Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
38
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2007
A crazy and fun adventure based manga with strong characterization.

This is currently my favourite manga series for many good reasons !

First of all it's visual style is very strange and unique .... it's very borderline cartoonish , which some people may find a turn off. But if looks turn you off that easily, well I guess you're a shallow one then.

This drawing style simply oozes fun and freedom , which is what this title is all about ! The characters are very expressive and you can sense the unrestrained joy in the characters' chesire cat grins.

Unlike a lot of generic and restrictive styles of anime/manga , this title is full of outlandishly varied character designs .....some are very caricaturist , but you'd be surprised even alot of the weirdo looking characters play important parts !

Secondly this Manga series has really great characterization , probably the best I've seen from a long running title.
All the main characters have a strong background story which explains the way they act and is revealed at the right time.
This gives great development and depth to the characters and make them rather more likable than your typical manga/anime stereotypes.

Another good thing about this manga is that it doesn't take it self too seriously !
It's full of weird and wacky humor which is a refreshing change, from a lot of the over-melodramatic anime/mangas that take themselves too seriously.

There are really funny times throughout this series, a lot of them come from the immature bickering from the main characters, as none of them really get along .... hehe .... which is comedy chemistry gold. Also a lot of great physical comedy and laughable expressions can be found in this title also. Especially considering the strange body morphing powers of some of the characters.

The fight scenes are very imaginative also. A lot of your typical anime/manga battles tend to consist of who can hit/cut the hardest for the longest amount of time or who has the stronger energy blasts ..... but these battles are very imaginative , as the characters have more varied powers with proper weaknesses. The main hero is a rubber man for example and the artist can do all sorts of crazy things with this character visually.

Anyway this is only the first book of many great stories and will set up the background of two of the central characters.
Upon reading the first book , you'll get the idea of the free spirit of this series and you'll most probably like it.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2004
I have to say, this is probably the best manga I ever read -probably the best manga ever made. It has been publicized as "Dragonball's heir" but, in my opinion, it has so much potential it could even surpass Toriyama's masterpiece. It has all the qualities that define a great manga and, most important af all, it's highly original.
It takes place in a well-detailed -albeit silly- world, where people can obtain super-power eating rare fruits. The main character, Monkey D. Rufy, has eaten one of those fruits that made his body just like rubber. Using his new-found power, he sets forward on a journey to become the most powerful pirate in the world. During his adventures he'll find lots of companions like Zoro the swordsman and Nami the thief, the ones appearing in the firts volume.
One Piece is more like Saiyuki than Dragonball: its main themes are adventure and friendship, not just brawling. Sure, there are fights and they are even cool -given the special fruits and their countless super powers- but they exist as part of the adventure. It's not just saving the world from the enemy-stronger enemy-even stronger one like Dragonball. One Piece will also make you feel real emotions -like Rufy's gratitude and sense of guilt towards Shanks or Zoro's resolution- and sometimes it will even make you cry.
Let me give you an advice: buy this book. Buy the second volume and even the third one -and maybe the fourth one as well. I write from Italy, where One Piece arrived first in July 2001, and right now we are around the 25th volume; One Piece starts slowly but then gradually evolves -both in style and plot- until it becomes, in one word, a masterwork. Believe me.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2010
The best manga ever

This is my favourite manga and probably the best manga of all time. It is extremely popular in Japan but criminally is ignored everywhere else. It has often been compared with Dragonball but in my opinion it surpasses Toriyama's masterpiece.

One piece follows Monkey D Luffy On his journey to obtain the legendary one piece (The treasure of the pirate king Gold Roger who had conquered the seas). The person who obtains the one piece is given the title PIRATE KING. This first volume follows Luffy as he gathers a crew to conquer the grand line (the place where the one piece is located). His first stop is a naval base town where he meets his first crewmate the swordsman Roranoa Zoro. Luffy joins with Zoro as they fight against the evil captain axe hand Morgan. By the end of the volume we meet the next crewmate the pirate thief Nami.

As a shounen manga which is mostly focused on action surprisingly one piece has great character development both Luffy and Zoro have flashbacks in this volume which really fleshes out their charcters and makes you care about them. The artwork is quirky and can take some getting used to but stick with it and you'll love it. One piece has great action whith combat sequences that are very bizarre and original with Luffy using his gum gum fruit abilities. Just to explain in one piece there is a treasure called a devils fruit this fruit gives the person who eats it a special power at the cost of never being able to swim again, Luffy ate the gum gum fruit which turns his body into rubber and he is now able to stretch. With the devils fruit we get some bizarre action and I can only imagine what other devils fruit abilities will be introduced in the future. Another thing that needs to be mentioned is that this is an incredibly funny manga and this is only magnified by the quirky art style and all the different characters with their own distinct personalities.

One piece is something that gets better with time with over 500 chapters currently it is something that has staying power this is one manga that you have got to give a chance once you have read a few chapters I'm sure you'll be hooked just as I was.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2007
As a kid, Monkey D. Luffy grew up listening to the stories of the pirate, Red haired shanks! This inspired luffy to become a pirate himself! But one fateful day, Luffy ate the gum-gum fruit, and gained the ability to stretch like rubber, at the cost of never being able to swim again! However, this didnt stop Luffy from sailing off into the unknown in a rowing boat! Using a huge amount of luck, Luffy finds himself a crew. The pirate hunter Rolanda Zolo, and the Pirate Robber Nami!

This tale is enjoyable for anyone of all ages and genders! the loveable characters and plots will have you giggleing for hours on end!

