Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
20
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2013
Low key, brilliantly played and portrayed- here are the cast reunited once again in a dazzling display of masterly acting and observational skills.
I loved it- you will love it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Not as brilliant as Spinal Tap, Best in Show or A Mighty WInd but still damn fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Not Guest's best, but still has some great moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2007
I find Christopher Guests' mockumentary film projects really hit and miss. A Mighty Wind and Spinal Tap are great. Guffman has its moments. Best In Show was interesting - with some great characterizations - though not particularly funny. But watching For Your Consideration was just a depressing experience.

The film is dominated by Catherine O'Hara's masterful performance as Marilyn Hack, an aging actress who allows herself to believe that she might just be in with a chance of an Oscar nomination. It was no fun watching her disintigrate before my eyes. The line between comedy and tragedy was crossed by miles - and in totally the wrong direction.

The film within the film, the vehicle that is meant to have facilitated the three potential Oscar-worthy performances, is all too predictably terrible. It has all the production values of a hackneyed 50s melodrama. It's not credible. It's not meant to be, I know, but neither is it funny, which was, I can only imagine, the idea. It would perhaps have been more worthwhile if it had, in fact, been halfway decent. At least it would have brought some kind of truth to the proceedings.

Aside from O'Hara, Parker Posey, Jane Lynch and Michael McKean, the ensemble cast of regulars turn in some of the most ill-judged characterizations I've ever seen them do. Cartoon-like and obvious, for the most part. John Michael Higgins and his bad, ginger wig prove to be an utter disappointment. On the other hand, Guest's character is wonderfully well-observed but not funny in the slightest. Whilst Fred Willard is allowed to play yet another variation of the same crass, obnoxious, loud-mouth he plays in every Guest movie. Why does he keep inviting him back???

Guest's films are, at the very least, interesting to watch. But don't expect a barrel of laughs this time around.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Excellent very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
This DVD is wrongly stated to be Audio Described on the packaging. It isn't, although there is is a director's commentary where he talks over the dialogue; unfortunately this is probably an improvement. The whole thing seems like 5 minutes rejected from a Curb your enthusiasm script dragged out to two hours. You just about get the basic premise about Z-list actors, but that's it. There are only 2 good lines in this (one of them the last so that may just have been relief).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
This was one of those films that everyone told me to watch cos it was hilarious.
I did not find it funny at all! Mind you, I hated Spinal Tap too & that was SUPPOSED to be funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2007
I've never seen any of Christopher Guest's work but "For Your Consideration" shouldn't be considered for much, other than a poorly cast misfire not quite eligible for a razzie. The story revolves around several characters all involved in one way or another with the making of a film in Hollywood. We see parts of the film being shot interspersed with snippets from a fake "Entertainment Tonight"-like show. Some of the main characters in the film within the film soon generate a bit of Oscar buzz and hopes and desires are brought to true life as the day of nomination announcements draw closer.

I found the whole thing to be pretty drab and unpolished. I get the jabs at Hollywood and its pretentious, procedural stiffness, but everything in the movie feels so fake and contrived that I just sat with my jaw open most of the time trying to figure out what is so not funny about all of this. The actors are so completely miscast that I wonder if Guest owes something to these people or does he just enjoy their company so much that he had to hire them for these roles, then mix them up to play completely the wrong parts. One example of this would be Fred Willard, who is usually hilarious for his boy-like, clueless nature playing an over the top entertainment show host that is so ridiculous that it isn't even funny. What is with that hair-do? It's not funny, it's just ridiculous. Most of the characters in this movie felt this way to me; including a horrible use of John Michael Higgins. This fact can be proven by the example of "The Office." His role was, although short, one of the best parts of the film. Maybe I should look into Guest's previous work so that I can better understand and familiarize with his work but it's unfortunate that I started off with this one.
44 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)