Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
151
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2013
Having been stunned by how good they were when I watched them on Later with Jools Holland, I've been buying all their releases to date on vinyl and seen them live once....and going to see them again this week. So this will be a somewhat biased review - this is excellent, noisy blues rock played by Irish teens (think a couple of them are 17 and the other two are 16!) who show themselves both adept at covers and producing their own material (Blue Collar Jane is excellent in particular).

The detractors will say it doesn't push the musical boundaries like some bands (R'n'B by numbers i saw one reviewer say in a snide way) but ask yourself what they were doing at 16 & 17! This has energy, passion and great musicianship for such a young group. Go see them live as they are even more incendiary......

Support a young band learning their craft......buy this album!
11 comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Kicking off with a shriek of feedback that will bring tears of joy to the eyes of all J&M Chain fans, this is an absolute stormer of an album. Great tracks, an excellent balance of originals and r'n'b standards, screaming guitars, top drawer harp-playing, ferocious energy and vocals straight out of a Nuggets-era cityscape, what's not to love about The Strypes? But please don't be misled into thinking that all you are getting is a 21st century retread of the mid-60s Rolling Stones, which seems to be the core message of most reviews I've read. Of course there are echoes of the early Stones. But in my opinion, the Strypes are closer in spirit and in style to both the Pretty Things and Them. However these are no mere copyists. The Strypes have a rawness, a ferocity and an attack that is entirely their own. Something that I hope will gladden the heart of anyone who prefers perspiration to polish, sweat to sophistication and balls to blandness.

Amazingly this most urban-sounding band hails, not from the mean streets of some industrial wasteland, or some soul-destroying tower-block, but from the beautiful rural setting of Co. Cavan in Ireland. But you'd never guess that from the punky, venomous r'n'b that will assault your senses when you pop this into your music player of choice. And if that is the kind of music that appeals to you I promise that you won't be disappointed in this absolutely excellent offering.

Trust me!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
These guys are fantastic, I bought their EP and had to buy the Album as a result. Full on, in your face rock and roll. Never mind their ages they produce great music.
Cant wait for the next one. Listen to it, buy it and enjoy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
A lot of potential with these guys.
I particularly liked the oldies 'I can tell' and 'can't judge a book etc'.
Angel Eyes was very good too.
I'll look out for the follow up album.
ATB Geoff
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
This album is a corker gotta say. I went to see these boys, and yes "boys", which nis hard to believe considering how advanced they sound and also tight they perform live..! if you like Blue Collar Jane then dont hesitate in investing in thus cd you will love it.
I am a huge fan of eric clapton, in his Bluesbreakers era and this album is up there with it in my opinion. These lads should be in it for the long haul at this rate.
The Strypes....well I for one am glad they came along, so keep it up boys :-)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 September 2013
This review is for the standard single CD, but please be aware that there is also a deluxe version available: Snapshot, which carries an extra four tracks, including a cover of 'C C Rider'.

The Strypes' debut album 'Snapshot' is a youthful and successful take on vintage 1960s R&B, and I was very impressed. The songs are bursting with energy, and apart from four covers, including an impressive revival of 'You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover', the remaining eight are all self penned songs. These four guys, who have yet to even reach eighteen, have a lot talent and hopefully their excellent, old-fashioned style of rock music will prove popular with the younger generation.

It's always so satisfying to see young real musicians making their way in the music business again, and competing against manufactured pop artists from television shows like 'The X Factor'. I think that there is a lot of good music in the charts at the moment, and hopefully The Strypes will go onto make it big, on the evidence of this impressive debut album, they truly deserve it. 'Snapshot' makes for an exciting and refreshing listen!
44 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Saw the Strypes live a few months ago in London. I think they're a better live band than they sound on recording, especially the vocals. But this is still really fun and refreshingly energetic - perhaps because they're so young, these guys seem to love making music. Particular highlights include Blue Collar Jane, What a Shame, Can't Judge a Book By the Cover, Hometown Girls and (something quite different, and a lot slower) Angel Eyes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
In the very early 1960s, young British musicians, many of them only in their mid-teens, started covering songs by black American artists. Unable to recreate the sound of the originals, they turned the material instead into a whole new musical genre. They themselves called it R&B while the press (and the Europeans) sometimes called it Beat Music. Really, it was modern folk music, created by the people for the people, largely non-commercial and always deeply heartfelt. There were hundreds of these groups, most of them now forgotten except by hardcore record collectors, although some of them managed to achieve a brief moment of fame on the back of the subsequent massive success of the Beatles from 1963 onwards.

Since then, every time the collective, artistically destructive, controlling efforts of the "music business", including the music press, have almost managed to wipe out the last ounce of soulfulness in popular music, bands like the these tend to emerge from basements and garages and bring this form of music back to it's roots again. It happened in the 70s with the pub rock scene, followed by punk and the Mod Revival. It happened in the mid 90s with Brit Pop. Now, thank God, it seems to be happening again, spearheaded by four extremely cool, intelligent, knowledgeable and incredibly musically skilful teenagers, this time not from Canvey Island, but from Cavan in Ireland.

I'm old enough to have experienced all these mutations of this type of music, and every time it has been extremely exciting periods to live though, musically. I don't care if the Strypes bring something new to the genre or not, because when this vinyl album (infinitely better sounding than the Special Edition CD, which I also bought for the bonus tracks) is on my turntable, my heart is simply thumping too fast for me to bother contemplating any theoretical issues, and at the end of the day that is the yardstick good music should be judged by.

I just love these guys, their exciting and highly skilled playing, their impeccable dress code, the way they scorn the stupid and self-destructive attitudes most rock stars have adopted over the decades, and which others with no lives themselves have latched on to like leaches. They do what they want to do, and they do it extremely well, whether they play on stage, perform acoustic sets for radio, participate in interviews etc. I love their well-crafted, self-penned songs with all their lyrical tongue-in-cheekness, humour, great little puns. Not exactly poetry in the style of W.B. Yeats, but words that SOUND good, as a song lyric should. A large part of the press doesn't like these guys, and no wonder, because these four fellars refuse to be roped in and exploited, and despite their friendly front they are in truth a guided missile up the backside of the commercial industry network of which pop music has been a victim now for far too long.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
I possibly will get more into this album after a few plays but at present, I was a little disappointed as I think they are better when seeing them live (although so far have only seen them on TV). I sometimes find this is the case with a few bands that the whole "live" experience is better than just listening to track after track. However, I am willing to be proved wrong eventually.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
This is an excellent and exciting young band. If you like Dr Feelgood especially, then you will love it. Also for fans of The Yardbirds and pumpimg R&B.

One fault however...43 seconds into track 6 "I Can Tell" on the word "The" there is a "tsk" noise or glitch.
I bought the Deluxe version of the CD and have since listened to the mp3 version and it is the same there.
Could anyone please confirm whether it is the same on the standard CD and other versions? Thank you.

Dropped one star only because of this and not for the music. Surely someone should listen to this before releasing it. Yes it is minor, but it shouldn't be there.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)