Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2013
As I put on Hesitation Marks, I thought that this album would have a lot to live up to in terms of originality. I for one felt that Reznor was on an incredible creative run of brilliant ideas and vision with Year Zero, Ghosts and The Slip. Sure, those albums were not comparable to The Downward Spiral or The Fragile in terms of emotional intensity, but then nor were they supposed to be. So I half-expected this album to be a continuation of innovating the format and conceptuality rather than an epic journey exploring the depths of suicidal feelings. And I was extremely excited to hear that Reznor was "completely rethinking" NIN had been working with people like Adrian Belew.

But in actual fact, it seems that the focus of Hesitation Marks is not about world-changing sonic experimentation and technological smart-assery. Musically, there are some surprises. Reznor career-long obvious Prince influence has never been more apparent than it is in the playful falsetto of "All Time Low" or the funk of "Satellite". In a somewhat Talking Heads' Remain in Light fashion, "Copy of A" is built up gradually in layers in a way which seems more rhythmically driven than ever before. And the major-scale verse melody of "Everything" certainly comes as a shock, but after a few listens somehow falls into the category of more conventional loud NIN moments.

Much has been made of the alleged 'sparseness' of this album in contrast with Reznor's usual painstaking tapestries of sound. But for much of the album this is done in such a way which perhaps less noticeable to outsiders, as layers of all-sorts seem to quickly pile on in almost every song. The main noticeable differences are the lack of any truly face-pounding explosive rockers, and the absence of Reznor screaming hard enough to lose his voice. There is an electronic, but ever so slightly ambient quality to the production which certainly gives the album a unique and endearing feel. In that respect it actually sounds more "band"-oriented than cinematic.

But ultimately the album's strength lie in its emotional undertones. It had to be the case - on first listen I actually found myself somewhat underwhelmed by the second half, which ostensibly seemed like an array of generic NIN guitar chugging and "I"s and "you"s. I assumed that after a few listens the cerebral "arc" would begin to show itself. and thankfully, it did. Reznor's motivation here is in looking back on who he was, where he was at, and what he was capable of, circa The Downward Spiral. He even confirmed that this was why he used artist Rusell Mills once again for the cover art. And as a mature, married, father of two and general normal chap, Reznor is now using music to express the harrowing depths of a mid-life crisis.

Joke - it's cooler than that. He is looking back on himself as a fomerly addictive personality prone to extreme mental swings and wondering if he is in any way at all, in spite of the struggles he went through, envious of his former "freer" self. There are intense emotions here, but they are intense explorations of uncertainty rather than despair.

It isn't a very deep plunge into turmoil like The Downward Spiral, and it isn't uber cool or uber conceptual like Year Zero. And nor it can it be expected to deliver the merits of those two periods of NIN. What it does deliver is a new level of reflectiveness, and will demand a deeper understand of that word from any NIN fan loyal enough to go the distance with it. It is, as anyone should expect, a new NIN, an long may it continue (for 4 or so years).
22 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
After making Nine Inch Nails "go away for a while" to pursue other projects such as scoring two David Fincher movies as well as working with his wife Mariqueen Manndig and Atticus Ross in his other band How To Destroy Angels, Trent Reznor has reawakened Nine Inch Nails with a brand new studio album, an album that originally started life as two tracks for a greatest hits compilation turns into a full length album "Hesitation Marks" the first since 2008's "The Slip".

The album is a lot more subtle in its approach with electronic beats creeping up on you and at times it can take a bit before the songs get going but when they do they all have slick sounding grooves, "Copy Of A" (which is currently being used to open Nine Inch Nails current tour which starts with all five members coming on to stage separately) has a very trance like beat going on with flourishes of guitar mixed in, it's an early highlight to the album. The first release from the album "Came Back Haunted" is driven by big beats and has a dance vibe throughout as well as throwing in a guitar solo at the midway point. "All Time Low" is a big slab of funk. "Everything" is the closet Reznor has ever coming to doing a pop punk number and is one of the most upbeat songs he has ever done.

