Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2013
THE FIRST ALBUM BY ANDREW GOLD IS MY FAVOURITE OF THE 1970S, BUT YOU ALSO GET THE NEXT THREE WITH ALL THE HITS PLUS ACOUSTIC EXTRA TACKS, ONE BEATLE NUMBER & LOTS OF OTHER GEMS. THE FIRST ALBUM IS WORTH THIS PRICE ALONE.
DON'T BOTHER WITH ANY OTHER ANDREW GOLD CDS, A MUST BUY.
ALL ORIGINAL & NOT ALTERED IN ANY WAY.
NEVER MIND 5 STARS, SHOULD BE 10.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
For the money this collection of Andtew Gold's solo albums is well worth having, just to get his first eponymous album which is superb, full of catchy tunes particularly That's Why I Love You, Heartaches in Heartaches, Endless Flight, and Love Hurts (not the Everly Brothers song). His following albums were overall not so good and the best songs namely Lonely Boy (album What's Wrong With This Picture), Never Let Her Slip Away and How Can This Be Love (All This And Heaven Too) are the highlights. I bought the original albums in vinyl and after repeated listening the quieter more introspective songs are more interesting. His last solo album that I bought, Whirlwind, has a rockier raunchier feel to it but the songs are not as strong as those of his first album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Super talented musician, offspring of film composer Ernest Gold and singing voiceover to the stars Marni Nixon.
Probably more famous within the musical community than with the public. The first three albums are all great Beatlesque West Coast soft rock. The final album from 1980 Whirlwind is a more stripped back affair and should appeal to anyone who likes their music with a tougher edge, but whos going to take you seriously when you become associated with a particular style of music? After listening to these albums you get the feeling he could have indulged himself in any musical genre and made a quality record and if you are a person with an eclectical musical pallate you will love this set.
The package from Edsel represents stunning value, not only do you get these four albums but a disc of rarities featuring alternate versions, live tracks and previously unreleased songs. The foldout digipack presentation and booklet add to the experience and the sound quality is great.
I can also recommend his obscure album The Fraternal Order Of The All, which does not get a mention in the booklet but is a great Pastiche of some very well known 60s groups.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 February 2016
CONTENT:

This 3CD set, released by Edsel Records, under Demon Music from UK, contain 60 songs. I have compiled a detailed song listing (with album & singles label & number, chart position, with personal comments)(BB=Billboard Hot 100; AC=Billboard Adult Contemporary Chart; CB=Cash Box; RW=Record World; UK=British Singles Chart):

DISC 1:
LP ANDREW GOLD (Asylum 1047)(Billboard Album Chart 190/1976):
01 That’s Why I Love You (Asylum 45286)(a-side)(BB 68/1976; CB 69/1976)
02 Heartaches In Heartaches (Asylum 45307)(uncharted a-side, March 1976)*Linda Ronstadt singing backing vocal.
03 Love Hurts
04 A Note From You (Asylum 45286)(b-side, 1976)
05 Resting In Your Arms
06 I’m A Gambler
07 Endless Flight (Asylum 45307)(b-side, 1976)*later used by Leo Sayer.
08 Hang My Picture Straight
09 Ten Years Behind Me
10 I’m Coming Home
LP WHA’S WRONG WITH THIS PICTURE (Asylum 116)(Billboard Album Chart 95/1977)*produced by Peter Asher:
11 Hope You Feel Good
12 Passing Thing (Asylum 45417)(b-side, 1977)
13 Do Wah Diddy (Asylum 45378)(uncharted a-side, January 1977)*cover version of big hit by Manfred Mann and the Exciters.
14 Learning The Game*cover version of hit by Buddy Holly.
15 Angel Woman (Asylum 45378)(b-side, 1977)
16 Must Be Crazy (Asylum 45384)(b-side, 1977)
17 Lonely Boy (Asylum 45384)(a-side)(BB 7/1977; AC 38/1977; CB 3(2)/1977; RW 6/1977; UK 11/1977)*Linda Ronstadt singing backing vocal.
18 Firefly (Asylum 45339)(b-side, 1976) and repeated again (Asylum 45439)(b-side, 1977)
19 Stay (Asylum 45339)(uncharted a-side, August 1976)*cover version of big hit by Maurice Williams & the Zodiacs
20 Go Back Home Again (Asylum 45439)(uncharted a-side, October 1977)
21 One Of Them Is Me (Asylum 45417)(uncharted a-side, July 1977)

LP ALL THIS AND HEAVEN TOO (Asylum 1047)(Billboard Album Chart 81/1978):
01 How Can This Be Love? (Asylum 45521)(a-side)(UK 19/1978)
02 Oh Urania (Take Me Away)
03 Still You Linger On (Asylum 45456)(b-side, 1978)
04 Never Let Her Slip Away (Asylum 45489)(a-side)(BB 67/1978; AC 16/1978; CB 70/1978; RW 61/1978; UK 5/1978)*an uncredited late Freddie Mercury from Queen on backing vocal.
05 Always For You (Asylum 45522)(b-side, 1978)
06 Thank You For Being A Friend (Asylum 45456)(a-side)(BB 25/1978; AC 15/1978; CB 11/1978; RW 21/1978; UK 42/1978)*later used as the signature tune, sung by Cindy Fee, to the TV soap “The Golden Girls”.
07 Looking For Love (Asylum 45521)(UK b-side, 1978)
08 Genevieve (Asylum 45489)(b-side, 1978)
09 I’m On My Way (Asylum 45522)(uncharted a-side, August 1978)
10 You’re Free
LP WHIRLWIND (Asylum 6E-264)(1979):
11 Kiss This One Goodbye (Asylum 46626)(uncharted a-side, April 1980)
12 Whirlwind
13 Sooner Or Later
14 Leave Her Alone
15 Little Company
16 Brand New Face (Asylum 12469) (b-side, 1980)
17 Nine To Five (Asylum 12469)(uncharted UK a-side, 1980)
18 Stranded On The Edge (Asylum 47024)(uncharted a-side, August 1980)*b-side the same song in stereo not available here.
19 Make Up Your Mind (Asylum 46626)(b-side, 1980)

DISC 3 (BONUS TRACKS):
From “Andrew Gold” period:
01 Within A Word
02 Sometime When A Man’s On His Own
03 Broken Pin Ball Machine
04 To Be Someone
05 Ten Years Behind Me
06 Hang My Picture Straight (live at Santa Monica Civic Auditorium, 1975)
From “What’s Wrong With This Picture” period:
07 Lonely Boy (original version)
08 Firefly (early unfinished version)
09 Gorilla Jam
10 Feel It
11 Hope You Feel Good (live at Universal Amphitheatre, Los Angeles, 1976)
From “All This And Heaven Too” period:
12 Gambler (version #1)
13 Thank You For Being A Friend (outtake)
14 Dr. Robert (live)
15 Genevieve (original version)
16 Still You Linger On (alternate version)
From “Whirlwind” period:
17 Gambler (version #2)
18 Endless Flight (live at the Gator Bowl, Jacksonville, 1978)
19 The “In” Crowd
20 Traffic Jam

POSITIVE POINTS:

1 This 3 CD set represents the most complete and comprehensive coverage of the solo charting career of Andrew Gold. All the singles during the Asylum era are included. His first 4 albums (3 charted) are included here. They are very expensive if bought separately.
2 The sound is very well remastered: clean with no hiss. I am not surprised because Rhino label was involved.
3 There is an excellent 28-page booklet, with an informative essay by Alan Robinson, together with three of the front album covers each occupying an entire page. Many 45 rpm singles labels and picture sleeves are also featured. Good job!
4 The package is sturdy and gate-fold with the booklet inside one of the sleeves.

NEGATIVE POINT:

1 There are 20 bonus tracks on CD3. I was hoping that other rare singles (as Villiers and Gold, the Bryndle, later with the band the Wax, with ex-10 cc band member Graham Gouldman) are included. The song “The Final Frontier (Theme From “Mad About You”)” should have been included too. (It is found in the CD The Best of Andrew Gold, Rhino, 20 tracks, 1997).

COMPLETE SINGLES DISCOGRAPHY:

Although Andrew Gold has only 4 charted entries on the Billboard Hot 100, I have done a Complete Singles Discography, including his entire output (as Villiers and Gold, the Bryndle and the Wax), and found that he actually has 30 singles (only 58 songs, because one was repeat release and the other being the stereo version of the same song). His labels are: (1) Polydor (1967, as Villiers and Gold), (2) A&M (1970, as the Bryndle), (3) Asylum (1976 – 1980, solo), (4) Mercury (1984, as Common Knowledge), (5) RCA (1985 – 1989, as the Wax), (6) Music Little People (1966, solo, releasing the single “Spooky Scary Skeleton”), (7) Dome (2000, solo, including singles “Nowhere Now” and “Sorry To Let You Down”, found in his album “Spencer Manor Suite”. If you want his later singles, the Essential Collection (2 CDs with 35 songs contain 6 songs from the Wax too) is recommended.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Andrew Gold was not so much a singer-writer as a Pop Craftsman of the Old School. His father was the famous Ernest Gold with his famous Oscar-winning score for the movie “Exodus” while his mother Marni Nixon was the singing voice behind Audrey Hepburn in “My Fair Lady”, Natalie Wood in “West Side Story” and Deborah Kerr in “The King and I”.

This entire set is totally enjoyable, containing all the hits. The sound is wonderful. The essay was very detailed and gave me lots of details and insights about his career. On June 3, 2011, the sad news broke that Gold had died in his sleep at the age of 59 in Los Angeles. This great talent will be sorely missed. The set is very highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Have played half of it already very good value for 4 lps and bonus tracks. Sorely missed like Gerry Rafferty. I found both those artists in 1978
and bought everything they made until their untimely deaths. Check out later albums like sings Beatles etc.
Got box set in a day. Excellent service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
I first got into Andrew Gold through seeing a live video of him singing "How Can This Be Love* on Top Of The Pops after which I came across a cassette of "All This And heaven Too" many years later selling for just £1! The tape was lost by me in a move but I never forgot the great songs on that album and bought another version on CD of it some years later but the sound was disappointing on account of the quiet sound... so you can imagine how delighted I was to see this Original Four LP set available in better re-mastered quality!
Since listening countless times now, I must say the first three albums are all equally as great but "Whirlwind" is not as good because it has a harder edged rock sound to it with the songs not being of such a high calibre: However this is of small concern when you consider how much great material you get for the money, along with another bonus disc of rare material: Great material which is worth the price alone!
For me, Andrew Gold comes into a similar category as his great musical friend and associate, Stephen Bishop - these guys are songwriters of a lost generation who always produce great music with meaningful lyrics...something that is sadly lacking in a lot of Artists around today!
Interestingly, on that earlier CD release, Andrew explained in an interview that "Genevieve" one of my favourite songs was actually written for Linda Ronstadt, a singer he knew at the time and was madly in love with but it was unrequited so he Titled it for an actress he was dating at the time -Genevieve Bujold! Another one of my personal favourites is "Always For You"!
If you don't have this collection, you must get it though it's hard to find on the shelves of HMV anywhere so you might be better off doing like me and get it here!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
This box set has Andrew Gold records remastered with extra tracks that has the best of the songs that Andrew got into the charts around the world , you have to get this box set as it is cheaper that getting the single songs solo . This is a great sound that can getting memory's back into you mind with a smile .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
An excellent collection of Andrew Gold songs. All of his solo albums plus a CD worth of extras that are actually worth listening to. Now if someone would like to put together a equally good Wax box set they can have my money now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
This is a great release at a great price. The four albums Andrew recorded for the Asylum label and loads of alternate and unreleased tracks. If you liked "Lonely Boy" or "Thank You For Being A Friend" this set is well worth purchasing. He wrote some great music and used some of the best backing musicians in the business. Not all the tracks are top rate but the good far, far outweighs the bad. Title a bit long winded though.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
This is an excellent package for a very reasonable price. Gold's three first albums are all excellent, only Whirlwind suffers from dated production and lack of good songs. The bonus tracks are pretty average, but interesting anyway. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)