Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Play it Cool [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 February 2014
Just wanted to say this new release today 12 February 2014, a new transfer from original cleaned film stock, is much better quality both in sound and picture, and it makes it much more enjoyable to watch.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2017
The storyline is somewhat unbelievable and the acting is limited but that isn't the point of this film. It was a vehicle for Billy Fury featuring other major stars from the era including Helen Shapiro, Bobby Vee and Danny Williams. The quality of the print and sound was excellent, far better than I was expecting. An over the top cameo from Bernie Winters towards the end of the film, but as there is so little of the choochy face available it was nice to see anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2013
About time Billy's the greatest Ive waited a long time for this to come out can we also have Ive Gotta Horse on DVD please.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
An excellant film directed by Micheal Winner showing Billy at his best. Aslo featuring Helen ,lBobby Vee.Some great songs from Billy Fury and other artists.Picture is full 16.9 and of excellant quality and quality sound.A great film to watch and a must for fans of this music era.Can't get any better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2015
Bought purely for its 1960s musical nostalgia value. Silly story and script but the songs are worth hearing, and nice to see brief appearances by Helen Shapiro and Bobby Vee. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. Billy Fury was a great British musical talent who sadly died far too young.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2014
A perfect slice of pre Beatle Britain. Billy Fury - admittedly not the greatest of actors - but without any doubt the most exciting UK singing star of the generation. A film not to be taken seriously but enjoyed for what it is - a musical romp around 1960's London in an age of relative innocence. Steam trains, pop stars,a deserted looking Gatwick Airport and Billy Fury ! - what more could you ask for?

The Network DVD is a gem - unlike previous inferior releases. Great picture, sound and extras! - and at a very good price.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2014
I've had the vhs copy for years and the DVD picture is of the same brilliant clarity as the original. However the DVD has been copied from this and not from the original 35mm film track. I know this as the soundtrack has what is called 'bumping'.It is caused when VHS tapes were copied really quickly from the original source and creates this bumping sound over the soundtrack. However it is of a low frequency and not everyone can hear it but very irritating if you do. I and several other people I know could hear it on all vhs pre recorded tapes. It was disappointing as I have waited a long time for the DVD to eliminate this effect. Still a great film if you were a fan in the 60s.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2015
This is a very good dvd and if you are a fan of Billy Fury the you will definitely enjoy this. The songs are nice and with different singers this dvd makes it all the more enjoyable. I thoroughly recommend this dvd.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2014
Fun 1960s Billy Fury Musical. Anglo Amalgamated's Play it Cool still has it's charm today. Lovely to see Helen Shapiro singing a couple of numbers. The widescreen B&W photography comes across sharp & good sound quality. Network DVD are doing a good job in releasing these vintage films. Still waiting for Billy Fury's other musical (I've Gotta Horse) to be released.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2015
ITEM ARRIVED IN GOOD TIME AND ORDER. I ALREADY HAD THE VINYL EP ISSUED AT THE TIME BUT NEVER GOT TO SEE THE FILM - NOW AT LAST I HAVE AND IT WAS WORTH THE WAIT. IT IS JUST A PITY THAT BILLY FURY PASSED AWAY SO YOUNG.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)