"Satellite" might just be the catchiest song on the whole album after a couple of listens it will be stuck in your head and at times comes across as NIN doing David Bowies "Fame". "Various Methods of Escape" is driven by lots of beats starting of low tempo before a breakdown in the middle leads to big pounding beats that take the song to its bid dramatic climax. "In Two" features a number of vocal effects and you are never quite sure what direction the song will go in, it's a contender for the best song on the album. The deluxe edition features 3 remixes the highlight being Todd Rundgen's remix of "All Time Low". The artwork is a nod back to 1994's "The Downward Spiral" as the artwork once again is done by Russell Mills. Fleetwood Macs Lindsey Buckingham and king Crimsons Adrian Belew both provide guitar on a number of the tracks.

Reznor shocked everyone back in March this year when he announced Nine Inch Nails would tour again and then followed it up with the news of a new album, he would go onto say that the new album is "F***ing awesome" and that's exactly what "Hesitation Marks" is.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
There's no denying how much of a musical genius Trent Reznor is. But that's the problem, alot is expected out of this guy, probably more so than modern musicians (aside from Radiohead).

It took a awhile for single Came Back Haunted to grow on me, but eventually I came round to loving it.

The album itself starts off very strong, the first 3 proper tracks leading Reznor into a potentially great new direction which echoes Radiohead and even Massive Attack era Mezzanine (the ballad Find My Way) as well as his own signature.

But then it starts to dip with 'All Time Low'.

At first I loved the track for it being so different from what Reznor has done before, but after awhile it's just so incredibly cheesy and grating, trying desperately to recapture the magic of Closer along with Bowie's Fame and Fashion.

But it simply doesn't work. It's almost like he's trying too hard to capture the raunchiness of Closer.

There are some great little tunes on the album, such as the brilliantly upbeat 'Everything', which sounds like a collaboration of Bernard Sumner (New Order) on guitar, and I Would for You.

Most are slow burning mood pieces, which somehow don't sit so well along side Reznor's most commercial pop music yet. Due to this, the album lacks two huge crucial ingredients that Reznor is normally so great at crafting- direction and character.

I often think Reznor is at his best when doing concept albums, The Downward Spiral is easily his greatest and most remembered album to date by hardcore fans. But it just seems like retreads of past albums (Satellite, although still good, sounds like it was left off Year Zero) to an overload of influence with Disappointed (is that Thom Yorke's vocals on the verse?) as well as B side filler (the repetitive Running).

It ends up as being 'an album which has good songs' rather than being 'a great album with great songs'. And not really a 'front to back' album in which each song follows up the next so effortlessly in sequence. It's also the first album Trent has made where the tracks don't segue into the next (there's a pause, then another track kicks in). It just feels so uneven.

But for me, the biggest problem seems to be Atticus Ross, Trent's right hand man and co-producer. Unlike his work with him on Year Zero, which had a 'narrative', Reznor's musical direction seems somewhat lost, and Ross's presence is overly dominant (give Trent back his guitar Atticus!).

I'm not attacking Reznor's 'new direction', which many have had a problem with since With Teeth, because there doesn't really seem to be much of a new direction at all. Just a mish mash of songs, some great, some good, some terribly average, with loads of beats and great production.

Which is the main flaw with this album, unlike previous Nine Inch Nail's records, it doesn't have it's own 'character'. If this were a Radiohead album (I only mention this due to Reznor's fondness of the band, as well as both being perfectionists of creating albums that work so well in sequential form), it would be the equivalent of 'Hail to the Thief'.

It seems doubtful that this will become a classic in the future of Nine Inch Nails back catalogue, and may in fact (apart from some remix albums) be his most forgettable.

