Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
48
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
Spike lee was a great movie maker, this covers race topics, discrimination in and out of the work place whilst showing that everyone is trying in someway shape or form to improve or do the right thing.great watch and insight to others from others perspectives. I'd recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
A blazing hot day in Bedford Stuyvesant and racial tension turns to violence, brilliant film, great cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Great old film was good to see it again..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2009
I purchased this film just out of curiosity and of course like everyone else I was totally blown away by it. I consider it to be one the best films ever made and it is one of my favourite films. In short this film is totally mesmerising, powerful and incredibly important. Everything about the film just oozes confidence and daring. It is certainly not a film that suffers from a lack of imagination. This film is Lee's exposition on race and racial tension. I think ultimately that this is movie grounded in reality - no matter how PC people are they are sometimes just plain racists hiding behind smiles and that racism bubbling under the surface of polite society can explode at any moment.

Throughout the plot Lee explores the dynamics of a community in which different races have been living together for a long time and outwardly tolerating each other. However, long running issues such as economic deprivation, power struggles, questions of status, questions of responsibility, questions of history have been left unresolved and so manifest themselves in the form of racism. As well as this the inhabitants of Bed-Stuy (where the film is set) have shied away from the glaring fact that they are all different but they live alongside one another. Bed-Stuy is shown as a ticking time bomb whose time to detonate has come - on a maddeningly HOT day.

The acting performances can't be praised enough. Everyone from Lee (who plays Mookie) to Aiello (who plays Sal) to Perez (who plays Tina) to Nunn (who plays Radio Raheem) gives a cool and assured performance. I personally like Jackson's character, Mister Senor Love Daddy, a DJ-cum-philosopher who communicates his worldview over the airwaves.

The production is quirky and fresh. Every scene is vibrant and visceral.

To say that the dialogue is second to none is not an exaggeration. It is partly the dialogue that makes this film so outstanding. It's witty, intelligent and disconcerting. This movie makes you think really hard about your own prejudices.

The soundtrack is very important as the opening of the film makes very clear. Public Enemy is used to great effect.

By the close of the film two arguments are presented, one for the use of violence as self defence (Malcolm X) and one for non-violence (Martin L.King). I don't believe that Lee is claiming that either ideological viewpoint is right or that it should be used as a rule. I think that he is challenging the viewer into asking "What is the right thing?"

This is a key movie that deserves to be seen.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
Three good movies in one. Worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2016
Great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2017
RECEIVED THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2016
Very speedy delivery, quality looks good, not yet opened as a Christmas present. Very impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
It is good product ,but service it is the best ,
Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)