Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2017
My wife and I both loved this. Why on earth did they only make six episoded?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Excellent cast, ingenious story, tasteful surroundings, highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
This was an excellent series and we both thoroughly enjoyed watching it. It's a real shame it was only six episodes, and so far I haven't heard anything about a second series. The underlying thread of 'something's happened in the past' was very well done and made you really want to know what connected the various characters, and what they were hiding. The main character of Otto could have come across as arrogant and unsympathetic but Jack Davenport has portrayed his brilliantly, making us really feel for him and the situation he's in.

Aside from the acting, the costumes are gorgeous to look at - the designer has done a wonderful job - the dresses are beautiful and also play a part in underlining the gradual change that was taking place, showing some characters in the classic '50s' style dress and Jean, who holds a more modern outlook, embracing the newer styles of capris and wiggle dresses.

I now have the DVD and am looking forward to watching it again. Although I have to say, I ended up having to buy the DVD elsewhere as Amazon shot their price up just after release and it's been at £5 more than the RRP for weeks now. Sorry Amazon, but that's not really on.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
A curious ending to an intriguing story of nostalgic appeal. Are we in Mills and Boon territory? I think we are; and it may not be quite convincing, but it carries one along quite nicely.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
I can't wait to get hold of this on DVD. During its TV run it was compulsory viewing for me. The scripts are sharp the plot line is good and the pace doesn't flag. It isn't a thriller as such but there's enough going on to keep you guessing and wanting to know more. There are some really strong dramatic performances throughout the series and the costumes and the sets are delightful. It is a very superior drama up there with the best of the best. I would not be surprised if it didn't garner a few awards in various categories. Each of the major characters has a guilty secret or two and their interplay is both entertaining and revealing about attitudes to women and family life in the 60's. There is some real grit to this drama, it's far from slushy or sentimental. The leading man is flawed to say the least but all the major characters are vulnerable and needy in their own way and all the more interesting for it. This is destined to be TV gold and a modern classic.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
This was a 6-episode production that is still running on ITV (only one more episode to air at the time of writing on 8 Nov 2013).

Set in the gynaecological department of a hospital in the early 1960s, when fraternisation between doctors and nurses was the expected thing, everything from the direction to sets to fashion, hairstyles and even jargon and personalities are very much of that period. Jack Davenport is excellent and very inspiring in the role of the authoritative yet sensitive, slightly over self-assured gynaecological surgeon who is hiding a secret from his past that leaves him bound to remain in a marriage of convenience (or so it seems).

Other characters are equally potent, each playing out their own hidden agendas which are revealed to the viewer (and, within the plot, to each other) at an edge-of-the-seat pace, leaving one eager with anticipation for the next episode and reveal.

So clever are the production and direction that the piece has all the quality and solidity of (nostalgic) "Made In Britain" manufacturing. In fact, it would be surprising and wholly unfair if BAFTA did not acknowledge this production for some awards.

A timeless piece well worth adding to one's personal collection as this will definitely be revisited over and over again.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Cannot understand why another series was not considered. It was riveting and always could never wait for the next episode. Friends in Canada absolutely loved it. Want more! Wonderful series. Please. please make another one. Huge fan of this series. Jan
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
A few of the retired consultants rated this as a somewhat unbelievable melodrama. Breathless certainly has style and despite its unlikely story, is very watchable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Breathless was a brillant drama series thoroughly enjoyed watching all the characters especially Jack Davenport and Catherine Steadman. I hope there will be a second series next year to look forward too.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Loved the whole series, only one problem, should have been longer.
Six episodes were not enough !!!
More please soon.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)