Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
61
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2017
I Love Abba. Great Music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Arrived before the due date. Well worth the money. Great music from abba as usual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
First album with a very different sound from what they are known for - the boys sing a lot of the songs. Can see where their sound was developing on Nina Pretty Ballerina and I am just a girl. Features a track written by Agnetha with Disillusion which is superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
I have been an Abba fan since they started, Ive especially enjoyed their earlier stuff. Ring ring was a must as it is the first I beleive of the studio albums they created. There are some lovely songs on there and I highly recommend this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
I bought this to complete my ABBA collection. Another fantastic album from the best pop group there was. I love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2007
This album is often voted least favourite Abba album by the fans, which is a little unfair. True, it doesn't have the Abba "sound" familiar on later albums, and doesn't have any major UK hits on it, but this is of little relevance.

At the time, Abba weren't even yet called Abba. The album was credited to the rather long name of Bjorn, Benny, Agnetha & Frida. The remaster replaces this with the later Abba logo. Not released in the UK until the late 1980's (and even then not under the Ring Ring name or artwork), this album provides the opportunity to find out how Abba started.

Then a part-time group, many of the early songs were performed by Bjorn and Benny with Agnetha and Frida taking more of a back seat. The girls do have lead vocals on some songs, and on others there is a constant switch between male and female vocals (People Need Love, He Is Your Brother, Love Isn't Easy). There is a great line in Love Isn't Easy, where the boys say how well they treat the girls, and they respond with "Now listen to that, just look at that cat, you'd think he was an angel but he's talking through his hat!"

There are some awkward moments on this. Another Town, Another Train is basically a goodbye note from a man to his partner, unable to have the guts to say it in person but trying to justify it; I Am Just A Girl is very sexist - "It's an evil world, that has only made me a girl," and People Need Love is a bit heterosexualist (if there is such a word!), but on the whole this is an enjoyable album.

Bonus tracks are the b-sides Merry Go Round and Santa Rosa, tracks that were mythical to Abba fans in the UK in the 1970's and almost impossible to get hold of, but they are now part of their parent album. The Swedish version of the title track is also added.

Better to explore the later, classic Abba albums first (Arrival, The Album, Voulez-Vous), but if you have the others and still want to hear more, then this won't disappoint.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
the 7th album in a delux version is very nice to have. Extra dvd with intervieuws and tv performancesI am a fan from the beginning,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Great product but DVD very short which is a pity as there are plenty more clips from that time availible as you can find on you tube
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
The Abba first album may now be 42 years old containing old tracks like Ring Ring, He is Your Brother or Another Town, Another Train plus some lesser known songs. Its generally good but lacks the quality of the Waterloo album that was to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)