Excellent production as always though, but that's to be expected. There's just very little on here which knocks you backwards and blows you away (Copy of A is the only one that comes close), and Trent is more than capable of creating all time classics with songs that tug at the heart strings (although Find my Way comes fairly close but misses the mark), which this album is also sorely lacking. It seems like a fairly cold and calculated effort for the might Rez.

Standout tracks-

Copy of A
Came Back Haunted
Find My Way
I Would for You
Various Methods of Escape

The rest range from being to good to simply average.

Let the hate commence...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
The record came in excellent packaging. No warps or any defects at all. Also, the delivery was fast. Regarding the album itselft, it starts really well, the first few tracks really grab you, but then it starts to lose something. What i'm trying to say is that the best moments are the first tracks. Regarding the artwork, it is nice to have a different one for the vinyl, although i personally prefer the CD one. And by the way, the record also came with CD of the album, which i think is great! Mind you, no artwork or case with it, just the cd in a transparent plastic sleeve.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
I wanted to listen to this album as much as possible before I decided that I disliked it. When "Came Back Haunted" came out as a single I loved it, finally back to a more synthed up NIN but it's been well over a dozen listens so far and I still haven't found a way to like this album.
Sadly this album really sounds like Reznor is on autopilot, each song starts with a vintage drum machine loop that mostly stays with the song throughout, arrangements are monotonous and there's pretty much none of the anger or emotion that have become NIN's cornerstone. Tracks are as stretched out as possible with up to an additional 2 minutes of unaffecting outro added to some, and I don't mean interesting evolving soundscapes like on The Fragile, these are just "don't turn that loop off just let it run for even longer".
Another thing that makes listening difficult is Reznor's vocal style for the album, vocals are pretty raw but jump between incredibly bored on some tracks ("Find My Way", "Disappointed", "While I'm Still Here") to much more pop than usual which he doesn't seem to have the voice for. In previous moodier songs the imperfections in Reznor's voice helped the song paint a picture of torment and fragility but in some of the tracks on Hesistation Marks the style is a lot more adventurous and his falling off notes or strained vocals gets slightly cringeworthy.
There are some definite highlights to the album however, "Came Back Haunted", "In Two", "All Time Low" (the instrumentation and flow is great even if the vocals and lyrics are a bit... hmm) and the minute-or-so-long intro and outro tracks "The Eater of Dreams" and "Black Noise".
I would have loved a more synth based Nine Inch Nails album but Hesistation Marks is not it, it's just Trent with a 1-pattern drum machine murmuring lyrics.

