Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
118
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
105
4 star
13
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2013
An absolute must for fans of early Genesis music. I was lucky enough to see this how in Cambridge and i was completely blown away ! The DVD captures the concert perfectly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Just brilliant. The whole package is first class with brilliantly performed material and at a very good price. If you liked Genesis Revisited II you'll love this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
I must admit that this box set is quite superb, 5 discs in total. 3 CDs and 2 DVDs. Fantastic value, just wish they made a BluRay disc version as picture quality is ok, but bluray picture and sound quality would have been sumptuous. The gig is absolutely brilliant, loved it, played it several times already and downloaded a couple of early Genesis albums as a result. Loved the early Genesis stuff, fell away massively after Hackett was forced out. All in all a great souvenier of a fantastic gig, just wish i'd gone to see them up on the northern leg of their tour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
With a quality band behind him Steve Hackett brings the mood of the original Genesis back to life ! Really enjoyed the DVD too. A must for all old Genesis fans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Whilst there is no getting away from the fact this is directly aimed at us 50-somethings, this is a tremendous record of a musician (and musicians) at the top of their form. You cannot ignore the quality of the songs, nor the nostalgic rose tint that surrounds them, but that does not diminish in any way the quality of the performance from Steve and his band. Personally, I am not too worried about the DVD - I have looked on that as a "freebie" (I find concert DVDs are usually quite dull, generally lacking the atmosphere of being there, so No, I don't consider them a substitute for being able to go to the concert) - but the concert spread over 3 discs - unusual these days when most concerts can be squeezed on to 2 and I only recall Yes as being the only band to ever release a triple live album (I'll wait for the torrents of replies telling me to look at this or that release) - is simply superb! What a great present for anyone who likes Genesis from the 70's, Steve Hackett (from anytime) or just enjoys quality guitar-playing (sorry, Steve, never seen you as a "Axe-man"). Superb! Buy it!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
I wasn't sure at first when I heard that Steve Hackett was revisiting Genesis. On listening and watching the DVD's, he has done a superb job of it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
brought as a present for a family member. if your into early genesis you won't be disappointed.since hearing it im hoping for a copy myself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
This was one of the best concerts I've ever seen so to have it on DVD to watch over and over is fantastic. It was technically superb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
Purchased this item in early December. There was a time when this item, dropped as low as 9.16 quids :).

1. This set list could be considered as "Almost Greatest Hits Live from Genesis 71-77" era, which contains most of their beloved songs : Dancing with The Moonlit Knight, Afterglow, Suppers Ready. There are also surprise songs which is rarely performed live by Genesis ( CMIIW ): Eleventh Earl of Mar, The Lamia. There is also, Shadow of The Hierophant, beautifully sung by Amanda Lehman. The last one composed together with Mike Rutherford, so it is justifiably included. Hackett called Nad Sylvan as lead vocals on most songs, which he is up to the task, his vocals is between Collins and Gabriel. He is theatrical in his own. Hackett also invited Nik Kershaw ( remember him?) on The Lamia and John Wetton on Afterglow. Too bad Cinema Show, Lamb Lies Down and Squonk is not included, but the other classics make it to the list such as : Firth of Fifth, Musical Box, I Know What I Like, Entangled ( my fave !) and the ultimate closer: Los Endos.
2. The band did not try to give new drastic interpretations on these classic songs, but rather they play it close to the original arrangements, however, in some parts, Hackett give some nice touches through some improvisations.
3. This is not essential, but if you are a big fan of 71-77 Genesis era (lets call it, Hackett era, rather than Gabriel or Collins era ), do yourself a favor, buy this one.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
This is a truly fantastic album. The DVDs are a real bonus.
This album reminded me just how brilliant early Genesis music is!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)