Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 January 2014
The Plob books are nothing like any comedy fantasy I have read before. Plob is a wizard in training and really can do magic, his master is even more powerful. The dragons really do fly and spit fire, the warriors really can fight, the maidens are all beautiful and have proper personalities, the evil characters really are merciless, cruel and, err, evil. Just like any other fantasy book. Now imagine the story as it might be told by a stand-up comic on a boozy Saturday night in your local pub, with constant asides, characters and places with silly names, lashings of toilet humour. Now you've got some idea what the Plob trilogy is like. But only some idea, you have to experience it to understand it. I'm glad I did!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Plob is great. Biggest is better. But the pick of comedy heroes must be - Stanley. No spoiler alerts here, so I won't tell you who is who and why. But trust me...this is comic gold. Not only is the genre itself pulled apart with vigour, so are current day politics, political awareness and...ummm...other things. Buy it, read it and read it some more...it's quite long - over six hundred pages.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
and having finished the first, was easily pleased to be able to continue the saga at the press of a page button.
I did laugh openly at some points and was relieved to find, when looking around, I was at home and not in a Doctors waiting room surrounded by people to Ill to have humour.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
All the humour of Prachett, Adams et al.
Well written and imaginative story
Also read the forever man which is just as good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Zerf’s Plob books get better and better. You can see the author growing in stature as you read this trilogy. Funny, witty and acerbic these books are a must read. I have noticed a couple of low star ratings (not many) and must assume that Plob is a Love or Hate thing. Either that or some people have had a tragic Sense of Humour lobotomy! Please keep the flow of funny going. Bring on the next trilogy ASAP.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Craig Zerf’s Plob books are a bit of a test of intelligence. If you get the jokes and the obvious clichés that have been thrown into the mix in order to poke fun…well, then you will find these books hilarious. However, if you miss the point and look on these novels as a serious work of fantasy – well, more fool you. I am a huge fan and cannot wait until the next book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Not only is this exceptionally funny but it is also unbelievably good value. Fast thinking and subversive, this is humour for the quick-witted. Proper English wit and Prachettesque type plot lines. It is interesting to note how Zerf grows as a writer over the course of theses three books. The first is written with tongue firmly in cheek and the next two become far more deep thinking and layered. I cannot recommend this too highly - a thinking mans fantasy book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I can’t think of enough similes for the word Humour. Zerf is all of them, Funny, hilarious, amusing, comedic, droll, witty, and so much more. Through some insight and some heavy-handed social commentary and you have a trilogy of thoroughly entertaining good fun novels.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Humor here, humor there, humor everywhere!

These books were spectacular, a right gag-a-minute fest. But it wasn't all, 'nurse-nurse' there was a lot of skillful wordplay and social commentary as well.

I recommend this to all fans of Pratchett, Tom Holt, Rankin and Douglas Adams. Clever, well thought out comedy and well deserving of all of its awards.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
These three books are possibly the most frustrating novels I have ever read. Not because of the plot (action-packed and full of silliness - exactly the sort of thing you would expect from books like this). Not because of the humour (brilliantly funny, both highbrow and lowbrow, excellent asides to the reader, jokes which come thick and fast and nine times out of ten hit the mark.) No, the problem I have is with the editing/proof-reading or, more precisely, the lack of it. I would estimate a good 70% of the pages had some sort of mistake upon them, be it grammatical, spelling or simply the completely wrong word being used (except rather than accept being one example which springs to mind). There were points where the mistakes were so glaring that it actually spoilt the flow of the book itself and that cannot be good. What is more frustrating is that these books have actually won the BBC Readers Choice Award! I presume they were unplaced in the BBC Spellers Choice Awards! Such a shame. They are funny though and, if you can get past the errors, worth a read because they will make you laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse