Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
316
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2013
Remarkable album, and I could add "for somebody who's only 16", but that would seem to be talking down to her. It's remarkable, period.

It seems that she did much of the production herself, and yet it's as if she already knows everything there is to know.
There are no loose wires dangling or rough edges in her music, it's been worked and worked on it till everything seems to be in exactly the right place.
Sometimes perfection can produce something antiseptic, yet the result is warm, full, melancholy.

She also holds any youthful exaggerations in check: she never lets herself go, which is certainly not a criticism. She just knows exactly what she's doing, starting from the album cover, which in its dark simplicity tells you exactly what to expect.
I'm not generally a great fan of electronic music - too often it sounds like something made by a programme, whereas here each bit sounds like it was carefully crafted by a human, even though it's electronic.

Another big plus is the way the album continues to grow on you: it's one of those that you never get bored with. A first listening is good, you can feel the quality right away, but I loved the effects over time.

I've seen her briefly on video and her physical presence is amazing too with a gaze that shows total inner calm. Really captivating.

I like all the tracks but in particular the long end track "A World Alone".
The only disappointment is the drug reference in the title, I know it's all part of it, I only wish it wasn't, of course. But then that's the whole point.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Very nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
its a gift; sounds great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
All the songs are great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Let this young lady's dulcet tones swoop you away from the trials and tribulations of everyday life!
Each track is unique, but with a similar whimsical feel, my personal favourite being 'Buzzcut Season' track 5, which will rise and fall so effortlessly, building to a great crescendo at the chorus that I just can't get enough of!
Not to mention the popularised tracks 'Tennis Court' and 'Team' which are truly cracking pop tunes which put this lady in a league of her own.

Deserves all the plaudits she gets in my opinion!! 5 stars!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
From the now familiar opening of Tennis Court to the closing track World alone, this debut from the Kiwi singer songwriter is consistently fresh - whilst retro, dark - but uplifting and intelligent. A piece of work way beyond her years - this promises some incredible things to come from this artist. If this were back in the day of cassettes - my copy would have been well and truly stretched and warped by now - its been played so much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Fantastic album. Everyone should have a copy of this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 August 2014
Bought this album on the risky basis of loving one particular song (as I gave birth to my daughter whilst it was on the radio!)
I was really pleased I did though - the majority of songs are beautiful and lyrical. Plus it has the added bonus of having the lyrics printed inside so you can sing along to lovely Lorde's voice knowing you are getting the words right :)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
Great album, good talent from such a young girl from New Zealand. Well worth a listen and good addition to the music collection
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Amazing song writer and singer. Not a bad track on the album. Lorde is going to be very big indeed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse