Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2013
Leyla McCalla is a prodigious talent. The fact that last year's Carolina Chocolate Drops album was by far their most successful to date was in no small part due to the arrival of Leyla McCalla and her wonderful cello work (as well as Buddy Miller's natural production). With the self-produced `Vari-Colored Songs' Leyla steps assuredly into the spotlight.

The album is subtitled as `A tribute to Langton Hughes', the prolific African American poet, playwright and novelist. The material includes music written to Hughes' poetry, Haitian folk songs as well as Leyla's original songs. The performances are all acoustic, featuring a small group of players (including Rhiannnon Giddens and Hubby Jenkins of the Chocolate Drops) but often simply duos or solo. Chocolate Drops fans will appreciate the Jazz, Blues and Old-time country influences here, but by drawing heavily on her Caribbean and Creole heritage Leyla is also bringing something fresh to the party. This is a stunning, contemporary and yet timeless recording (the first of many I hope).

I should also mention that the CD is beautifully presented with photos, lyrics and notes. I purchased an advance copy during Leyla's recent UK tour with Rhiannon Giddens.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
I first came across Leyla McCalla when I went to see the Carolina Chocolate Drops as was a member of the band, they were amazing and so is this album. The songs are very beautiful to listen to and the album has been played repeatedly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Another Kickstarter project (like Valerie June). This is an extraordinary recording that captures the spirit of Langston Hughes so well. Ms McCalla (Carolina Chocolate Drops, a project in reviving Black Appalachian folk music) has emerged as a leader in what we can call the new African diaspora folk music movement, which brings rich traditions (in this case from Black Southern and French Caribbean traditions that was recognized by Hughes, Alan Lomax, and their generation of scholars and creative artists.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
I am totally excited by the album "Vari-Colored Songs". Leyla sings with feeling, but completely relaxed. Less accompanying instruments offers more space and strength to her voice. Her play on cello is also interesting. Each song on this album is a little gem and distinctive in its style and mood – truly “vari-colored”. Personally I like the most fragile "Mesi Bondye", "Love Again Blues" in the style of Tom Waits, Leonard Cohen or early Tim Buckley, "Rose Marie" played with the members of Carolina Chocolate Drops and the exceptional final song "Changing Tide". One of the best CD I have and I'm looking forward to another musical contribution from this amazing artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
Just heard Rose Marie by Leyla McCalla on a British Airways flight from Moscow. It was on Mick Jagger Playlist and just purchased the MP3.

With its driving rhythms, slick Caribbean Sounding vocals, Rose Marie is absolutely Great. Appears on the album - Vari-Colored Songs

Must get the Album

Erroleon
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Mmmmmmmmm: nice to hear her voice, nice to hear her banjo or cello, wonderful music. A pleasure to hear this artist.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
This was bought on the strength of a recommendation & a You Tube clip.
I must say I was not disappointed the CD is varied with some very strong songs, I nearly gave it 5 stars but felt what if the next ones better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Some beautiful tunes from Leyla McCalla which go really well with Hughes's words. If you have never heard anyone strumming their cello like a guitar, just listen to the first song!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Nothing quite like the feel of this wondrous cornucopia of roots music from a passionate and brilliantly authentic musical voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I bought this on impulse after reading a review in the Observer - every time I listen to it, I enjoy it even more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here