Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 5 October 2012
There can be nobody prouder than a father and raconteur (Mike Tickell) witnessing his daughter entertaining an audience from centre stage and in this case the daughter (Kathryn Tickell) vice-versa. That much is obvious from the camaraderie of everyone involved on this wonderfully crafted 2-disk set from those very fine chaps at Park Records. Now, where do you place a recording that would comfortably settle on either an audio book or music CD shelf? Well, for me it sits alongside my previous recordings of her albums of which I profess to own most of them. Although internationally recognised for her achievements in `folk' music circles as one of its major driving forces when it comes to her native Northumbria this beautiful part of the North-East couldn't find a better ambassador. After sifting through many old cassettes Kathryn had the unenviable task of selecting certain recordings that represented her friends, family and neighbours. With respect, that part of the process must have been made easy as all involved impart their wit and wisdom with such convivial jocularity that you'll wish you could have been there in person. For those of us lucky enough to witness the `Border Shepherds' (Willie Taylor, Will Atkinson and Joe Hutton) in the early 80's have much to be thankful for and it's a treat to be reminded of their gentle banter and good humour celebrated by Martin Simpson's song simply titled "Will Atkinson" and sung acapella by the girls. Talking of which...hearty congratulations all round to Tickell's accompanying musicians; Hannah Rickard (fiddle), Kit Haigh (guitar), Patsy Reid (fiddle), Julian Sutton (melodeon), David McCracken (voice) and Amy Thatcher's piano accordion. This album was obviously a labour of love and one that will warmly embrace the listener like a freshly stoked fire and if somebody can kindly get my slippers, pipe and bottle of Newcastle Brown I'll be an even happier man. Finally...anyone who can complement me on my use of polyrhythm guitar (and know what they're talking about) at Gosport & Fareham Festival is alright in my books! [...]

PETE FYFE
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
A superb album with a wonderful mix of song, music and narrative.

I have purchased additional copies of this album to give as gifts

and all have been greatfully received. A lovely example of folk

lore from Northumberland.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Perhaps I am biased having been born in Northumberland but this is one of the most original and enjoyable "folk" albums I have listened to in fifty years as a folk music fan. Well worth the purchase.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
I was fortunate enough to see Northumbrian Voices live when it was on tour and I was completely bowled over by it then. The recording is just as good. A mix of music and spoken word can be very tricky to get right, but this is a triumph. (The soft Northumbrian accent helps) The words are taken from friends and family from the remote part of Northumbria that Kathryn Tickell was brought up in and has championed its traditional music since her teens. This records a way of life that has all but disappeared with the music that accompanied it. The group of musicians blend prefectly, and the mostly instrumental music complements the words so well. (Hard Times is worth the price of the album by itself) The people from this corner of Northumbria have just cause to be proud of Kathryn, but Kathryn's Dad, who speaks many of the words, must have been bursting with pride for his daughter on every single day of the tour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
Bought this after seeing Kathryn & her Dad at Keswick gig.Great album and the stories tell of a way of life now unfortunately lost, but at least the songs survive
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Brilliant CD. Thoroughly enjoyed both the music and the stories. Would recommend this to anyone who appreciates quality and tradition.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
I have been to see Kathryn perform this set twice now. Each time, I thoroughly enjoyed the performance, so I decided to buy the CD. This is an exact copy of the live concert so I am vey pleased with it. Great music and entertaining dialogue!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Not the best introduction to Ms Tickell but a great treaty for seasoned fans. Quality playing as always with an insight into Ms Tickell's journey and the wild Northumbrian countryside (which was also my childhood home).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
In Northumbrian Voices, Kathryn Tickell supplements recordings from her childhood with interviews with family and friends,fashioning them into a spellbinding performance, interweaving songs, tunes and narrative into a magical, moving, humbling and often hilarious journey through the culture and lore of the North Tyne Valley. In the words of one reviewer, Northumbrian Voices encapsulates the experience and self-expression of “people who live on the land, and who earn their living from it. People who know their surroundings as they know the back of their hand ...” Just as the featured music combines traditional, contemporary and original material, these voices both enshrine the past and speak to the future, eloquently transcending their particular locale to evoke the timeless cycles, necessities, hardships and consolations that still shape human existence everywhere. I saw the live performance three times, and listen to these CDs often. The music and stories are wonderful in themselves. But beyond that this is a performance which tells the people of the North East something about themselves and their history and identity, celebrating people’s memories, lives and culture while looking forward and taking this heritage into the future – a link between continuity and change which is the essence of social renewal. And you don't have to live in NE England to enjoy It!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
The idea behind this project was Kathryn and friends/family playing music and using bits of random chat recordings from wonderful musicians now dead that taught her her trade. They are well and warmly remembered. But there is a lot of chat and some of the anecdotes are a bit feeble and ower long in the end. A bit too random. More Northumbrian song would have been more welcome. Excellent musicians and beautiful singers and they could do so much more.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Best Of
£15.98
Instrumental
£7.89
Kathryn Tickell & The Side
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)