Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
40
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2012
I have waited a long time to find this DVD retail outlets like HMV are very hit and miss about holding any stocks of non mainstream artists, for my money obviously Dido is top notch and not the bargain basement material the media would have you believe.
Meanwhile in the real world this DVD was in fact the bargain of the Year but I would have paid the full price eventually had I not,stumbled upon it!.

Worth every penny, Dido is a pleasant and consumate artist, grossly underated by the Music Industry.

I hope she will continue to record and ignore the idiots at the top.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
Dido is one of my favorite artists and this DVD is one of the best live performances I've ever seen.
It was filmed in O2 Brixton Academy London on August 16th, 17th and 18th, 2004 during the "life for rent tour".

She has a unique voice and sounds great live. In every live performance of hers - and on this DVD as well - she sings on her own without backing vocals.
Her band consists of a guitar player (acoustic, electric), a bass player, a keyboard player, a drummer and a percussionist.
Great flow of highs and lows with a lot of moments you'd want to jump up and dance and others you'd just be amazed by the mix of sounds with her unique voice.
Impressive lighting and high quality sound, even comparing to studio quality.

You can watch live performances of most of the songs from her debut "no angel" and her second "life for rent" album,
plus her stories about the songs, some interesting and funny and some personal.
She even plays the quitar on "Mary's in India" and "see the sun" and the keyboards on "do you have a little time".
There are songs which sound equivalent to the studio recordings, and a lot of them that sound even better, with different arrangements or versions.
Strongly suggested for every Dido fan and even non-fans who can have a nice preview of her first two albums.

The DVD is also accompanied by a bonus CD with twelve of the live songs, which is great if you want to listen to.
The booklet is full of pictures from the concerts and has all the song information but not the lyrics.

Totally satisfied, it is worth its money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
One whole concert of very good soul-to-soul nurturing songs. We need more of this. The music arrangements and musicians combine a great band and sound and dynamics; her stand-there-and-do-it presence: Really good mellow but thrilling show, lighting, show and and camera shots. Hope your proud, Mum, to whom she dedicates the knockout final encore. Bob Clearmountain mixed this one. It is a DVD I don't tuck away too far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Take any DVD recorded live , and you are asking for trouble , NOT this DVD , colours are very good , sound is out of this world , i have seen blu ray discs looking nowhere as good if you are a DiDo fan this is a must .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2005
OK, I am a Dido fan (and I understand if you think she's a little dull) but this DVD is just fantastic - worth waiting for - and I think by far the best way to experience a recorded Dido - better than the CD's which is unusual. Her performance is fun enough, the band good also and a there's a great percussionist (the band is the percussionist, drummer, bass and guitar). But three things make this DVD stand out: Firstly it is very well produced - both visually and audio. The tracks are not poor live renditions that would sound much better from the studio - but studio produced quality with the energy of a live production. Visually there's plenty going on and its very well put together (suround sound too). Secondly the performances are original and have something extra, plenty of life - so even if you have the tracks already you'll feel you've got something new to listen to. The whole performance builds in a crescendo of beat. Finally its great value - with the audio CD thrown in. You'll watch and listen to this again and again. OK there are no special features - but instead you get near DVD music perfection end to end. Well done to Dido and her production team for putting together something that really justifies the wait and makes the best of the format. If you're not sure about Dido - buy this and decide, if you like her - what on earth are you waiting for? Have fun...
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2008
I have always been a Dido fan and this package of a full length DVD and audio CD is a real bargain at under £10. Dido's voice in the live concert is similar to the studio recording and she clearly engages with the audience. There is no glitzy laser show, just a solid and magical performance by a lovely lady who is a natural singer and very pretty too. If you are a Dido fan, this is a must; if you like her just a little, go get this, I'm sure you will love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
If you, like me, have just discovered this cd/dvd you won't be displeased as this is Dido at her very very best. The band is fantastic with a good range of percussion instruments creating a brilliant vibrant backing to some of Dido's best songs. So good i may buy another copy for a friend as i cannot stop playing both the cd and the dvd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2016
Nice to see Dido playing live at home with most of her best songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
all arrived well packed no problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
love her music but this is dull
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)