Also the Deluxe Edition seems to just be a sales technique, the 3 remixes that make up the additional CD are just more minimal/boring versions of the originals and since the CD2 tracklisting is a sticker added to the back of the case it makes me think that the CD was finalised later to justify a more expensive release of the album, I would prefer Deluxe editions to exist because there is additional content available, rather than additional content being cobbled together to justify a Deluxe edition of the release for die-hard fans.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Reznor has received more reviews than he could possibly ever need. However I can hardly resist writing one, too, especially after watching all those live NIN performances, which he's published on his superb vevo channel. The current one appears to be some tour and I am extremely happy it'll be visiting London. Talking about tours, it wasn't that long ago that we went to that NIN "goodbye" one -and even got the goodbye T-shirt - and that he went off to meet Justin Timberlake, bag an Oscar, make us sleep with ghosts, etc. The naïve like me thought that NIN were gone forever, while the more seasoned, committed, fans were certain Trent'd be back with another NIN record.
And back he is, "couldn't stay away". Took me completely by surprise, too: The nauseating video of "Came back haunted" exploded on VEVO one day last June, if I remember correctly, to be watched by almost a million of people in the first 24 hours (myself included; braved the nauseating feeling of watching it 10 times in one day magnificently, I might add) and to instantly become a favourite NIN song- and a lesson on how to make a video clip of huge impact, with rather little money. Nevertheless, when "Hesitation Marks" was released (September?), I neglected to buy it for a few months. It all turned out for the best because, having bought it at the very end of 2013, it kick-started my 2014 in a big way and, as it often happens with any NIN album, once this cd was inserted in the player all other music faded, ceased resonating and became redundant for a few weeks, until Trent's new music had well and truly been learnt, the feelings sunk in, and the lyrics greedily devoured. This album is as sexy as ever. So, once again, I found myself wondering just how many babies might have been conceived in steamy love sessions that have been initiated with some wine and NIN songs such as "Sin", "We're in this together", "Vessel", "Terrible Lie" and (personal sensual favourite) "Me, I'm not"- to list but a few of the more (ahem!) innocuous ones. Needless to say, if you were born after 1991 and your parents have suspiciously many NIN cds on their racks, you just might owe your very existence to this man. A new song from the current album that is sultry and seductive is superb "I would for you"- and it is my favourite on this album. What a song to approach someone you really love/desire with, claiming you'd even change the person you are for them! (And as St Valentine's is already beckoning, it's fit for purpose).
Regarding the album as a whole, I do not predict it becoming my favourite NIN album and dethroning "With teeth" and "Year Zero" from their shared throne. "H. Marks" is yet another very personal Trent album, but it is his albums offering a bit of social context along with the deeply personal one, that have always appealed to me the most. Also, if I had to go for a "personal" album as my NIN favourite, then that would undoubtedly be "The Fragile" (left and right). However, "Hesitation Marks" still is a five (or 6 or 7 stars) album, just for containing fabulous songs such as "while I'm still here", to name one. It might not be off-the- charts unrateable, like most other NIN offerings, but it still is pretty remarkable, especially when compared to the atrocious standards of music released today in general. And 7-star Trent is better than no Trent at all, anyway; not to mention that for me, it is early listening days yet.
The initial listen was a tad unsettling: because of chirpy "Everything", my fellow listeners and I creased our foreheads in momentary worry, thinking he came back happy instead of haunted. Now, this won't do; risking the danger of sounding like the evil "they" of "We're in this together", I must say: someone keep this man unhappy, please! Otherwise, who'll write us songs for our collective heartaches as concise, succinct and to the point as "The great below", "Sin" or favourite "Only", (a song about his troubles with "the business" -his words, not mine- but with lyrics that can easily fit any kind of bad and/or abusive relationship situation, be it with a partner, a parent or a boss). "Everything" had us truly worried he might have finally found "happiness in slavery" (and if you are a parent you know that nobody can spell "slavery," happy or otherwise, as well as a couple of kids running around your house). Luckily, after "Everything", he didn't keep us worried for long, hastily descending down a spiral of delicious angst, expressed by a successive onslaught of tortured songs "various methods of escape", "running", "I would for you" and "in two", then finishing the whole thing off with the beautifully calm growing old/love/lullaby song "while I'm still here," which forms a unit with instrumental "black noise." These songs all make up for a magnificent second half -and a glorious ending- to this very mature album. I love them all- taken in one by one, or taken in all together: the effect is orgasmic. And every time I watch "in two" live from the NIN vevo channel, that effect is doubled!
It transpires that I have found the great songs to be in abundance in this album; I certainly seem to have found more songs to love here, than most of the other reviewers. Perhaps it is because, although I have been following Reznor since the "Pretty Hate Machine", I became more of a fan of his during the "grown up" stage of his career, than I ever was pre-2000 (with the exception of the scorching, apocalyptic "Broken"). He is so clearly one of the soundtracks of one's adulthood. Moreover, I find myself always wanting to pledge my support to him, because of his professional and artistic ethos, which are both outstanding: Never betraying himself or his fans, he has given them music for free through his website, to reward their expenses and faithful efforts of support for him during the decades, and he keeps publishing outstanding live performances on his vevo channel, something that must ultimately be advantageous to him as well as to his insatiable fans. A professionally recorded live performance will always be better than an amateur one, so in this way he can maintain quality control of the output.
Most importantly, he has vouched to never "tarnish" his songs by allowing them to be used in commercials. He expressed his views on this in an old interview, by criticising one of his own music heroes, who Reznor said "hurt Reznor's feelings" when he allowed a much loved song to be used in a software company commercial. So, it'd seem that the lyrics for "Head like a hole" are a rule that Reznor lives by. One hopes he'll never change his mind and vilify that. Most artists do lend their songs to commercials, of course, but it always comes as a shock to us fans. Also, it is always harder to swallow, when a musician that is a symbol (and who, as such, means so much to so many people) goes so fully and blatantly corporate. Reznor is a symbol and we could never conceive an adequate reason for any corporate "whorification" of his songs; it's great that he seems to feel the same and so far stands by it.
One mild criticism, if I may: Reznor seems to have come back a tad deluded. Although all his lyrics are versatile and mean a lot of things, apparently he thinks he's a copy of other people now and made song "copy of A" about this. Truthful self-reflection- or does he want us to stroke his ego and say "no, you're not a copy of anything"? Should it be the latter, I'd be glad to oblige the man who has handheld our souls through so many heart aches, old and new, and who has so well expressed in his lyrics our deepest pathos. Of course, after so many centuries of writers, thinkers and artists, that he should occasionally feel like "a copy" is rather unavoidable. No matter what one writes, it will inevitably have been written by someone, somewhere, before. However, it is not WHAT you write or say, but HOW you say it. And it is not the ideas, but what you do with them that counts. And if there ever was an original artist, a prototype, then Reznor is certainly it. Can't wait to see him live again. Welcome back, Sir!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
I am starting to think Trent Reznor should retire or start working under another name because this album does not deserve to be labeled a Nine Inch Nails album! It lacks the power and aggression of previous albums and was not worth the wait.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Trent Reznor is in his late forties, married and has two small children. He is no longer the angry young man he was 20 years ago when he recorded The Downward Spiral.

