Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2014
a wonderful combination of musicians and voices. The tunes are well chosen - a must have in your collection if you are even remotely interested in folk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
sensitive well produced folk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
This is wonderful. I can't stop playing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
One of the best albums of folk music I have bought in ages, took me back a bit to Spans early days.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Sort of the Cecil Sharp House house band. They should sell one copy of this to every Steeleye, Fairport, or Albion fan. It should be mandatory. No one would complain. A really listenable effort. If I were an astronaut, I'd dance The Man in the Moon in the Mare Tranquillitatis, and so would you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
The eagerly awaited album in conjunction with the EFSDS website relating to the same material is an absolute joy. Many of the best and leading musicians of the current golden renaissance of British Folk music have been brought together by Fay Hield to produce a majestic album which, in time, will be seen to have the same importance as such tour de force as the Shirley Collins Albion Band 'No Roses'

The playing throughout is exemplary, as you would expect from such a stellar cast. The choice of material wide ranging, from ballads to love songs, to perfectly executed instrumentals and music hall items. Fay takes lead vocals on 4 tracks, especially notable being a lovely closing version of Linden Lea. Nancy Kerr also provides lead on several tracks, including her self penned Fol the Day-O, which fits in with the traditional songs like a hand in a glove, and her dueting with Fay throughout is really beautiful. Too quite disimilar voices blending fantastically well.

The individual voices of the males can easily be identified on the ensemble numbers. Martin Simpsons guitar and vocals on Creeping Jane show what a fine reader of the tradition he is, and any fan of Seth Lakeman will be intrigued by his two contributions.

The most easily listenable tracks, Arthur O'Bradley (which has real tongue twisting lyrics) and Man in the Moon (with its music hall singalong) will probably get the most airplay, but there isnt a duff track amongst them.

Finally, a mention for Sam Sweeney, Rob Halbron, and Ben Nicholls, as fine a trio of musicians you could wish to hear.

Brilliance deserves recognition. BUY THIS CD !
11 Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Given the line-up featured in The Full English, one would expect something special, and this album doesn't disappoint. Those familiar with the various participants will no doubt be able to tell which member is the driving for behind each track - Seth Lakeman, Nancy Kerr etc have their distinctive styles - yet the collection hangs together well as a whole listening experience. No surprise that the group was recognised at the recent BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. It's also great that the record draws attention to England's rich musical heritage - so often overlooked compared to those of Scotland and Ireland.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Just to add my two penn'orth to the chorus of praise this album has received. It really is as good as it's cracked up to be. It has a range of great traditional English songs and tunes performed with love and with great musicianship and wonderful singing including the fine, rich harmonies that these songs cry out for.

Read the reviews, try a sample or two and snap this up - it's real treat.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
With a great line up of performers this recording is of stand out quality. I believe this album will be a classic in years to come. It really is a milestone.
With the likes of Seth Lakeman and the great Martin Simpson you cannot go wrong. And they are joined by equally talented performers Fay Hield, Nancy Kerr, Ben Nicholls, Rob Harbron and Sam Sweeney.
There is a wide variety of instruments and some great song choices. it is a great project and the sound is great.
This well arranged traditional sounding folk album is easily recommended.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
I tend to find talk of 'revivals' to be unhelpful and, sometimes, overstated. Nonetheless, this album marks the fact that the heritage of these islands, in musical terms, is alive, well and being celebrated.
On this occasion, it is being celebrated by a group of the finest musicians currently playing (and singing)traditional music.
I had the good fortune to see them perform it live but the album stands very well on its own and passes the fabled 'whistle test' remarkably well, providing songs and tunes that will be hummed, whistled and, one hopes, sung to wider audiences.
I may be a tad biased but all round, a very good album and one well worth buying.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)