Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2011
I came to this book not really knowing anything about it, other than the fact that it is comes highly recommenced and that it often appears of lists of '100 books to read before you die' and their ilk. So other than expecting it to be good, I approached it with a relatively open mind.

What I discovered was not so much a novel as a love letter; it is a love letter addressed to love itself. The story focusses on three individuals and charts their experiences of love over the course of a lifetime. Many varieties of love are explored: faithful, unfaithful, obsessive, innocent and (a warning for the more cautious reader) this involves some descriptions of sex and, towards the end of the book, an account of paedophilia. That said, it was never pornographic or particularly vulgar; it was carefuly done.

Marquez writes in a very vivid way, with visceral descriptions of his characters and settings. So even though there is very little 'action' in the book, there are passages of extreme floridity, where the reader is just immersed in his world, drawn in by the beautiful phraseology. I read this as an English translation although it was clearly translated by an American, which has resulted in the book being punctuated by spelling and grammatical errors and one or two sentences that simply make no sense whatsoever, but don't let that distract from overall quality of the book. Marquez's writing is just too good to be ruined by the translation.

I cannot really recommend it enough to you. It is not a particularly short book, but reading it never felt like a chore. It was a joy to go through from start to finish and it is a book I am sure I will read again in the future.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
I love this book, sad, funny and a time of great hardship but there are some bright moments where love can find a way. I have been reading this author for over 30 years and have enjoyed his books very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
This book has been on my " to read" list for many years. I am now 71 so thought that I had better get round to it.
I really enjoyed the whole book, thought the weaving together of the characters was clever and the un folding of the story lines riveting. I really got the sense of life in South America both socially ,politically and intellectually .Altogether a great holiday book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Garcia is an amazing writer and I loved this intense book. I read it shortly after reading 100 days of solitude which I found very long and confusing with so many Spanish names. However the unlikely love story in Love in the Time of Cholera gripped me and left images that I will not forget.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2016
Probably the best written novel I've read. Marquez observations are brilliantly conveyed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
A beautifully written story encapsulating the heady atmosphere of Colombia in a time of great change, both historically and environmentally, coupled with thought provoking narrative on the nature of love and growing old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2017
Gabriel Garcia Marquez is a great storyteller and I enjoyed this book very much. The 3 stars are because I didn't like this paperback edition. The font was small, closely spaced and tiring to read. I ended up ordering it on my Kindle and that was much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
A tale which goes backwards and forwards in time tracing the intensity of Florentino's love in the raucous, colourful life in the Caribbean in the 19th century. An interesting read of a masterly story teller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
I've read it and enjoy it immensely and my granddaughter wanted to read and she's found it what and amazing love history really is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
My favourite book Everyone will benefit from reading it moving and humane
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)