Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 December 2015
Starts slowly and gains in interest all the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
Started reading this and to be perfectly honest it reads more as a political review of Elizabeths failings as a queen than a commentary on her love (?) for Essex... Leicester is pretty much sidelined - he was her original favourite before Essex. I got rather bored and deleted it from my Kindle.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
A different view of Elizabeth ! reign from the usual TV & movie presentations If you want an other view do read this.. slightly dated language but ..worth reading
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
Probably worst book I have ever read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
boring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2002
Who would have thought that an austere establishment like English Heritage would consider peddling such scandlemongery? For that's where I bought this book: after touring one of England's more stately stately homes, I thought a little dusty history would do me good, and this looked like one of those books that I "ought" to read. How gloriously wrong I was - Lytton Strachey writes high prose for sure, but he's eager to blow the cobwebs off history and show these two keystones of history - Queen Elizabeth and the Earl of Essex - in their true, scandalous, badly-behaved colours. His writing is as fresh today as it was when it was written - at times I had to remind myself that this was history, not a novel. In fact, Strachey writes such a descriptive narrative, that this is surely a book that could turn quite nicely into a film. An excellent and enjoyable wallow in Elizabethan mire. I completely recommend it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
A good insight into the politics of the Elizabethan court although not to sure how much is factual and how much is fiction. Would have preferred translation of the Latin phrases and found the passages of old English text quite hard to understand and had to read them several times.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Quite an insight into the life and loves of Elizabeth I with particular reference to the rivalry with a very young Essex and Walter Raleigh. Not the most exciting style of writing and became a bit heavy at times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
I have read this book twice. The language is rather flowery in parts. Translations of Latin into English would have helpful.
Essex was too full of himself and should never have been given titles and honours as his shown in his poor judgement of handling State matters. He did not follow the commands of Elizabeth and her government thereby wasting thousands of pounds on futile causes.

He deserved his punishment and he knew it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
I was recently involved with the Royal Opera production of Britten's opera "Gloriana" which was partly based on this book. The very different characters of Elizabeth and Essex are brought vividly to life as is a sense of the times. This all happened really not so very long ago and yet it seems to have taken place on another planet. Elizabeth and her courtiers' fear of assassination is matched by the horror of the punishments meted out to traitors, real or falsely accused. I found the fate of her physician, Dr Lopez, deeply saddening. Further reading will consist of more about Elizabeth and Lytton Strachey's books about the Victorians and others which I have obtained on Kindle.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)