Ill close with this statement: READ THIS MANGA!!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
My one biggest complain with this Manga is the translation. Why, oh why did they have to put "Zolo"?
In the Yu-Gi-Oh! Manga they kept their original Japanese names, regardless of what 4Kids did to the Anime. I swear 4Kids main aim was to butcher Anime and Manga. Or maybe they just have a massive pet hate against Japan?

Any way, regardless of the translation, I have always found this Manga very enjoyable. It's my third time round reading it.
This volume contains chapters 1 - 8, the Making of One Piece, and a fact sheet about Eiichiro Oda.

In a nut shell, you are introduced to Shanks and his crew, Makino, Higuma Coby, Alvida, Zoro, Rika, Helmeppo, Captain Morgan, Kuina, Nami, and Buggy's pirates. There is a nice variety of characters and fights to get your teeth sunk into.
I think it's a really nice start as there is definitely comedy evident, and some some what serious fights for the more boisterous readers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2005
The Answer every time is Yes!. Quite simply put the Masterpiece creaded by Oda is something that will captivate you from the get go. From the very first moment when Luffy is hanging arouund with Red Hair Shanks and his Pirate Crew in Luffy's Home Town, Meeting up with his Crew many years later. Zorro - The Ex-bounty hunter and master of the three Sword Technique, Nami - the Theif and Navigation expert, the Mighty Man of the Sea Captain Usopp - Liar and Marksman, Sanji - the Greatest cook in all of the Seas. All aboard their legendary ship the Going Merry. All together being the Straw Hat Pirates!. the greatest Pirates of all time.
A Manga and Anime that leaves Dragonball Z in the dust. Possibly the Greatest Creation ever
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
So I wanted to comment more on the series than the chapter itself in this review. One Piece is a Japanese Shonen Manga by Eiichiro Oda that has been running since 24 December, 1997. It's considered one of the 'big 3' along with Bleach and Naruto. It is a story about Monkey D. Luffy who is seeking to acquire the treasure known as 'One Piece' which is said to contain a fortune so large, it is possible to own the world (open to interpretation). Since the revelation of a treasure so large 22 years ago, the 'Great Pirate era' has started with Pirates across the world seeking the treasure. He wears his trademark strawhat which was given to him by a dear friend. He seeks this treasure to become the 'Pirate King', a post vacated by the deceased former pirate king Gold Roger (deliberate mistake so not to spoil for new readers). Luffy has eaten something called a 'Devil Fruit'. A Devil fruit grants him a special ability to expand/stretch his body (He is made of rubber), as the story progresses you encounter more people who have eaten a devil fruit granting a range of abilities both silly, powerful and useful. But at a great cost for a Pirate/Marine (won't spoil).This manga series is very long and currently stands at 700 odd chapters, so you must be prepared to catch up.

As the title of this review suggests, the story has somewhat of a 'snowball' effect. It starts off very slow and most of the critics of the manga/anime (adaption) have most probably only read the start. But you need to persevere and carry on as it only gets better. But hey! It's not all doom and gloom, Luffy is a highly likable, naive and hilarious character and you will get many laughs I guarantee! Along the series you get to enjoy Luffy as he builds his crew, shares joy, heartbreak (I cried at 2 points in the series) and laughs as he seeks to become the Pirate King and find the 'One Piece'!

Here are the pros and cons:

Pros-
*Excellent character development!
*Hilarious!
*Likability!
*Highly original!
*References to real Pirates!
*Awesome character designs!
*Wacky super-awesome devil fruits!
*Makes you question what justice is (Are you on the side of the Marines or Pirates?!).
*Epic characters!
*Hot chicks (If you are into that thing)!
*Insane fights!
*Creative devil fruit abilities!
*Unbelievable backbone of story, very planned out, for example, in episode 5 something is planned ahead for episode 400 odd!
*Building on this is huge subplots which tie in with the story
*Interesting and easy to talk about with friends

Cons-
*Slow start
*Some people find Luffy annoying
*Luffy is a bit generic e.g. Loves food etc
*Some criticize its lack of romance/love stories (some are vague)
*Takes a while to adapt to the original art style

In conclusion, I have tried to be fair, One Piece is my favorite manga/anime! If you are skeptical about the manga, then try the anime first! One Piece (in my opinion) is the greatest manga ever made! Hilarious, original and simply awesome! Join Luffy on his adventure as he builds a crew, fights rivals, makes friends and searches for 'One Piece'! Enjoy the ride :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
I would recommend buying the 3in1 version first to see if you enjoy the series [or just buy this first volume] and the buy the boxset. It comes down to a hell of a lot cheaper (23 vols for £60), and you also get the one shot chapter that started it all :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
One Piece is a manga about a boy called Luffy, who whats to become the pirate king and find the ultimate treasure "one piece". It is a story about his journeys and adventures along the road. The adventures always keep you on the edge of your seat and this is in my opinion one of the best mangas I have read.
The story of Luffy and his nakama (friends/crew mates) is one that you will fall in love with. It will make you laugh until you can't breath, have you shouting for joy.
The characters are well written and are very likable. The bonds between them will touch you. You will grow to love them and want them to succeed in every thing they do.
I would defiantly recommend it!
The only complaint I have is that one of the characters names is spelt "Zolo" when it is meant to be spelt "Zoro" but that is just me being picky.
Over all it is a great story that I would recommend to anyone!
Hope I helped!:)
Xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
This book was really exciting to read and I loved it because it has a bunch of funny scenes. It is about a young boy called Luffy who sets of on the vast seas to become King of the Pirates and has loads of amazing battles and adventures. Simply Fabulous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse