatest musicians.

A strong composer, an excellent sitarist with a beautiful tone and most importantly an artist with a strong vision. Making a near perfect blend of East and West.

On this album she has cooperated with Nitin Sawhney on most tracks. And come up with a nice very diverse musical adventure. Most of the tracks are instrumentals with a few mantras shown in and really making Indian music that should appeal to a wide audience. And a young audience too. Music that is completely contemporary and at the same time made with deep reverence to the tradition.

Maybe the biggest attraction for most listeners is the fact that half-sister Norah Jones lends her husky voice to three of the tracks.

Visionary and accesible world music at its best.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
Sitar-player Anoushka Shankar (daughter of Ravi) gives us on this cd a fine fusion of West and (Indian) East which reminds me sometimes to the late 70's music of Shakti (yes listen to them if you don't know Shakti, especially cd's A Handful of Beauty and Natural Elements are very very good). Half-sister Norah Jones sings on three tracks. The record is an ode to their father who passed away sometime before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
This is a fantastic album a beautiful blend of some of the best musicians I've ever heard, the rhythms are just so beautifully timed it makes me very happy. The melodies are catchy and you'll be humming them weeks down the line thinking now where was that again... the timbre of the musicians is fantastically balanced with the skill of their musicianship, a real treasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
I really like this album. I have played this album many times, liking especially the vocal cords of Norah Jones and the mixture of the sitar with piano. One of my favourite pieces when I need to concentrate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
I saw Anouska Shankar live a few months ago. First time I had seen a sitar played live and with the RSNO it was absolutely amazing. The best concert I was at this year and Immediately had to buy CDs. I loved this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I really enjoy listening to Traces of You. Track 10, which features both sisters, is especially lovely and enables me to remember my own lost, loved ones. I like all the tracks and 'river pulse' is a fast rhythmic weaving of piano and sitar which I
find very cheering, a good contrast to more contemplative ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Enjoyable, but I rank Traveller much higher (5 star). The collaboration with Norah Jones is not the success that the collaboration with Javier Limon was in Traveller. The harder edges of Shankar's sitar music with flamenco works very well and better than the softer romanticism in Traces of You.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Fantastic work, deep, not on the face, meanuful listen. Piano/guitar and sitar in synch like I haven't heard before, thats is it's subtle (many have done it but bumpy). Few tracks with prominence given to Norah's vocals are bsolute gems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Beautiful Grammy Award Winning album from the equaly beautiful daughter of the great late Ravi Shankar, this album includes Norah Jones, Anoushkars sister and is a personal tribute to their father.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.09
£8.99
£6.99
£4.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)