Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
541
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2017
Not a patch on Cars even though they share the same universe. This is Disney's own attempt at producing a spin-off movie from Pixar's Cars franchise. Whereas Cars is an engaging movie with plenty of characters to connect with. My two year old son loves it and will watch it again and again constantly engaging in the different on screen relationships. Planes on other hand has a similarly structured storyline, but the characters are not very well developed. My boy just stared at it whereas he gets animated watching cars. We switched it off after half an hour without caring what would happen next. My little boy did not react and went off to play. Save your pennies for something good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
How an itty-bitty crop duster plane wins hearts,minds and...,races ?
I was 'tricked' into buying this DVD by the preview of a prop plane taking off from a battleship.
What I expected I didn't know,but it sure wasn't what followed.Good animation though.
I like the idea of mini forklifts being 'carried' over from the Cars movie,they're good minions,etc.
They certainly help sell how changes and maintenance 'occur' to machines.I guess they're here to stay.
The comic turns of the Mexican plane are very entertaining and reminded me of the film Despicable Me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
I bought this movie primarily for the 3d.

Ok, the movie has nice characters and a rather pleasing storyline, but it is defintely aimed at a younger audience than the cars movies. It's biggest selling point is that John lasseter..the Pixar guy helped write/produce the story so there are some nice touches. But it's certainly no Pixar production. This could be due to it originally being sculpted as a straight to dvd/home movie release.

Ok... Now the 3d. Honestly it isn't great... The movie looks rather flat and unrendered, with the of exception of when is snowing or the rain/sea storm scenes. The rest is rather disappointing. This could be due to it not actually being made in 3d perhaps and it being added as an after thought. But I believe all Disney produced movies do this most likely as a way to save prediction costs.

If you're buying for small kids, im pretty sure they'll enjoy it, but as an adult and big time animation addict I was very disappointed. The Voice acting is rather good, but it lacks the tongue in cheek appeal like cars did and other Pixar movies.

It is however very watchable but almost like a copy of the first cars movie on premise (if you replace planes for cars). Pretty much the same story but everything including the characters come across as rather one dimensional, such a shame as it really could've been something as special.

I've given a 3 star as I do love Disney and I love animation, but it just lacked that special Disney essence, again probably because it's really a TV movie as opposed to a big release cinema production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Good value for money.
Good quality item.
Nice packaging.
Fully recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Good product, as described, very good price, very quick delivery, would use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Great film,
Funny,sad and family tv time,
We enjoyed it,rocky type film i call it
Fall down then become a national icon
Could of been more of a story line.
Maybe we should all try and do a film
From amazon experience reviews lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2017
Great dvd, brilliant bluray quality. Good all round family film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Really good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
The kids love it. It's a lifesaver for those rainy sunday afternoons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Great little film. Grandchildren aged 10 and 7 both enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)