Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
947
4.4 out of 5 stars
Thor (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£11.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 July 2015
Specifically a 3D review of one of my favourite Marvel films:

A common complaint of Marvel 3D films when converted from 2D [in the film process] to a 3D film - is that the subsequent film is often too dark.
It's all too evident with this release [one of Marvel's 1st 3D releases] - the film is dark and it only passably adequate as a 3D release, with scenes that you would think would be excellent in 3D actually being only vaguely 3-dimensional. Disappointing considering some of the other excellent Marvel 3D releases; [Guardians of the Galaxy, Avengers Assemble, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Captain America: Civil War and Guardian of the Galaxy Vol 2 - being 3D highlights.]
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
The film that brings 'marvel-comic' hero 'Thor' (Chris Hemsworth) to the screen.
Telling the tale of 'arrogant' and fearless warrior 'Thor' who's antic's see him banished from 'Asgard' to earth losing his super-powers, where he becomes befriended by 'Jane' (Natalie Portman)
He now has to win back favour of his father 'Odin' (Anthony Hopkins)( however his brother 'Loki' (Tom Hiddleston) has other plans for the fallen hero, 'Earth' becomes threatened 'Thor' will need his powers and his weapon 'The Hammer' to defend his new friends.
This is an action packed joy-ride for super-hero fans filled with much in the way of fantasy violence.
As my title suggest's------The Special -Effects are Top-Drawer.........
Great Picture and Sound Quality Throughout.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
We purchased the Thor DVD back in July 2016 to add to my daughters collection however when we watched last weekend, for the first time, the DVD would not play. On further inspection the DVD was scratched and looked used; this was not a new DVD. I understand it is too late to ask for a refund or replacement, nevertheless the Supplier should be made aware.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
thor is sent to earth ,his powers taken away after his father teaches him a lesson.his evil brother tries to take the throne of their father odin,,,thor must get his powers aback and help humanity and his father.a good adventure film..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
An entertaining film in the Marvel universe. I found some of it a bit clichéd, corny, contrived and hammy in places.

However, aside from the spoiled brat bits by Thor near the beginning; I did really enjoy it. Very witty in places, lots of action.

Brat becomes humble was done with humour, displayed desperation, resignation and redemption.

Enjoyed watching it, no regrets.

Helpful to have seen Ironman first but not essential, will just miss a few insider jokes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Another brilliant movie from the master's of the genre, Marvelous Marvel.... Love Chris Hemsworth (and no he was not in Star Trek either) OK, Natalie Portman isn't too bad either as the love interests..but feel that Stephan Skarsgard is the best.... As the rather zany professor...
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
Really enjoyed this film.
I brought it as a streamed film and the quality of sound and picture was very good, you wouldn't have known it wasn't a DVD.
After the Iron man film, this was the next "Avenger" film that made the rest possible.
Good cast and the actors are very good in bringing their characters alive.
Nice to see Clark Gregg back as Agent Phil Coulson, and the uncredited cameo of Jeremy Renner as Clint Barton "Hawkeye."
It ties the films in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
This film has more of a comedy feel than a serious superhero film should. Portman is awful and unbelievable and sets the tone of the movie. A brilliant performance by Hidlestone at Loki!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
I enjoyed this and especially Hemsworth's transition from arrogant to humble. Loki is brilliant too- very versatile actor. Regret that I found Portman less convincing. Also enjoyed special effects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Excellent film - Brannah should be proud of his efforts - this along with Iron Man, Captain America and Guardians of the Galaxy are the pick of the bunch so far because of the character development in each and the of course the groundbreaking visual trickery.

Great repeated viewing movie - along with the above mentioned. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)