Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
39
Away With Words
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 October 2013
What a superb album. Martin Barre is sounding better than ever and the new tracks mixed in with some great old Tull tracks works well. Acoustic and electric guitar sound crisp and clear and the overall production sounds fine. I Really like the tracks Home, Sundown, From a dead beat to an old greaser and Air : lament of the spalpeen . Hope Martin makes another album along the same lines again, old and new. Thankyou Martin for a great album.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2013
This album shows why there are few musicians/composers who compare with the brilliance of Ian Anderson/Martin Barre. This album contains almost all the elements (no Ian) that make Jethro Tull albums great. The complex melodies of Jethro Tull are expressed brilliantly by Martin. Dare I say that some are even better than the original compositions first offered among the various Tull albums. This is an absolute "Must Have" for any Tull fan ... and for those who may be curious as to why Tull have such ardent fans, this collection will give you a good idea. Bravo Martin ... I am sure Ian is quite proud.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2013
Do you remember your first impressions from the albums by Jethro Tull of the 70s - flute, acoustic guitar, sometimes - riffs and solos? Minstrel in the Gallery, Songs From the Woods, Heavy Horses... At last you could experience this unique sound once more. Martin Barre re-arranged his favourite songs by Jethro Tull and made them a part of his new compostions. Attempt to reinvent music by Jethro Tull and to present his own new music in the same time. The album is mainly instrumental, mainly with acoustic sound (Martin plays guitars and flute), electric guitar solos by Martin are rare but impressive. Much positive energy - so I can't see any reason not to listen to it if you like classic Jethro Tull.
Thank you for the great record, Martin - and it's really a crime that Martin Barre is not present on last album by Jerhro Tull's Ian Anderson!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2013
A great album of (mostly) acoustic guitar, mixing a small amount of new with some incredibly intricate and fresh-sounding versions of old favorites.
Surely this pushes Martin Lancelot Barre into the limelight at last, and proves beyond all doubt that he is one of the greatest guitarists of the last 50 years. And what support he has on here too...
Yep, if you're a Tull fan, or if you just love perfectly executed acoustic picking, you'll like this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2014
BUY THIS ALBUM ! You won't be sorry. I am a student of music and a certified Tull freak since 1972. This is Martin Barre at his best. Really fantastic nylon string guitar work. I downloaded it into I Tunes and it was auto-catogoried as Country - Folk. Not even close. That's like Tull winning the Heavy Metal Grammy for Crest of a Knave. The music is a mix of styles, classical, Spanish, Irish Jig and of course, quietly in the background, Martin is rippin' leads on his electric! Martin is in a league of his own. Who else could turn Hymn 43 into an acoustic Irish Jig? Yes, check it out! Love the acoustic arrangements and licks on this album. You'll listen to it many times. Enjoy.

Jeff Free
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2013
This is an understated gem of an album and re-inforces to me why I consider Martin Barre to be up there with Richard Thompson. His reinterpretations of classic Tull tracks help to illustrate what Martin added to Ian Anderson's vision, and I would recommend this to both Tull fans and anybody who appreciates skilfully played guitar music without histrionics.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2014
Simply poor compared with Martin Barres other works. The tracks are revivals of old favourites but the guitar alone cannot pick out the mood of the original track which have a multi mix of instruments. The forward button on my player was pressed several times to skip the noise. Recommended as a collection filler only.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2013
Martin's take on Jethro Tull songs mixed in with some new material of his own. The new material is presented in such a way as to blend in seamlessly and, even enhance, the feeling and textures of the previously released material. The melodies are beautiful, and while I would have liked some more aggressive guitar tones, it is hard to complain with this tasteful offering by one rocks most influential and perhaps, under-appreciated guitar masters. With the holidays coming up, this offering would make a wonderful gift for anyone on your shopping list who is either a fan of Jethro Tull or those with a passion for very tasteful guitar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2014
This is without doubt an excellent CD. I think it would have been improved by mixing in a few heavier pieces. The light and heavy contrasts were a hallmark of early Tull and for that reason I think Stage Left better. The reinterpretation of Tull classics are good, but it is more exciting to look forward to a collection of new compositions. Martin is a superb and I look forward to his next CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2014
Martin Barre demonstrates great sensitivity, craft and creativity in presenting these tunes. The result is musically expressive, yet still refined. Mr. Barre remains one of rock's most criminally underrated guitarists. His voice is always recognizable and unique. Buy this CD now.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Grand Union
£10.77

Need customer service? Click here