Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
32
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2017
12 Stories is the title of the album, and it sums up what it's about. The songs on this album range from jaunty to dark to soulful, covering the full range of human experience. Disappointment, the rights and wrongs of love, poverty, hidden strength - it's all here. Brandy Clark deserves to be better known than she is. She has an incredibly expressive voice, and captures the mood of each song perfectly, expressing humour or sorrow equally well. If you like this, buy 'Big Day in a Small Town' - it's just as good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Very Good Indeed. No bad songs at all. Clearly a songwriter who puts a lot of effort in. Every song is indeed a story and her lyrics are really worth a listen. Apparently she was a Nashville songwriter for a long time before being encouraged to go it alone. Good decision, her 2nd album 'Big Day in a Small Town' is also very good but I bought that elsewhere so can't really review it here. Good videos for 'Get High' and 'Stripes' on You Tube are a good sample.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
If your into Kacey Musgraves, Kellie Pickler, or Jana Kramer, then you'll absolutely love this album. The whole album is great, no weak tracks whatsoever. Heavily Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
A terrific singer/songwriter from USA, real country sound with pedal steel, lyrics great, one artist to enjoy on your cd player
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
great Cd, she has become one of my favourites., fantastic voice and songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Good stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Only just recently heard of Brandy Clark,I was well impressed with the easy listening of this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
One of the must have albums of 2013 and an easy contender for best country album - possibly one of the best of the decade.
Brandy Clark's pure and emotive vocals narrate 12 unique stories - each one relatable even if the listener hasn't lived through the specifics. Laced with wit and comedy while at the same time painting a vivid and sometimes dark portrait of every day life. The crutches, the temptations, the thoughts that are being shrugged off as you pass by the mirror. Dave Brainard has done a sterling job producing and a team of high class musicians provide a stunning backdrop to help bring the already vivid stories even more to life.
After 15 years perfecting her sound there isn't a song on here that hasn't been carefully nursed to fruition - and the lack of external forces allow for Clark's art to shine through, unabridged and uncensored. These two major factors tied with the quality of Clark's vocals propel 12 Stories to the front of the queue of best debuts.
Can't recommend it enough - especially for people who miss the raw reality of country music at its best.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I tried this album on spec. because I loved Brandy Clark's song Follow Your Arrow on Kacey Musgraves' album Same Trailer, Different Park Same Trailer Different Park. I was prepared for it not to be very good because quite a lot of people have written one or two good songs and a lot of mediocre stuff, but I was very pleasantly surprised. This is a collection of varied, enjoyable and very well-crafted country songs which tell their stories with humour, insight and genuine pathos at times.

Brandy Clark writes good straightforward tunes and sings them well. They are very well arranged and produced here, with a fine band and just the right degree of arrangement to let each one shine in its own way. Her lyrics are very good indeed, with songs like Take A Little Pill making good, serious points about addiction and Stripes genuinely makes me tap my foot and smile (although I'd recommend that you avoid the video, which manages to drain all the dry wit from the song).

This album was a really enjoyable discovery for me. I think Brandy Clark is a genuinely talented and entertaining singer/songwriter with a rare gift for insight and wit expressed in really enjoyable melodies. I'll definitely be looking out for her future work, and recommend this very warmly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Brandy Clark is one of the artists at the forefront of a new breed of country singers that include Angaleena Presley, Ashley Monroe and Kacey Musgraves [for whom Clark wrote 'Follow Your Arrow']. This is her debut album and it shows what a strong songwriter she is I particularly enjoyed 'What'll Keep Me Out of Heaven', 'Hold My Hand' and 'The Day She Got Divorced'. The song writing shows that she has a good eye for women's lives and the problems of ordinary people on songs such as 'Take A Little Pill'. The sound is a traditional country sound not the synth almost AOR style music of Artists like Sara Evans. So in conclusion this is an excellent debut and the best country album I have heard this year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)