Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2015
I like this album a lot. I preferred "Swing when you're winning", but this album has a great vibe to it and most of the songs are especially uplifting on grey and miserable days. There are a few dud songs, like "Snowblind" and "If I Only had a brain" (very overdone in my opinion), but on the whole a great listening experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
This is good but not as good as his "Swing when you're winning". I think it was rushed and he hoped to duplicate the success of his first swing album. I do like Robbie but was a little disappointed with this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
This is the best albumn of the year for me its fun .entertaining and typically robbie
Ive listened to it so many times already .cant wait for the tour. Xx
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
It is true this release is less swing and possesses more of a Robbie ring. Also the quality of this second swing album is not as high nor as engaging as the last. I have however given it five stars for three reasons. Firstly there are a couple of really beautiful tracks on here with lovely melodies and heart rending lyrics, neither of which are being released as singles. Secondly if you buy a Robbie Williams album after all this time you have a pretty good idea of what to expect and in this sense it doesn't disappoint at all. Thirdly, if you take a look at the one star reviews you'll note only two are written with any form of balance by individuals who have enjoyed his previous work. The rest are written by the `marmite' crowd of Robbie haters who typically used words such as `crap', `gash,' and `pap.' It gives one cause to wonder several things. Firstly, why buy the album in the first place if they expect to be so thoroughly disappointed? Two, for individuals who so often claim that anyone who appreciates what Mr Williams does must need their heads examined, their ability to critique in any insightful way that demonstrates an understanding of music is sadly lacking. Indeed the final one star review is from a gentleman that seems to think he's heard this album in French and complains purely for the reason that he can't understand it because he doesn't speak French. What?!!! No I don't get it either. So my third reason for giving five stars is to balance out some of the partially literate crappy gash pap that some have deigned to be a useful review. There is little evidence to suggest most of them even listened to the album, lest much bought it. If you like Robbie, you'll enjoy this.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Robbie and friends in a cool relaxing album with well sung easy to listen to tracks - these sort of songs suit his voice and he obviously enjoys singing this style of music.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
so, i listened to this album and the first 2 tracks are undoubtedly awesome. Brilliantly written and work great.....then it happened.

The rest of the album is a collection of "stuff" that bears little resemblance to each other. Whoever decided to put this track order together must be deaf! some newbies, some oldies but both vary so drastically in tempo and style the whole album loses its appeal. It seems this album has been manufactured for 3 singles, which are really great. the rest are not worth it.

I love the Rufus Wainwright track, but some of the original material falls flat (for me) because it's a swing track with some pretty crude language/structure.

Also, the Olly Murs track - i wanna be like you. I've just heard The Overtones version and it kills it. dead.

If it was me and you want some old swing-style great songs done well, listen to The Overtones.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
This album has a variety of old and new. I love his new tracks such as Shine My Shoes, but equally love Minnie the Moocher or a Dream A Little Dream that influenced my tastes when I was younger. This is an Album I've been waiting for since he recorded Swing When You're Winning. You can see how his father, Pete Conway also a singer, influenced his taste in music. Encore Robbie! Well done on another first class hit.Swings Both Ways [CD+DVD]Swings Both Ways (Deluxe)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 March 2014
You have to hand it to Robbie Williams. As a guy that most saw as just another boy band member he has proven to the world beyond any doubt since what a true superstar he is. Not only is the man brave he always seems to remain current, vital and to find a way of 'pushing antagonistic buttons' in people all about the place. Yet, in spite of this Robbie's glorious sense of humour also shines out from every album making each one something to listen to with a smile on your face.

'Swings Both Ways' (and in particular its hilarious title track) is quite simply classic Robbie. Mixing Williams originals with re-vamps of classic standards and adding in a healthy smattering of just the right guests this 45 odd minute album is a blast from start to finish. Sure, the first half of the set is the stronger but even the weaker tracks fit into the album project well and make this not just a cobbled together mish mash of ideas with a Jazz/Swing theme but a carefully crafted set.

The title track is the best thing on the album and is one of those records that could never fail to cheer you up. Taking the mickey out of the current ideal that all men are secretly more in touch with their feminine side than they are prepared to let on Robbie and Rufus play a fantastic double act as a right pair of Queens! Its NOT meant to offend anyone just to make them smile and Williams should be congratulated for his bravery and daring in todays P.C. world.

Equally fab (ulous daaarllinngg!) is the closer 'No One Likes A Fat Pop Star'. Again Robbie uses humour to make a very serious point and again he lyrically flies in the face of what is currently thought acceptable. Williams is turning into somewhat of the Harvey Smith/Ginger McCain of the pop world and all power to his elbow for doing so!

Elsewhere we get more typical Robbie pop/rock tunes like the arrogant sounding opener 'Shine My Shoes' but such a boastful mood is tempered by Robbies nice, emotive and (you suspect) sincere covers of classic, playful Jazz songs like 'Minnie The Moocher', 'Puttin' On The Ritz' and childlike films songs 'I Wan'na Be Like You' and 'If I Only Had A Brain'. 'Swing Supreme' is a take on 'A Love Supreme' and 'Little Green Apples' sounds like a re-write of 'It Never Rains In Southern California' to me but, hey, ho - what do I know? HA HA

Listen, you need this album in your life. Robbie Williams may be one of our most talented and enduring pop stars but he is also a damn fine songsmith and we should all enjoy him while we can.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
talk about jumping on the good ole swing band wagon nothing fresh here this has all been done sooooo much better by soooo much better artist as the ole school report must try harder or may be not try at all
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Bought the album after hearing Robbies new single, unfortunately the other tracks arent anywhere near as good, a little dissapointed, maybe it will grow on me....
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)