Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2013
This first time novel is well worth a read. Great story from someone who really knows the planes, environment and politics integral to the plot.
Lots of technical plane bits for the real enthusiasts. Not such a cockpit buff? - you can skim read those bits and still enjoy the story. I did.
If you love intriguing plots, planes and the Air Force you can't miss this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
An excellent work of fiction, fast paced, enjoyable - not too much technical slang to confuse - just enough to convince you that it's right. Not sure if it's the kindle formatting but the cuts between the various scenes were a bit abrupt and the ending was disappointing - almost like it ran out of steam.

I am looking forward to the next book with eager anticipation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Brilliantly captures what it's like to serve on an RAF fast-jet interceptor squadron during the late Cold War. As a pilot myself (albeit non-military), I found it very refreshing to read a novel by someone who has clearly spent many an hour in the cockpit of a fast jet. The flying sequences were believable and fascinating: and captured in brilliant detail just what goes into flying a jet fighter in high speed air combat: not just the 'fur balls' of close-range engagement, but also the four-ship combat air patrol, beyond visual range tactics, and even the complex geometry of ground-controlled interception and acquisition that most observers take for granted. The author even manages to make exciting simulated NATO air combat exercises where live rounds are not even firing! I also know for a fact that the Radio-Telephony procedures are authentic, because they comply with CAA standards (though obviously cannot comment on the Soviet procedures which are clearly different). The story-line itself was also quite believable, and is loosely based on an incident in 1976 when Soviet pilot Victor Belenko defected to the West via Japan in a then-revolutionary MiG 25 'Foxbat'. Other sequences are also clearly drawn from amalgamation of stories from squadron life and "what-if" and "what-would-you-have-done-if" scenarios that often arise in exercises or just discussions with other experts. My only criticism was that the ending was a bit sudden and disappointing, but I gave it 5 stars anyway for its quality. All in all: can't wait to read your other titles, Mr Gledhill!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Having been posted to Wildenrath during the period the story was set in I can relate to the whole story. It is a well set out plot and the flying sequences are excellent. I can see the QRA scramble as if I was there again!!

Well recommended
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Brilliant jaunt into the world of fiction by a former RAF flyer. It's like James Bond with jet fighters ! The book has something for everyone really , loads of tech about operating jets in the military of course but well broken up between a Cold War spy thriller. Fabulous stuff !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
As someone involved with the time span described in the book, I enjoyed it on the whole apart from the obvious inaccuracy where the army is responsible for defence of operational RAF airfields. This role was and is that of the RAF Regiment, and as a Son of my my friends who served in in this fine unit died died in the service of our country I suggest the author checks his history and gives credit to the Regiment.
66 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Reading this book you could sometimes think this was actually happening. The detail of the action in the cockpit was excellent and obviously written with great knowledge. The story telling was tense and fast moving. No dull areas. A brilliant read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
excellent book - you can't beat words from an expert - We live in a different era now but this captures the Cold War to perfection - Dave has a great style and as an aviator he "Revs it up a bit" to keep you captivated - great work
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
As a lad back in the 70's I loved Phantoms. This book covers the cold war Germany, spying, defection and subplots that meant I couldn't put my Kindle down. I think I will re-read this book several times. I'm now reading the second book in the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Excelent.... A must read for everyone that was involved during the cold war. i would also suggest that it should be read in secondary schools as to what really happened during the cold war.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse