Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
84
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2015
If Dylan,Cash,and the Dead had been brought up on Celtic soul,this may well have been the result.Too many discs?Not really,although being a warts and all collection,there are a few(a very few) odds and ends which seem superfluous.Like all such sets,there are bound to be,but this is,on the whole,exceptionally good.I must admit,The Waterboys were not someone I was overly familiar with,so this came as a relative surprise...not just another bulked up CD of something I knew like the back of my hand,of which I have many,and which lose their gloss almost upon opening the package,because the material is so well known. So,for me,at least,a very good buy.New(to me) and enjoyable.Worthy of a place on the shelves,maybe right next to John Martyn....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
This is an absolutely superb package. It's beautifully packaged and there's so much new music to listen to it will take a while to fully take it all in.
The problem's encountered by others with glued CD sleeves must be limited to a small number of the boxes. Mine arrived in perfect condition and I had no issues with anything being stuck to the box etc.
It's easy to see that a lot of care has been taken in putting this box together. If you loved Fisherman's Blues, buy this. You will be enthralled and entranced.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
At last after 25 years we have in one place all the best songs from the most creative 2 year spell of any band in the history of music. Anyone who doesn't believe me just take a chance and have a listen.

They were originally planning to release a triple album and even then there would have been loads of amazing tracks missing. Songs like Drunken Head Ghost of Rimbaud Blues, Born To Be Together, Saints And Angels & Higherbound are amongst some of the best songs ever written by anyone and that they haven't had a proper release until now shows how great The Waterboys were at this time (And thats with 2 extra discs of material previously released). I have been waiting 25 years for this release and at last my life is complete.

"The Power of the music gives us wings "
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
If you love Fisherman's Blues (and who wouldn't - an absolute classic album) then this is an essential purchase.
Absolutely packed full of extra tracks, covers and demo's.
You get to hear a great band grow and expand into new territory.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
The Box chronologies the change in the Waterboys sound. They begin in a C&W, Gospel sound, with the band clearly enjoying the freedom of just playing heartfelt music. Disc one in fact is a fine stand-alone album in and of itself. Then toward the end of disc 2 Mike Scott hears Steve Wickham and a few Irish fellows jamming with an Irish groove and then it all clicks and slowly more and more Irish is added into the C&W, Gospel sound until the climax is disc 6 when they hit the West Coast of Ireland for 2 months of pure Irish indulgence. No drummer on disc six either, apart from ones imported for the odd session. A real journey in musical discovery played out in front of us. Amazing.

This is a band at the top of their game, in fact this is musicianship and musical discovery at the top of its game.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
This box set is great. I have bought this after seeing the Waterboys playing recently. Its not as good as having them there right in front of you but it is a great listen. It is also interesting to see the info about where and when each disc war recorded. It gives one a fuller insight of how the sounds came together.
They are a wonderful mixture of musicians who fill my hear with musical joy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
If you were touched by the original album back when it was first released (I had it on cassette), you should probably stop dithering and buy this now.

I was always unsure why the LP didn't get more notice than the band's previous work. Perhaps it was because it was more traditional in a musical sense, and was deemed to not have the appeal to a young record-buying public that Velvet Underground ripoffs did at the time.

But six discs is simply too much. Some of these jams are tentative, and go on for too long. The box could've been a more manageable four discs of high quality stuff. I would've left off the still-working-this-out demos although sometimes even these tracks are nice to have on as background music.

As for the good stuff, it's an embarrassment of riches. The original LP could easily have been a double at the time with no let down in quality.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
A lot of great material; this is really for those who want to hear the work in progress........some superb tunes that morph from one take to the next to the finished article... some great notes on how the material came to fruition....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
The music is excellent and the sleeve notes informative. The CD boxset is good value, however after reading the booklet once the pages have already started to fall out. A bit more care on this would have been appreciated. On the positive though, overall, it's wonderful.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Absolutely Loved This!!!! Great Box Set of a Marvellous Album!! Crossing Form Fishermans Blues To Room To Roam Filled In The Blanks!!! A Ridiculous Amount of Material AN ABSOLUTE MUST FOR ANY FAN!!!!!!!!!!!! ''''''''
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)