I am in my mid-forties, married with three children. I am no longer the young man I was 20 years ago.

I got The Downward Spiral back then, and I get Hesitation Marks now.

The album presents a new Trent Reznor - a satisfied one, an optimistic one - still angry, but it is a focused anger at the things that annoy you once you've lived through life and grown a bit wiser.

The music is a journey, still recognisably NIN, but with influences of funk and prog thrown in for good measure.

The album starts with Copy of A and Came Back Haunted which is my only criticism of the album. Whilst both are good songs, they have been in circulation for some time now and seem overly familiar. I felt I wasn't been drawn into the album as I knew these songs too well.

Following on from these tracks the album builds slowly, but impressively towards the album's highlight - Everything, a perfect uplifting punk/new wave rush of adrenaline.

The album then settles into a solid groove which provides a satisfying journey to the last four songs. This section includes Various Methods of Escape which is another highlight of the album. Running is the weakest track on the album, but has an strong chorus and some interesting vocals which increasingly become out of breath as the song progresses towards the end as if Trent is indeed running through the song.

The final four tracks provide an epic conclusion to the album. Everything may be the finest track on the album, but In Two gives it a close run. A sonic masterpiece which draws the listener towards what is in effect the closing track - While I'm Still Here. Which in a similar manner to Hurt on the Downward Spiral is a introspective track which pretty much lays bare Trent's new outlook on life and the future.

Not quite an Upward Spiral, but more like the completion of a circle.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Arguably NIN's best album, consistently excellent songs all the way through. In fact its quite hard to choose a favourite because their are so many enjoyable tracks. This album appears to have divided opinion among NIN fans although its not as complete a departure from their previous work as some of the reviews may lead you to think. It's perhaps a little more contemplative and more 'funky' than many NIN fans might like. If you have enjoyed the development of Trent Reznor's music this far, you will be very happy with this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
Trent Reznor never lets himself, or us, down. Whatever direction NIN music takes it stays true to its uniqueness without ever sounding repetitive. It means a lot to buy an album from a band that has released music for over 25 years and still be blown away.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)