Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
72
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Astonishing quality here from CLannad - along with Legend and Magical Ring this really stands out from what I have heard so far of their twenty-something albums.

The first 5 tracks grab you straight away and I like the blend of traditional, mystical singing with the more pop side of their music - never gets cheesy as this band usually hold on to their mystical airs very well without sounding pretentious at all - a feat in itself in my opinion.

Clannad prove they continue to create quality music that is uplifting and textural and fascinating. Top tracks are the first 5 on the record - especially Brave Enough which has such a strong pop hook blended nicely with a folk sensibility that is startling - this track starts off with a Beatles like guitar strum then the singer and drum kick in with a lively Irish ballad - so sounds like a anthem but also like a folk tale at same time - The second part of the album is less instant but grows on you - like the way the album seems to drift off leaving you unsure because the first 5 tracks have strong hooks and melodies, but the later ones seem softer and more impressionistically constructed with moments of rythmic unison.

Citi na gCumann right at the end leaves my ignorant of Irish language ears wistfully wishing I understood what was being said.....but I kind of like not knowing....loving the texture of the singers wonderful voice. This album has been produced perfectly - and I know this was their first album in a while - but to me from what Ive heard it maybe at least equal to their very best ever.

If you like Clannad then also check out great folk acts like Fairport Convention and more recently Johnny Flynn - now there's three folk bands who will all get on my desert island disc everytime!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
I hope it won't take another 15 years for Clannad to release a new album but this one was worth the waiting. I am from Germany and I don't speak Gaelic at all, so with the Gaelic songs I just listen to the sound and the voices of Moya and the rest of the band. I wish I could understand the lyrics.
The album offers a variety of tradtional arranged songs and new modern songs and this mixture is perfect. It's definately the "Clannad sound". Moya's voice is still as beautiful as it was when I first heard it in 1987.
Also the song "Brave Enough" with Duke Special is wonderful.
I just hope Clannad will do a tour in Germany next year, I'll be one of the first to buy tickets - no matter where they are going to play!

The only thing that bothers me a bit is that there is no booklet and no real jewel case. I would have loved a few more photos and maybe a few words from the band. But other than that the album is great.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
This was a birthday present for my son and he loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
One of my favourite CD"s, never tire of it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Clannad have been making music for a very long time now, with their unique blend of ancient Irish folk and modern rock and pop influences. There are two things everyone knows about Clannad: "They used to have Enya in them, didn't they?" and "They did that Robin Hood programme, right?" The answer to both of these is yes, but Enya is not the vocal star here (she departed in the early eighties), it's her sister Moya Brennan who has a voice that has not aged a day over the band's career. It remains pure and beautiful as it was on the Robin of Sherwood album. And there's a reason everyone remembers that show - the highly memorable memories that Clannad construct are a testament to the songwriting skill of all five members.
On Nadur that writing skill is brought to bear on songs that defy categorisation in many cases. Some, such as the lovely instrumental Lamh ar Lamh, are clearly folk, but most belong in a category marked "only Clannad does this"! They bring in guest vocalist Duke Special (probably not his real name) on standout track Brave Enough to great effect, and this song swells like a wave on a stormy sea while others employ more stripped back and gentle arrangements to create tracks with the beauty of a dewdrop on a leaf. Pol Brennan's whistle and flute playing, having been notably absent from a couple of their albums, is brought to the fore and sounds magical.
It could be said that they went through a period around the time they released the albums Lore and Landmarks when they struggled to recapture the greatness of their Robin of Sherwood glory days. Nadur shows that they've still got the skills, the voices and the talent to match the best of what they've given us in the past. If you like Clannad even just a little bit, then buy this album.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After a break of fifteen years Clannad are back, and Nadur is an impressive return. It has a familiar mixture of styles - with traditional-style Gaelic songs alongside more mainstream tracks which should pick up some airplay.

Although all the tracks are strong, if I had to pick some highlights then Brave Enough, a duet with Duke Special, which is probably the most poppy track on the album, is an instant classic - like much of the album it feels like it's always been part of the Clannad songbook. TransAtlantic is simply gorgeous and Tobar an tSaoil is a cracking upbeat Gaelic track.

Although it's been a long time between albums, the wait has been worth it, particularly since Pól Brennan (who left the group in the early 1990's) is now back in the fold. And some forty years after the group debuted, Moya Brennan's voice still sounds as hauntingly beautiful as ever.

After far too long away, Nadur is simply a great album from a legendary group.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
After 15 very long years away from the recording industry, Clannad are back with their first new CD since 1998's Landmarks. Nadur is a wonderful return for this fantastic and incredibly talented band. Of course, at the forefront, are Moya Brennan's mystical vocals which shine through on all the songs. The highlight for me has to be the duet with Duke Special - Brave Enough - which is a worthy successor to the classic Moya/Bono duet In a Lifetime. As with many Clannad albums we are taken on a journey through mystical new age sounds (Vellum) to more pop and jazz-based offerings (The Fishing Blues). I downloaded this on Friday and have not stopped listening to it. It is brilliant. I just hope this CD gets the exposure it deserves and we get to enjoy some more new material from Clannad over the next few years.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
As previously commented, this album is a mixture of styles.
However,It is inherently Clannad with their signature haunting themes.
In my opinion there is no one else who can capture the magic of this type of music in quite the same way as Clannad.
From the unmistakeable voice and harp playing of Moya Brennan to the wonderful harmonising vocals of the rest of the band, they are true Celtic legends.
A great album and a must for fans of Clannad and Celtic music in general.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)