Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
19
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2014
By a long long way this is the Shjips' best album so far.

More musical and with more distinct 'songs' than their previous outings, without loosing their very distinctive vibe.

As others have said it's 'cleaner' and 'crisper' and, if you like your rock on the psychedelic side, well worth a listen if you're not already a fan.

Fans of Danielle Dax, Laurie Anderson, and maybe even Pink Floyd, should dip a toe on land.

Enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
I'm in my 60's and this took me back to the Seventies, with a current day edge to it.
Enjoy, cheers Mike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
Pretty pointless reading my music reviews, for all you know I've got a tin ear and a penchant for Engelbert Humperdinck. Listen to the clips and buy it if you like it.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2016
much enjoyed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
I only discovered Wooden Shjips this year after hearing on 6 music. Liked the tunes and decided to investigate. I have an earlier ep of about 6 tracks (forgotten the name sorry).This album did not dissapoint. Stand out tracks Ghouls These Shadows Other Stars. Well worth checking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
Wooden Shjips are back with another pearl! Although less distorted noises this album is hypnotizing and stimulating as hell! Slower and more silent than before, but the songs are strong and magic. Will function both as low sound carpet and played loud on your stereo!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
This album works so well for me because of its powerful simplicity. There's a refreshing lack of complexity in every track. Simple chord structures, bass lines, organ and drums. No surprise that it was recorded lock, stock and barrel in 11 days. The production is crystal clear thus suiting my taste perfectly. A previous reviewer suggested that it might appeal to those who like The Velvet Underground and Hawkwind. I agree, every time I play it I think of VU and ironically I'm not a big fan however I'm thinking I ought to revisit their music.
The CD sleeve is all paper (card). No plastic, which is a good thing imo however the inner sleeve is difficult to remove from the outer sleeve. A minor frustration................................No, actually it's B***dy annoying.
Whoops, forgot to say, there's lots of mighty fine guitar contributions by Ripley Johnson.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
great album
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
Only to Funsm or who is looking for something good to listen or to be the first WS record, ok, it will work, but who knows the band, it soinds like other records!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£14.08
£16.70

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)