Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
72
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2015
best music i have heard in a long time ,and if you see them playing you can see their enjoyment to .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
5* What else to say?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Two people from different old races of people, meet and jam on, "ancient instruments".
They move from Welsh folk tunes to Senegalese tunes with ease and beauty.
Some are tunes from the 1600s Robert ap Huw manuscript, the African kora is believed to have been around since the 1500s and tunes have been handed down from Father to Son for generations
A brlliant album.
Buy it and relax to it, be moved.
Regards,
Bresail.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
I was dismayed to find one review describing this album as ideal background music for a dinner party. It requires careful, fully attentive listening on a very high quality system to appreciate just what these two brilliant musicians are doing. Their unity is quite astonishing and transports you to a different sphere. This is music with the power to transform.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
The liner notes quite rightly make the point that this is not a "relaxation tape". I find the interplay between the two instruments so exciting that I find I can't relax at all while listening - but in a good way! One of the best musical "fusions" I think I've ever come across. Beautiful!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
If you like traditional welsh folk harp music in the Catrin Finch style and the sound of the kora (African plucked string instrument) played by Seckou Keita you will love this CD. What makes this special is how Catrin and Seckou have assimilated each others musical tradition to produce a unique musical sound.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
The blend of instruments and the complexity and subtlety of the playing are simply staggering. Although it could be used as pleasant background music, it deserves attentive listening in order to fully appreciate the magic and beauty of this unusual pairing. Hard to believe that anyone would not be delighted with this album!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
I think it is unusual for a classically trained musician to play folk or “ethnic” music with passion and conviction. The only other collaboration involving the kora and a traditional “Western” instrument I have listened to is that between Ballake Sissoko (kora) and Vincent Segal (cello). While their album Chamber Music is interesting and enjoyable, I find Clychau Dibon utterly captivating. The rhythmical repetitions and slow, ornamented melodies are hypnotically absorbing.

This music can be put on as relaxing sonic wallpaper, but that does not do it justice. I had the good fortune to see these two great musicians perform live at Folk By The Oak yesterday. Many, many people came down to the stage and stood in motionless and captivated silence as they watched the interplay and listened to waves of pure music. This is joyful music, yet it can be as demanding as you want it to be, depending on how deeply you let yourself be lost inside it.

Buy. Now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It’s rare for a classically trained musician of such high calibre as Catrin Finch to demonstrate the ability to be completely at home with ethnic folk music, but the Welsh harpist seems in her element in this series of duets with Senegalese kora player Seckou Keita.

The collaboration between these two fine musicians brings to mind that of the late Ali Farka Touré and Toumani Diabaté in their sublime sessions of complex musical interplay as on Grammy winner ‘In the Heart of the Moon’. Why does West Africa – particularly Mali and Senegal – produce so many gifted & highly creative musicians?

Superficially ‘Clychau Dibon’ may seem like relaxing, ambient background music, but this doesn’t do it justice. Attentive listening is soon rewarded as the masterful synergy between Finch’s harp and Kita’s kora weave subtle melodic patterns which will captivate your soul.

This is wonderful, rich, deep, intelligent music, with a surprisingly light touch. If you buy it you’re unlikely to regret the purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
I had the good fortune to attend their concert last year, a truly magical evening. Often concerts are better than cd's, but this is a wonderful cd capturing a live performance of two masters of their instruments totally in tune with each other. If you love beautiful happy music, buy this.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99
£7.99
£7.99
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)