Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
29
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2005
When this program originally started all of my friends said it was brilliant and that i should watch it but i wouldn't, i thought it didn't look very good and the idea of filming it in 'real time'(every episode is an hour of the day,every series is one day)wasn't a very good idea.Until recently when i flicked over to BBC 1 and it was on, i sat down and watched the first two episodes of this season and i was immediatly hooked i couldnt wait till the next week to see what happend next so i went out and bought the season on dvd and i because i was so hooked i watched all 24 episodes in 2 days! it is brilliant!!!!
The extras are also quite good as well they include an alternative ending which is quite good it also shows you a season 2 teaser ad an exclusive season 1 introduction by Kiefer Sutherland(Jack Bauer).
The season starts off at midnight on the day of the californian presidential primary, Jack Bauer (played by Kiefer Sutherland) head of the los angeles CTU,has just finished a chess game with his daughter Kimberly(Elisha Cuthbert). But the cozy family moment is shattered when Kimberly disappears out of her bedroom window.Before Jack can go look for her he is called in to the office to deal with a sudden emergency,leaving his wife Teri(Leslie Hope) to track down thier daughter.The night only gets worse when Jack learns an assasination attempt will be made on presidential candidate senator Palmer(Dennis Haysbert)within the next 24 hours.As Jack and his team rush to discover who is behind the assasination attempt.Teri tries to locate Kimberly-whose night of partying has suddenly turned into a struggle for her very survival!!
Because of the great story line and how every episode leaves you wanting more i would reccomend 24 season 1 to anybody.
Hope this review helps!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
I watched this over several weeks on Amazon Prime and was gripped from the start. One of the best TV dramas I have seen. Fast moving, loads of plots twists and and edge of your seat ending! Be warned....once you star watching you will lose 24 hours of your life!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
It wasn't terrible, but it was far from great. The main problem was it was too long. It took Jack's six hour story and Palmer's two hour story and added sixteen more of filler. Yes I know it's meant to be in 'real time', but the reason no-one committed themselves to a full day (because real-time films and television plays have been done before) is because the pace cannot be maintained.
A secondary problem was the principle characters, of them I only cared about Palmer; Jack's wife was a horrid women and his daughter a self absorbed brat; Palmer's wife a harpy and two dimensional children. The second string and supporting characters were unable to perform any task. Stupid decisions were repeatedly make so as to milk more out of the story.
Concept, plot and production good. Execution bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
This season is full of twists and surprises - and a lot of violence. It's certainly addictive as we're drawn into Jack's attempts to find his daughter while avoiding giving in to the demands of her captors. Don't expect the plot or the characters to make complete sense. Watching it again, the clues of character duplicity simply weren't there - because the writers made it up as they went along - and so some plot points didn't hang together, but that doesn't really spoil it, especially not on a first viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
When 24 first came out in 2001 I was hooked. I watched every episode, but unfortunately, missed one or two in the teen section. It has been so great watching the whole series on catch-up over a few days. I found this series just as enjoyable as the first time around. Considering it was one of the first for spy thriller modern day TV series dramas, it is just as good as what's on now. I'm not sure things have improved much since 24 was written - except the size of mobile phones - ha ha!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
That said, I thoroughly love 24 as a whole, but series six and eight were quite lacking. This is why I'm surprised to see that both of them, especially the commonly panned series (six) are rated higher than series one in these reviews. This first series stands out from the rest since there is a higher focus on drama than action. In part, I believe this is due to Jack's humanity degrading as the show goes on over the different series. You rarely see Jack as a mass killing machine in this first series, but the story is enough to keep you on the edge of your seat.

This story revolves around the presidential candidate David Palmer who the government agency CTU has been notified will have a potential assassination attempt at some point within the current day. (The show starts at 12AM.) Each hour is packed into forty minutes, of course the extra twenty originally being advertisement breaks on TV. (A commonly unknown trivia fact is that the first couple of series that were shown on BBC actually had some extra scenes put in as BBC obviously doesn't have adverts. Sadly, they aren't present here.) Within the first hour, agent Jack Bauer's daughter Kim sneaks out of the house to go to a party with a friend. This, and the assassination attempt spiral into a series of events that make the following twenty-four hours the longest and most painful in Jack's life.

In short, if you want an engaging story, you'll enjoy this a lot. I like the most recent 24 series but if you're more of an all-guns-blazing action fan you might like them more. Personally, it goes 1 > 3 > 5 > 7 > 4 > 9 > 2 > 6 > 8 for me!
Also, as a bonus, it's in HD on Amazon Instant Video! I've waited for this for so long in HD and it's really made my day to see it available now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Great combination of political, personal drama and action. The evolving professional and personal relationship between the president and Jack Bauer makes this really satisfying: the the best agent and the most powerful man respecting and trusting each other. It is especially satisfying the that the plot goes big: not just an average terrorist plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
It's not all that, pretty generic.

I'm just not really sucked in after 3 episodes, and it's just not that great. Alias was a little more genre, had a little more emotional depth, and a little more fun, and came out at the same time. I'd say that if you have a choice? Watch Alias ... it's the making of JJ Abrams, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
If anyone asks, 24 started it all. 24 was a simple idea full of plot holes and overacting but still as entertaining as anything you are likely to see on the big screen, a plot that is so incredibly over the top but still holds your attention throughout. The acting ranges from silver screen worthy to laughably bad but it still demands to be seen. A brilliant action thriller executed really well and a great introduction to one of televisions greatest series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I think this is a great show - Plenty of twists to keep you guessing.

Will be watching more. !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£14.99
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)