Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
1,089
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2013
This film will make you smile, laugh, feel nauseated and think on about the horror of the times it's set in. Its a classic. Christopher Waltz stole the the show for me. His witty and clever comments and acting had perfect timing. Not to mention his facial expressions.
Jamie Foxx was great as the lead character but I enjoyed Waltz much more. It's fast and furious from the get go. It's gruesome, but in classic OTT Tarantino style.
The story is clever enough and superbly acted by one and all.
One exception is Samuel L Jackson. His performance was so overwhelmingly good there aren't words to describe it.
This movie's shocking and gory as I'm sure it would have been during that terrible time. BUT it's also very very entertaining and hugely funny. I can't recommend it highly enough. 10/10
22 comments| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) is a well spoken bounty hunter who acquires Django (Jamie Foxx) to find and kill some men who are wanted, "dead or alive." Dr. Schultz isn't too keen on the "live" part.

The film divides itself into two parts. After the bounty hunting episodes are through, our duo conceive a plan to rescue the wife of Django (Kerry Washington) by purchasing her from Candie Land plantation. Dr. Schultz has no stomach for slavery or slave owners. Leonardo DiCaprio doesn't enter the film until the second part.

Like Tarantino films it incorporates humor. The bag over the head scene was reminiscent of something we might have seen in "Blazing Saddles." The flashbacks are minimal and not confusing. There is of course the over the top climatic ending and plenty of blood.

I have to question the use of the MF bomb several times in this picture. The first known usage of the word is the 1930s. It is speculated the phrase originated during slavery as a way to describe white owners who would take black mothers as comfort women. The phrase would have a specific meaning and not used in the generic sense that Samuel L. Jackson tossed about.

Tarantino fans will not be disappointed. Great sound track.

Parental Guidance: F-bomb,N-word, nudity (Kerry Washington). No sex. Killing and slow motion blood splatter.
22 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
This is one of the most complex and compelling of Tarantino's films, and will appeal to his dyed-in-the-wool fans and also those interested in the subject it addresses - slavery. Django is the story of a runaway slave who was caught and punished. When the film starts he has been separated from his wife and sold, and is chained to other slaves being dragged across the frosty south. He becomes associated with a bounty hunter, played by Christopher Waltz who gives a spellbinding performance. Together they form a friendship which leads them on a quest to find Django's wife. There are frequent moments of black humour between them, reminiscent of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.

Along with his usual amount of splattered blood, Tarantino brings to the screen with amazing force the true horrors of black slavery, whilst sensitively building characters to bring these tortured people to life. Leonardo Di Caprio gives a chillingly friendly portrayal of Monsieur Candie - a slave trader involved in Mandingo fighting (two slaves fighting to the death). His appearance in the film changes the tone to one of overwhelming menace and racks up the tension.

The one criticism I have about the film is that Quentin Tarantino doesn't give a convincing performance in his cameo role. Quentin, stick to what you're good at, and leave the acting to those who can. :o)
33 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
I ordered this before reading the negative reviews and became disappointed, feeling it would be a let down. However, I really enjoyed it. Plenty of blood and gore, as you'd expect; some really funny moments and touching ones. Excellent acting from Waltz, Foxx and De Caprio.. OK, it did get a little "comic book" towards the end but I could live with that.
The most disturbing thing was how the black slaves were treated, which I guess is mainly accurate. Some scenes where the plantation owners ill treated their slaves were truly pitiful.
To sum up, I'd say it was a cross between Pulp Fiction and The Good the Bad and the Ugly, if you can imagine that!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
I cannot believe that I waited so long to watch this! Cracking film in the style that Tarantino does so well, (and that only he can). A good plot, quality acting from everyone, loads of action and more blood and gore than you could throw an abattoir at!. Not for the faint hearted or the jessies out there, but if you like your Westerns rough, tough and gritty, then they don't come much better than this. I rarely review, films, books or music because such reviews are always subjective rather than objective but I defy anyone not to enjoy this example of a Director's art, who is possibly at the pinnacle of his career. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
Many great westerns have been made but none of them as cool as this one. The film is full of memorable characters with Christoph Waltz and Samuel L Jackson being particularly awesome whenever on screen. Tarantino's wit is also present, especially in a hilarious klu klux klan scene, not something you'd ever think you'd use to describe the klu klux klan but it was very funny.
There the usual violent scenes a plenty with some especially awesome and bloody shoot outs. It's an epic story but I didn't notice how long it was because it was so well written and played out by the entire cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
Tarantino fans will undoubtedly love this movie, however my personal opinion is that perhaps he should concentrate his obvious talents on movies with a more contemporary setting rather than attempting to span the time zones of history. If I watch a WW2 or a Western movie, I want to be swept away in the reality of the time captured on screen, unfortunately with this movie, and Inglourious Basterds, all you get is another Tarantino set up, to a different backdrop. His movies whilst reasonably good are too much alike and continually follow the same plot lines, inevitably ending in the Tarantino trademark gun fight. (YAWN!)

Anyway, personal opinions aside the purpose of this review is to attempt to save you money by advising you to buy the DVD rather than spend the money on the more expensive Blu-Ray. I own standard definition DVD's with better picture quality than the Blu-Ray release of this movie and would question as to whether the movie was filmed in HD to begin with. The Blu-Ray is a real mixed bag, with blurring and artifacting occurring throughout motion sequences and a definite variation in picture quality from scene to scene, ranging from ALMOST Blu-ray standard to soft focus broadcast standard, and could NEVER be referred to as High-Definition.

Personally I felt financially ripped off having met the additional costs of the "HD" version. Don't waste your money.

(I've noticed that over the years the picture quality of standard definition DVDs has deteriorated, and suspect that distribution companies have initiated this in order to make their poor quality Blu-Rays look better than they actually are. You only have to view some of the top quality Blu-Ray titles such as Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Bladerunner, Braveheart, The Outlaw Josey Wales and Gladiator and see what the format is truly capable of in order to realise that we're being supplied with poor quality Blu-Ray transfers at an over inflated price.)
55 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
A brilliant movie. Very entertaining and I loved it. We don't get many westerns any more so this was a welcome addition to the genre. Tarantino is of course well known for the violence in his films, which renders them as not being for the squeamish, but on top of that they usually feature touches of levity to brighten up the more grisly proceedings. Above all he assembles highly accomplished actors and good stories with some great lines. The cinematography is superb and the music excellent. Oh, and there is some wonderful horsemanship. An excellent film which can be highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
I wasn't able to go to the big screen to watch Django, but now that I've seen it on Blu Ray I'm impressed.
It is clearly one of the best films from Tarantino! (From my perspective).
The plot is PERFECT!
Waltz deserves his Oscar. Dicaprio does some of the best acting I've seen from him. Samuel L Jackson's role is just f..... funny!
The black humor and ridicule of the classic westerns, the major unnatural amounts of blood and wild camera zooms help make this film one of my absolute favorites!
It is a bit long-winded, but otherwise it's just a new masterpiece from Tarantino!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Love him or hate him, he makes action movies with a twist. This is one of my favorites. Up there with "Pulp Fiction". Not quite, but damn close. The supporting cast carry this movie. Leonardo DiCaprio, Samuel L. Jackson, and that little German guy, what's his name? Excellent performances.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)