Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
84
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 November 2013
It seems that David Attenborough and the team he works with at Sky, are at the forefront of 3D documentary filming and this is another in a series of high quality film packages on Blu Ray. Attenborough brings his own unique style of commentary but also a commitment to high standards in terms of scientific rigour and quality of images.

Throughout, the photography is stunning and the 3D footage in HD, adds to the overall experience. It feels like you are following the presenter, while he explains how the Galapagos demonstrate the inexorable process of evolution and adaptation in flora and fauna.

Apart from the 3D nature footage, there are many models and maps, created in 3D, to show the currents of winds that intersect here and the situation underneath the islands, as the magma flows into a hotspot that creates volcanoes. We also get to see amazing film of microscopic animals in 3D and there are 3D models of animals, showing how they have adapted from the creatures that first arrived at these isolated islands. So you can see a demonstration of how Penguins have changed shape and Cormorants lost their wings, for example.

All of these wonderful images go to enliven the scientific 'story' that David Attenborough tells us of how islands emerged from the sea and were populated by floating insects and lizards, as well as birds and seeds from small plants - although not trees. The lack of trees and mammalian predators lead to the unique evolution of species and diversity on the Galapagos.

Overall, we get 3 separate full-length programmes and a 50 minute "making of" film, totalling 220 minutes of 3D or HD - great value, considering the shortness of some IMAX films presented as a single Blu Ray disc. Sound is excellent in surround or stereo, with a full orchestral score that adds to the whole soundtrack, as you would expect in a high class documentary from the BBC - although this is of course the Sky 3D team, who gave us Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D),The Penguin King 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu Ray) and so on.

If you are interested in 3D nature documentaries, this is a "must have" and a top recommendation on every consideration.
1111 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
The film work and pictures are stunning, and the footage and commentary was everything I expected it to be!

However, as a hard of hearing person, I was disappointed that there were no subtitles available on the DVD! I have given it four stars for this reason.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an excellent Blu- Ray disc in terms of both content and technical production.

As ever David Atteborough's soothing voice opens up all sorts of wonders of the Galápagos Islands which seems to be a real world "Jurassic Park" abounding with unique species. There's plenty of educational value here too.

Apart from the documentary content I bought this disc to try out a new Panasonic Blu-Ray player and the 3D effects are stunning - this is the disc I'd use to showcase the format. The sound is also excellent.

In summary, this Blu- Ray disc delivers in terms of content as well as demonstrating the 3D Blu-Ray format to full advantage. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Galapagos, a ''Place of Wonders'' as Attemborough says...

Origins, Adaptation and Evolution in 3 Episodes and still 50 minutes of a 'sugestive' 'making-off'.

Computer Models, X-Ray and Sattelite Images, help our understanding of the 'Birth' (Origins) Geological changes and 'metamorfose' (Evolution) of Its inhabitantes. Help us to understand how Its privileged position in the Pacific Ocean and the unique confluence of Currents help the extraordinary development of the various types of Life.

All these Islands ( over 16 ) are Volcanos, some dormant some active and 6 were chosen to film this Series: Isabella. Alceda, Fernandina, Sta. Cruz, Española and Tortuga, each one with a specific Geology and Life.

After following Sir David's Programs for 20 years with no reason to question the superb quality of all them, I feel extremely unpleasant considering this version of Galapagos a ''dejà vu''...
Everything is ( as always was ) very well written and presented by Attenborough, but for those like me who have the 2006 BBC remarkable Blu-ray Documentary ''Galapagos the Islands that changed the World'', this version in terms of contents has very few inovation...
Of course Sir David knew it well! I'm sure his purpose was not to 'reply' anything ( He doesn't need it...) but to achieve the dream of building the first 3D Documentary about Galapagos!
He made it and made it well! He...and his Sky Team! Hard work indeed in such terrain and I hardly suggest everyone not to miss the 'Making-off'.
Still speaking about contents, there are only 4 new details to consider:
In Isabella, something very sad and intriging to Science is happening protagonized by Giant Tortoises, and one more type of Iguana was discovered living in borroughs in the remote areas of the Volcano. A very 'charming' Pink Iguana...
In Sta. Cruz, a handful of new arrivals to Science live inside the Lava Tubes of its Subterranean Worlds. Some Biologists give us a fresh 'panorama' of these new Species most of them thriving in complete darkness.
At last, the death of ''Lonsome George'' the eldest Giant Tortoise and Ícone of Galapagos, over two weeks after the end of the filmaking. It seems He knew this was the last chance to say good bye to Us and to Sir David, who was side by side with Him.

The DVD has not an appealing Image but as I don't know the Bluray I can only guess it must be better!
And the rest... is 3D...
Enjoy it

Anyway, for those who don't know the 2006 BBC Doc I have to insist : don't miss it...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
I was very happy with this series. i already thought it would be good, but i was blown away. the images are awesome. and it has that old school david attenborough style meaning he talks you through the evolution of the islands and the animals on it. starting with how the islands were created, how the animals got there and the gradual process of evolution. you see attenborough also very often like in his old life series. i was very happy with that. its one of my favorite nature docs among the about 200 nature doc dvds i own.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 September 2014
This is a wonderful Blu-ray. It contains both the documentaries, and the stories about how they made the documentaries, including instances where part of the crew were stranded in a remote area with no water when the helicopter developed a fault. It really makes you think about what the teams go through to make these films.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Yet again Attenborough weaves his magic to bring breathtaking natural beauty to our homes.
Watching this disc made it look just like my 3d tv was a window onto the shores of the Galapagos themselves.
The filming was professional, the scripting well done and the result was awesome.
Lovers of the natural world should not miss this disc.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
I had been thinking about buying this for some time and I finally won myself over and bought it. I truly believe that David Attenborough adds true value to a wildlife documentary. This one is no different. If you don't already have this, then please get it. You will appreciate the fact that I enticed you to do so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Another extraordinary show... I hope Sir David keeps making this stuff until he's 143 or something.

There's a PINK iguana there, LOL. I've seen hundreds of nature shows and yet they still manage to surprise me from time to time.

No captioning...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
Again David Attenborough at his best. Brilliant documentary film about Galapagos islands. Excellent camera and 3D effects. Absolutely five stars.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)